Brunton Eclipse Mirrored Compass

Closeouts. Orienteer like a pro thanks to the Brunton Eclipse mirrored compass and its simple eclipse circle-over-circle alignment system and fast setting needle. Other features include three inclinometer systems, map magnifier and field reference cards.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Huntsville jojo from Alabama on Wednesday, January 07, 2015
    I bought one of these a lifetime ago. I bought this one to give my teenage son. In the woods, cell-phone reception for the GPS is non-existent. So, a compass has its uses. This is a very high quality. I paid more than twice this price for one in the 1970's.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lousy Laura on the trail from Arizona on Friday, January 02, 2015
    I had one of these back in the day. Best compass I ever used. That one was damaged in a move and so I replaced it. Now please understand that Sierra Trading Post handled the order perfectly; I have no complaints against STP. The compass was junk. Here were the troubles:
    1. The rotating capsule was so tight to the baseplate that turning it was very difficult. I could, with some difficulty, set a course. Trying to rotate the capsule to take a bearing was impossible.
    2. The mirror assembly was floppy. The detent would not hold it in position to sight the capsule markings. Therefore sighting was not fully possible in that there was no way to line up the circles with compass at eye level.
    3. The company (Brunton) had an attached sticker telling of a free map download from National Geographic. That sticker was applied not to the clamshell packaging. The sticker was on the mirror! And they used an inappropriate sticker type with permanent adhesive. As I pulled it off two things happened:
    A. Much of the sticker stayed on the mirror.
    B. The mirror pulled off the compass!
    4. The mirror had been barely glued to the compass! The mirror was going to come off at some time, sticker or not.
    5. In general, the compass was poorly made. The plastics were thinner and / or cheesier than before. The compass felt cheap and lousy in my hands.
    Brunton used to make premium products. Eclipse was one of them. No more. I would strongly recommend against this product, and against Brunton in general. I did not return it. It is by now in its natural environment: a landfill.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ridgerunner from Knoxville, TN on Sunday, December 21, 2014
    Great compass. Comes with nice instruction booklet. High quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Boondock Bill from California on Thursday, December 18, 2014
    Looks sophisticated, yet my field tests with several evaluators using conventional compasses found this model to perform marginally in orienteering and triangulation tests. The compass has some useful features, but they don't merit the added expense in my view.
  • Reviewed by informer from washington on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    You don't have to remove it from the package to tell that it is broken. furthermore, the quality is poor and the compass on this unit looks like something you would get out of a 25 cent toy machine
  • Reviewed by stretchedpebble from Williamstown on Monday, August 12, 2013
    Good concept but poor execution. This could be a reasonable, light-weight compass for orienteering and other serious outdoor pursuits, but it is flimsy. It boasts three inclinometers, but not one of them is usable.The hinge cover is so loose that it flops instead of staying in one position. This makes the first inclinometer on the hinge useless. If you set the declination, you render the second inclinometer useless, plus it only goes to +/- 60 degrees. If you take off the rubber shoe you loose the third inclinometer, which in just written on a card.

    Silva Ranger or equivalent Suunto compass are both far superior to this Brunton.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AlwaysLost from Colorado on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    Good compass and STP's price was the best around.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bama from Charleston, S,C, on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    Great for outdoors and a training tool!
  • Reviewed by Hammond Beans from Riverside, CA on Friday, November 30, 2012
    I purchased the Eclipse because I wanted a good mirrored compass for cross-country hiking. Unfortunately, I found that the Eclipse doesn't quite measure up to Brunton's reputation for exacting quality. The needle on the compass I received has a tendency to hang up, and the detents that hold the mirror at pre-set angles are downright flimsy, calling into question the accuracy of the reading. The rubber shoe that serves as a protective case might also have been designed to hold the compass' reference cards in place rather than allowing them to spill out in the field, and I personally would have preferred the lanyard attached to the compass itself, rather than to the shoe. Minor quibbles for the most part, but I expected better execution in a compass at this price point, particularly a compass from Brunton. Prospective buyers should also be warned that although an offer for 5 free maps from National Geographic is advertised as coming with the compass, the offer contained with my order expired in 2011, and the codes are no longer valid (I checked).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BW from South Bend, In on Saturday, November 03, 2012
    Brunton makes a good compass
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Durable
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.