Brunton Flex Portable Canister Stove

Closeouts. The Flex portable canister stove from Brunton is ideal for backcountry cooking with a collapsible burner head for easy storage and four curved pot-supports for a large cooking surface.

  • Boils 1L of water in about three minutes
  • 12,000 BTU output
  • Weighs less than 4 oz.
  • Oversized burner head for even heat distribution
  • Collapsible burner head for optimal storage beneath butane canister
  • Precision simmering control
  • Four curved pot-supports
  • No priming necessary
  • Stuff bag included
  • Fuel canister not included
  • Dimensions (HxWxD): 3x3-½x3-½"
  • Closed burner: 1-¼x3x2"
  • Weight: 3.4 oz.
  • Capacity: Attaches to 4 oz., 8 oz., or 16 oz. butane fuel canister
  • Material: Stainless steel and aluminum
  • Made in China

Average Rating based on 15 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GearFetish1 from Fountain Valley, CA on Monday, February 6, 2012
    You are in for such a treat when you buy this little gem. Firstly, I have been coveting this stove for nearing a year but other items took precedence over this purchase. Then along came one of those STP-just-can't-pass-it-up bargains. I was in and couldn't wait to get this one lit.
    Out of the box it's simple. All you do is unfold it and attach it to your canister fuel. I had a Jetboil brand canister nearby so I can only speak for that brand but it went on with no problems. I say this because there have been other reviewers who had a difficulty finding a can onto which the stove would seat without gas leaking past the o-ring. Now problems here.
    Another thing that people seemed to have difficulty with was the stability of the mechanism that allows the stove to fold to a space-saving right angle. Some reviewers found that they had to tighten the screws that hold it together. Also no problems here. There is one thing worth noting but it is not a deal-breaker, only a comment. The key that passes through the flame control valve screw just fell out. I thought that was a silly thing to happen, literally, right out of the box. However, I left it off for my test and used my thumb and index to control the flame. I found this method preferable. You'll need to find your own way to deal with this.
    Otherwise, I'm looking forward to the weight savings.
    Thanks STP for another great one!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, High Altitude
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Compact, Easy to Light, Lightweight, Powerful
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Golden from Bakersfield, CA on Saturday, September 10, 2011
    First shipped did not work: propane was not coming out of the burner. [...]Exchanged right away, new unit works perfect.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Compact, Easy to Light, Lightweight, Powerful
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hols from LA on Wednesday, September 7, 2011
    i am not use it yet. but it's compact and lightweight
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Compact
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by BG from Montclair, NJ on Sunday, August 7, 2011
    Screwed this on to a half-full Primus canister, and nothing--no gas sound when I opened the lever, and of course, no lighting. I immediately switched it out for my old MSR Wind Pro, which ignited as usual. I tried tightening, and then loosening the Flex, but couldn't get any gas. I notice that the pin that inserts into the canister hole is slightly larger than the pin on my Wind Pro. And the area inside the O-ring is slightly smaller. But it certainly should work on the Primus canister--which I think is made, or at least marketed, by the same company as the stove. Am returning it for an MSR pocket rocket, which is significantly cheaper.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Compact, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stu from Indiana on Monday, July 25, 2011
    This is a very good stove but I have lots of trouble finding the fuel locally. Nobody will ship that stuff. [...]
    • Cons: Fuel is hard to find, Unstable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Compact, Easy to Light, Great temperature control, Lightweight, Powerful
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mmg from columbus, oh on Thursday, July 7, 2011
    por
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Compact, Great temperature control, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by north country dave from Marquette Michigan on Monday, May 30, 2011
    burns hot
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Compact, Easy to Light, Lightweight, Powerful
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JB from Gillette, WY on Thursday, May 12, 2011
    My husband and I like to go backpacking. We bought two, one for me and one to replace his old one. We won't have to wait to boil our water for our pack food anymore. This product is lightweight and easy to store. We can't wait to go out this summer with them! And they were on super sale! Can't beat that!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, High Altitude, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Compact, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by slogger from Superior National Forest, Minnesota on Monday, April 25, 2011
    i must admit i haven't used it on the trail yet. but this thing seems sold and is wonderfully compact.
    • Pros: Compact, Lightweight, Stable
  • Reviewed by Will from Utah on Friday, March 18, 2011
    I have used this stove for a couple of years (~8 backpacking trips) and I really like it. I have used fairly large pots on it; and although it at times felt a little wobbly I have never had a spill. A previous review mentioned set screws which tighten the assembly. I will try this out. The stove puts out plenty of heat and seems to boil water faster than some of the stoves my friends use. I have cooked pancakes, eggs, fish, stew, soup, and of course boiled water with great success. I love that it fits under the fuel canister. Super light and compact. I wish it had a built-in igniter, but lighting it is fairly easy. It's not cheap, so buy it on sale.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Compact, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Powerful
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #