Brunton Restore Solar Charger - Portable

Closeouts. Efficient and compact, Brunton's Restore portable solar charger has an internal lithium battery and two solar panels for charging electronics wherever your travels may take you.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Reviewed by Desert Dan from West Texas desert on Tuesday, April 9, 2013
    Charged great with vehicle adapter. Only 3/4 charged after 4 hours in direct sun...maybe better in summer! Recharged IPhone and camera with no problems. Give Brunton a 5 for working as advertised. Couple of issues I do have: 1) Instructions do not tell you to turn on charger, 2) instructions do not tell you to press and hold on/off button to turn off. If you can design and build this device, you should be able to articulate instructions to the lowest common denominator you expect to purchase and use this device. Give you a 3 for instructions. Overall you rate a 4+.
  • Reviewed by Opera Fan from Columbus, Ohio on Thursday, March 7, 2013
    I got this to charge my iPhone4 so I can use its camera while car camping. So far I have not tested the solar panels; however, I did charge the device at home and then charge my iPhone. IMPORTANT (and not in the user manual!): When using the Apple cable to charge an iPhone, unplug BOTH ends of the Brunton cable, i.e., disconnect it entirely. Otherwise, per Brunton's website, the charger is "confused" and aborts the operation. PS: You also have to press the power button. I'm only giving it 4 stars because of the manual's shortcomings. I was quite aware that this won't charge an iPad, but I don't take that into the field.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Evan, Builder of Buildings from Broken Arrow, OK on Monday, February 18, 2013
    I picked up my Restore for use on business trips so I wouldn't have to look for a phone charging station and for use on camping and hunting trips. I've found it works exactly as advertised. I would recommend this to anyone with a phone who travels.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoors woman from New York on Monday, February 11, 2013
    I haven't used this yet, but we tend to lose power often, so I thought this would come in useful. I hope that I don't have to use this often.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HBgal from Huntington Beach, CA on Thursday, February 7, 2013
    I bought this for my husband and it has really come in handy for recharging his iPhone when he's away from his car, home or office. Great to have as back-up and provides that peace of mind your phone won't go dead without a power source nearby. It's well designed and easy to use. The only complaint is that it does take quite awhile to charge via our computer's USB cable, and sometimes we only get 75 -80% charge that way, though it charges fully with the car charger. All in all, a handy item to have for many uses, and the price isn't bad.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karl from Roseland, Virginia on Monday, December 3, 2012
    I use the charger whenever I travel as a power backup for my iPhone. I also take it along on hiking trips for emergency power
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scoutmaster from Kansas on Sunday, November 25, 2012
    I use this product to charge my electronics when I am in remote locations. It is a little heavy and could uses a bit more storage capacity; however, that would add weight. Over all this is a great unit that gives me flexibility for power sources in remote areas.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Breeze from Poplar bluff mo on Wednesday, November 21, 2012
    Great product for charging gadgets
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chucks from Indy on Friday, October 26, 2012
    This product is my first solar powered device.
    • Best Uses: Battery Charger
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Excellent Device Charger, Well made Sturdy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by b-ridge from Cheyenne, WY on Monday, September 10, 2012
    Unlike the one-solar unit, the Freedom, this will charge on your car dash, but it takes a long time to add much to the battery. When unfolded to charge via solar, it gets a little wobbly. It puts out 1.0A, so it won't work on the iPad or similar. Worked great keeping my Android phone topped off on a hiking trip, though, but I would probably get the no-battery version if I plan on access to a car's power outlet.
    • Pros: Easy to setup, Easy to use
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.