Customer Reviews Of:
CamelBak Alpine Explorer Hydration Pack - 100 fl.oz.

Closeouts. Adventure awaits around each bend in the trail and CamelBak's Alpine Explorer hydration pack is ready for steep ascents and breath-taking descents. 100 fl.oz. Antidote reservoir has a Big Bite Valve and the Quick Link® connection system.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews 4.916666 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Hiking Pawnbroker from Missouri on Sunday, October 26, 2014
    This is a product without too much to really talk about. It is a nice pack that comes with a Camelbak bladder, a good zipper systems, nice side pockets and pretty standard day pack layout. The one and only sniggle for me is I wish it had a hook to hang my water bladder rather than the handle hanger. No big deal, 6" of paracord made a fine hanger.

    The belt and harness were great and it does everything it was made to do well. At STP dealflyer money you can't beat it.
  • Reviewed by The Hiking Pawnbroker from Missouri on Monday, October 13, 2014
    As long as you understand this bag, it is perfect. Camelbak says it is for:

    Extra Layers
    Food
    Head Lamp
    Maps
    Trekking Poles
    Ice Axe
    Media
    Sunglasses

    It will hold more than that, but it is not a weekend hiking backpack. If you buy this as a hydration pack that will carry the day hike hear comfortably you will love it. In an emergency it would pull an overnighter without much trouble if you are a lightweight hiker and use a tarp and groundsheet. It is not built to haul a tent, sleeping bag, stove and all the gear for a weekend.

    But as a day hike all rounder, it excels. It is well built, well designed and great looking. Loaded at 10lbs after about 10 miles it starts to show it's lack of a frame and it's lighter straps and belt. But it was never promised as anything else. I think this was a homerun product and I am surprised Camelbak ditched it. At the STP price with a coupon this thing may get you arrested for stealing. If they have them on the gear flyer deal, grab one. I promise you will not be disappointed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Max Oak from Pennsylvania on Saturday, September 27, 2014
    I abused an Alpine Explorer for 6 years. When it came time to get a new bag, I knew just what I wanted! This pack is ideal for me. It is large enough, and sturdy enough, that I have used it for overnight hiking trips. When compressed using the side straps, it has a slim profile.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by swordinthestone from Tennessee on Sunday, August 10, 2014
    I love this pack, from the storage to the included bladder. It is very comfortable to wear, and is very adjustable, also, you can get it at a great price thanks to Sierra Trading Post.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ratkins from Tennessee on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
    My son loves this bag! He uses it in band camp!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by zjy from portland on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    the great package
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Mike from Utah on Thursday, June 19, 2014
    I've got an older version of this pack and have had it for many years w/o problems. Just bought this one for my father-in-law and he really likes is for day hikes. He's a big guy, so some of the smaller packs didn't fit him well. This one fits his torso well and is pretty long for a one-size-fits-all pack. Also, the chest strap adjusts down far enough to actually go across his chest, as opposed to strangling him at the neck.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by IndyHiker from Indiana on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    We needed a new CamelBak to replace an old Mule that had to be thrown away. The primary use will be for day-hiking, with my husband & I alternating carrying the bag. This bag is a GREAT deal, when you consider that the 100oz water bladder system in it typically costs $35.00. The bag is lightweight for the amount of space it has, has ample storage/stash room, and is very comfortable for a larger framed woman & medium-large framed man to carry for multiple hours. Without the water bladder filled & added weight, the straps are rough & rub our necks a bit....that might be my only complaint. This resolves once the bag is loaded.

    To give you an idea of what we can fit in our bag (with lots of room to spare)...for day hikes we typically have: 100oz water, 2 extra 20oz bottles water or tea, an outdoor blanket, an ENO doublenest hammock/straps, sunscreen, bug spray, small'ish camera, 2 cell phones, car keys, first aid kit, snacks/lunch & sometimes books. There's still lots of room to spare, and we add in our shed-layers to the main compartment or to the latchdowns on the front.

    I HIGHLY recommend this bag as a day-hiking pack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Liz from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    This is my second one of these hydration backpacks. My husband bought me one and my daughter really liked it. I was quite pleased with it, too. I decided to order one for her. We go hiking every weekend and this pack is wonderful for carrying everything you need. I love the fact that you can just put the water tube into your mouth and sip the water. You don't have to have someone hand you your water bottle or take the pack off to get it. I do carry extra water bottles in the side pouches for my grandkids. There are 3 sections (including the hydration pack) to carry your bug spray, picnic lunch, lifestraw, and many more things. It also has a pouch for sunglasses that is lined with soft material so they don't scratch. The pack rides nicely on your hips, saving your shoulders from the weight of the pack. It can carry your trekking poles, also. The front section can carry your sweatshirt if you get too warm or a biking helmet. With the compression straps it adjusts for different items. I love this pack!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ruatger from Fort Worht, Tx on Sunday, June 1, 2014
    It looks great, plenty of pockets. I won't know for sure until I take to Utah and put it through it's paces. As far as I can tell It looks like it will do what I need it to. Shoes, dry socks, dry towels and snacks. And of course 100oz of liquid.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2