Canari Convertible Cycling Jacket - Windproof Razor Eclipse (For Men)

Closeouts. Canari's Razor Eclipse cycling jacket was made to slice through fierce headwinds. Polyester ripstop nylon is lightweight and packable as well as windproof and water-resistant for riding, in peak or off season. If the temperature rises, simply zip off the sleeves to convert the jacket into a vest.

Average Rating based on 183 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-30 of 183 reviews
  • Reviewed by Outdoor Dad from Northern Virginia on Monday, February 03, 2014
    Good windbreaker. Lightweight. Fit is perfect (I wear a large). Pit zippers help vent body heat. Felt comfortable on a sub-50 degree ride. I'm not a long-distance cyclist (hour or so at a time) so I can't just how it would work on a day-long haul, but perfect for my purposes.
  • Reviewed by BillW from MA on Monday, December 30, 2013
    A very nice lightweight jacket where the sleeves zip on and off. Good as a wind breaker and the color makes you very noticeable to traffic which is very important. The fit was just right so be sure to use the size chart on the website.
  • Reviewed by Steve A. from Portland, OR on Sunday, December 08, 2013
    I have used this jacket twice in cool weather and it is an excellent outer layer. Only reason it is not 5* is it's lack of breathability.
  • Reviewed by K9chiro from Cave Creek AZ on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    Great functionality and color.
  • Reviewed by nick from ny on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    jacket :)
  • Reviewed by Dr. el jefe from Indiana on Thursday, November 21, 2013
    I ended up ordering the next size down, because this was huge. I'm not "race cut" by any stretch of the imagination, and often in jackets I wear an XL, but I could have fit multiple jackets under the XL. Unfortunately, the sleeves on the L are a little short, and movement feels a bit restricted, but even the L isn't really a "trim" fit. I like that the sleeves zip off. Because breathability is somewhat limited, you will be using this more as a vest.
  • Reviewed by Mike Likes to Bike from Arizona on Sunday, November 17, 2013
    I finally replaced my old cycling jacket with the Canari Convertible! My wife said that it was about time, which was definitely true. The Canari proved to be exactly what the description said. For me biking in the cool to cold early mornings is what I enjoy. The Canari is windproof, lightweight, and has the zip pockets which were the major factors in my choice. I have not had the occasion to remove the sleeves to convert it to a vest. Be that as it may, I recommend the Canari for its characteristic, value, and adaptability to the conditions.
  • Reviewed by Sr NC Rider from North Carolina on Saturday, November 16, 2013
    After trying a few different lightweight jackets I've finally found the ideal shell. The others have been baggy and the venting was inadequate or nonexistent.

    I ordered this one in my normal size (M) and the fit is just right. It's not baggy or flappy and the venting works. I wasn't wet after my ride.

    Get it while on sale and it's a very good bargain.
  • Reviewed by drh from Southeast on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    Great jacket. It has all the options you will need in this type of jacket. It looks great and the "killer yellow" is a
    high vis. color. The jacket is very well made and keeps the wind out. Love it.
  • Reviewed by southcityguy from St. Louis, MO on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
    Nice jacket for the price. Keeps wind out and reasonably keeps rain off unless a downpour. It is kinda noisy on a windy day and will really balloon up if used as a vest only. Don't buy a size up if you are normal/thin build. I'm 6'1, 190 and the Large works just fine. Also realized that wearing a messenger bag blocks the entire back vent...so here's a tip. I realized that if I opened the sleeve zippers about 4 inches, I have instant pit zips! Doing that and keeping front zipper only half way allows for good ventilation.
  • Reviewed by Annette from New Jersey on Monday, November 04, 2013
    My husband loved these jackets so much that he was in morning when it was lost and got the exact same jacket a month later!
  • Reviewed by Jeff from Grosse Ile, Michigan on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    Bought this for fall riding here in Michigan, and the vest conversion comes in handy as the temp increases. It also saves the expense of buying a separate vest.. I'm 5'11",175 lbs with a 35" sleeve and the large fits perfectly with room for a winter jersey or fleece underneath. Have a few other Canari items and have yet to be disappointed. This jacket is well made and has nice features. Fabric is light, but blocks the wind nicely. The Killer Yellow color is very hi-viz and looks good, too.
  • Reviewed by Commuter biker from Wisconsin on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    Nice lightweight very bright orange jacket. Zipper is a two-way. Nice option to take off the sleeves, and provides great visability with the reflective piping. Definitely a jacket that I will use over polar fleece in the colder months. Size fit is accurate.
  • Reviewed by Chris from Colorado on Friday, June 14, 2013
    Comfortable fit and very visible! Perfect for its purpose...
  • Reviewed by Starke Raving from Fishersville VA on Saturday, May 25, 2013
    Was very cool in Virginia this morning so I gave the new Jacket a try! It does everything they advertise and I was completely comfortable while the temperature was cool and was able to take it off and place it in one pocket in my shirt; when things warmed up.
  • Reviewed by Bobby G from New Jersey on Friday, May 17, 2013
    I'm 6'3" with a slender build (long arms!) and the XL fits perfectly! The orange is super-bright, and the reflective piping really lets you be seen at night when the headlights hit you. The clever venting prevents the windbreaker from "ballooning" when you pick up speed. It's comfortable, well-tailored, and I couldn't be happier with it, especially on the crowded central NJ roads. The pockets are plentiful and roomy, and the attention to detail is outstanding.
  • Reviewed by joe schmoe from Seattle on Friday, March 29, 2013
    For what you'll pay at STP, it's fine. No way would I pay retail for it though. It's good if you want it to be expendable (i.e. - commuting or mountain riding because of the muck and dirt, etc.). Probably not the best choice if you're a roadie or club rider type though. Think of it as buying a cheap tent vs. spending more for that really nice tent where every detail is well thought out.

    PROS: Visibility, converts to a vest, blocks the wind, pockets, the collar is nice.
    CONS: Fit (too baggy in the torso, too short in the sleeves), zippers are heavy & clunky, material is heavier/thicker than you might expect which blocks wind nicely but can also trap humidity inside the jacket.
  • Reviewed by dtomlinson from South Dakota on Friday, March 22, 2013
    This is my second Canari Eclipse jacket. I was involved in a head on collision with a car while riding my bike and wearing this jacket. I survived the crash with only cuts and bruises, plus road rash and a bum shoulder. I helmet cracked and my Canari jacket had a few tears in the back, but saved my back from further damage. That's not reason for replacing it. I love the jacket for its versatility of being either a jacket or vest. I am trying the orange model, maybe better visability than the yellow.
  • Reviewed by Denverite from Denver on Monday, March 18, 2013
    My husband wanted something to block the wind and be bright as he commutes to work. He was very impressed at the wind block on this...and it sure is bright!
  • Reviewed by Seattle Bike Commuter from Seattle WA on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    I'm 6'3 185 so this jacket (in an XL) was pretty baggy and the arms were short....but for the price I can almost overlook that.
  • Reviewed by girl that rides bikes from AL on Wednesday, March 06, 2013
    The orange is VERY visible. I love the cinch cord at the bottom hem, rather than elastic. It allows the jacket to lay flat rather than ride up. The zippers are easy to use.
  • Reviewed by Skip from Colorado on Saturday, March 02, 2013
    Great jacket for riding my bike. Easily seen!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gorge dude from Ohio on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    This jacket would be ok if not for the zippers.|I would not take a chance with this jacket for that reason.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old Casual from Seattle, WA on Thursday, February 21, 2013
    Recreational cyclist; needed rain/wind breaker. So far, so great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jeepjeep from Indianapolis IN on Saturday, February 09, 2013
    Was told by my trainer to look for a bright vest, windproof, for layering. This jacket has removable sleeves, a bonus. Love the color and the pockets.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mattchu21 from Madison, WI on Tuesday, February 05, 2013
    Looks great and should last a long while...very visible, which is important to me. Great jacket at and excellent price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pedaling Professor from Evansville, IN on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    I use this shell for my commute. It's small to pack and the bright orange helps me be seen on my ride home after sundown. It runs a bit bigger than my Pearl Izumi, but that leaves enough room for a fleece on cold evenings.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Streamsaver from St. Albans, WV on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    As descibed. OK but nothing special.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by batmick from Carlsbad, CA on Monday, January 28, 2013
    This is a very good wind shell/top layer for cycling and other uses.
    I am a year-round bike commuter and this jacket is perfect in the early morning to keep out the cold. As temps increase, I have the option of removing the sleeves or simply opening the zipper all the way. Even if I have to take it off, it is light and packs small so that stuffing it into my pack is no problem. I find that it even resists light rain or drizzle quite well.
    The neon orange model is extremely bright and I have been told that I can be seen from a mile away.
    I am 6'4" with long arms and the XXL model fits perfectly, even when I am riding in the aerobars.
    One thing that takes some getting used to is the noise. The fit, especially around the arms, is loose so at higher speeds the fabric starts flapping around. On steep descents I often sound like a helicopter.
    Don't commute without one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Smoesjlak from SoCal on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    Keeps the wind out and has enough room for a layer of fleece below (not for those looking for a tight fit). Don't know how well it fares in a bit of rain yet.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-30 of 183 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.