Customer Reviews Of:
Castelli Nero Classic Cycling Shorts (For Men)

Closeouts. With moisture-wicking Affinity Lycra® fabric and a triple-laminated Kiss3 chamois, Castelli's Nero Classic cycling shorts are suitable for a Roman emperor.

Average Rating based on 33 reviews 3.787878 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wildlife from Wyoming on Sunday, November 11, 2012
    sizing is ridiculously small (XL fits like a med, XXL fits like a large) or worse
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe Soldier from SC on Friday, October 26, 2012
    Use for road trips of 30-40 miles. Comfortable with good padding. Watch size. I am 155# with 33 inch waist and XL fit fine although a little high waisted.
    • Best Uses: Long Rides
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GRD from Cumberland, RI on Monday, October 22, 2012
    Shorts are well made and look good. Fits like a glove and padding is superb. Castelli makes great shorts and jerseys.
    • Best Uses: Long Rides, Road Biking, Warm Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Good Padding
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rex Redux from Rochester, New York on Sunday, August 12, 2012
    Logo decals coming off after one use.
    • Best Uses: Spinning
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Dries Quickly, Good Fit, Good Padding
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Rick from Seattle, WA on Saturday, July 28, 2012
    I first ordered a large, which was a bit too tight for my thighs. I am about 6'1 195 lbs. I exchanged it for an extra large and it fits very well in the legs. Doesn't ride up. Good amount of padding.
    • Best Uses: Commuting, Long Rides, Road Biking, Warm Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Dries Quickly, Durable, Good Fit, Good Padding
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DR from Tri Cities, WA on Monday, June 18, 2012
    I like firmer padding in cycling shorts, more like the high quality chamois from days gone by--Castelli's have it. These shorts are excellent. However, sizing is very different. I'm 6' 3" and have a 34"-35" waist. Based on a recommendation I purchased XXL--they fit just right in the waist, thighs and length, and they don't ride up on my thighs.
    • Best Uses: Commuting, Long Rides, Mountain Biking, Road Biking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor Ollie from Hollidaysburg, Pa. on Friday, May 25, 2012
    I typically wear a large in Pearl Izumi and ordered an XL in this short. I am a 35 waist, 170lb. The shorts fit me fine. They are,as another reviewer indicated, a tad short on the leg length, but I prefer this length. Overall, satisfied with the shorts, chamois is thin but seems to be of good quality and is comfortable. For 40 clams, a good bargain.
    • Best Uses: Road Biking, Warm Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Dries Quickly
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cali from Troy, Michigan on Thursday, May 17, 2012
    I do long distance rides. This shorts feel great. The padding is nice and feels good on the saddle.
    • Best Uses: Long Rides, Road Biking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Confort, Good Fit, Good Padding
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uncle Dave from Dayton OH on Monday, May 14, 2012
    I was looking for a short with good "support"; previous reviews mentioned that these were tight, so I went ahead and ordered. Upon receipt of them, they looked REALLY small. Way cool scorpion logo, though! As I tried them on, I was shocked at how tight they were. Totally unsatisfactory. Second pair fit the same. Disappointed, I crammed them in the box to return, then never got around to it. However, I tried again a few days later and they seemed almost tolerable, but back in the box. After another week, a third try convinced me they may work so on the road I took them. They were more than snug, sort of like a compression short, and certainly supportive. Very tolerable. Padding was adequate, but not great...some chaffing after 3 hours. Laundered and tried again, same fit, which by now feels fine...very snug and supportive, which I was seeking in the first place.

    Bottom line on me, 6'4" 185 lbs, 20.5" thigh at the leg hem (cuff?), I'm considered skinny, these shorts are snug and supportive. Anymore thigh mass and I'd imagine they'd be too tight. I actually like the firm fit. 8.5" inseam when worn.

    Pad's not the greatest, hence my "not recommend". These are okay but I'll not reorder this style for this reason. I still prefer the Craft shorts from STP last year.

    Did I mention the way cool scorpion logo...fore and aft? Awesome.
    • Best Uses: Road Biking
    • Cons: Chafes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Comfortable, Coolest logo, Dries Quickly, Snug support
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim D from Denver CO on Thursday, May 10, 2012
    Overall good product, happy with shorts.
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4