Columbia Sportswear American Angler Jacket - Waterproof, High Performance Fishing Gear (For Men)

Closeouts. A waterproof fishing jacket should afford the highest level of protection against rain and spray, and Columbia Sportswear's American Angler jacket is fishing-guide favorite: seam sealed, waterproof breathable, lightweight and extremely breathable even when the fishing action is hot.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
  • Reviewed by Danang Doc from Upstate NY on Wednesday, March 5, 2014
    The detailing is well done; what you would expect from Columbia. Thin, light, subtle and easily packable into a small space. Good supper garment. I'm not too impressed with the closure of the slash, vertical lower pockets - just a snap without a flap or overlap - but we'll see how they do. Upper pockets are deep, wide and useful and have a flap held with a snap closure. The storm flap over the front zipper - which is guttered - is closed with snaps, which I much prefer to velcro, which is always closing when not wanted or needed. I was concerned that the black, abrasion resistant lower sleeves and lower back would be stiff but that is not the case. Certainly appears to be worth the money I paid, but when you're out there and it's pouring, money becomes less relevant.

    I have not used this jacket yet and I may revisit this review after I do.

  • Reviewed by mingyver from Shanghai on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    I'm not a skinny guy and it's a loose fit on me. Says its waterproof, but it seems like it might be a bit porous. We'll see how it holds up in the rain.
  • Reviewed by idesignmore from Wisconsin on Monday, May 6, 2013
    Good quality, functional jacket, but runs very small.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Horse rider from Silver Spring, MD on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    I don't fish, I ride horses. I had a Columbia Omni-Tech rain jacket I bought 15 years ago that I really liked, but it wore out. I was sorry to learn they don't make that particular jacket any more. Of all that they currently offer, the Angler seemed the closest to what I had.

    The fit is great for outdoor activities. True to size, but loose fitting so I can move around easily, and in the winter I can wear a fleece jacket underneath.

    The one thing that I dislike about the jacket is the texture. The sleeves and back (the black parts) have a nice feel like canvas, but the rest of the jacket feels like plastic. I'm sensitive to texture, and prefer the canvas feel. But the texture does not affect the waterproof effectiveness, so it's a personal preference only.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Curtis the Greenskeeper from Toledo Ohio on Monday, January 14, 2013
    Haven't found a fault with the coat as of yet. It keeps me warm, dry, and agile in my landscaping duties at a local university.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bluefishisherwoman from Martha's Vineyard on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
    Needed a waterproof jacket to go over waders for shore saltwAter fishing Opted for men's since I couldn't find a good option for a woman. Jacket is a bit large for a size 6 woman but will accommodate waders and a sweatshirt underneath in bad weather.
    • Best Uses: Saltwater Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Durable
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Raillady from Fitzgerald, Georgia on Friday, September 21, 2012
    Used primarily for work, but is great to have on the side during a rainshower that is unexpected.
    • Best Uses: Outdoors
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Lots of Storage, Waterproof Pockets
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by crashq from Sacramento, CA on Sunday, August 26, 2012
    I am replacing a set of Columbia fishing bibs that were given to me years ago. I was pleased to see that Sierra had the matching jacket, too. I have yet to try it out on the ocean, but it is very similar to and looks every bit as sturdy as the Columbia shell that I currently use, though it is slighlty lighter in weight. The forearms and butt area are made of a slightly heavier and sturdier fabric to resist wear. Its size is slightly larger (to accomodate the bibs and layering) but not drastically so.

    The only drawback that I see is that the hand pockets are closed only by a snap (rather than a zipper) and the pockets' interior does not appear waterproof.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, Freshwater Fishing, Saltwater Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rocky from Chaska on Monday, August 20, 2012
    Great rain parka. Runs a little large...a large would be a better fit for me...I'm 6'0" and 210#, but the extra room is okay.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Fly Fishing, Freshwater Fishing
    • Cons: Can't tie down the hood
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Roomy
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shellito from St Paul, MN on Tuesday, August 14, 2012
    ordered this for my husband's fishing trip with my dad. not an avid fisherman, but wanted something he could always have to go out on dad's boat. Fit and worked perfectly for those warm evenings until the sun went down - cut the wind from being too cool but didnt overheat him with the warm summer evening. didn't even notice when water spray from the boat kicked up.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Freshwater Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Waterproof Pockets
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.