Columbia Sportswear Ascender Jacket - Soft Shell (For Men)

Closeouts. A solid outer layer for the serious ascender, this Columbia Sportswear soft shell jacket sheds moisture and offers superb range of motion.

  • Ideal outer layer for hiking and climbing
  • Soft shell sheds moisture and keeps adventurers mobile
  • Comfortable fleece backing
  • Zip hand pockets
  • Full-zip front
  • Right zipper pull
  • Length: 28"
  • Weight: 1 lb. 6 oz.
  • Fabric: Polyester
  • Care: Machine wash/dry
  • Made in Nicaragua.

Average Rating based on 37 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 37 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Meleechick the urban farmer from Durham, NC on Monday, October 31, 2011
    The fit was great (13-year-old boy, 5'8", lean with pretty long arms) and the jacket was perfect for its intended use - a jacket to be worn while riding horses. This jacket is really nice and what you'd expect from a Columbia product.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jimjim from oregon on Tuesday, October 25, 2011
    Nice lightweight jacket, fitted. I layer something else on top of it when more warmth is needed.
    Color described as black but it does have a gray color and inside color.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Lightweight, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by thesuperstitions from Columbia, MD on Wednesday, October 19, 2011
    I needed a new light-weight jacket for fall in Maryland. This jacket seemed to fit the bill as it's made by Columbia Sportswear (always had good experience with their clothing) and is water repellant. I had a $25.00 gift card from using my Sierra Trading Post Visa so I bought the jacket and only paid [$] after all the discounts and gift card were deducted. The sale I bought it under included free shipping!I've now worn it a few times and like the fit. It's not for very cold weather, but good down to about 45-50 degrees. Can be used as a nice layer under a heavier coat for cold weather. The cuffs on the sleeves are not knitted. The jacket is water repellant as it's made from Omni-Shield. Nice zipper pockets for your hands and inner map pockets (one on each side).
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking and Camping, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm, Water Resistant, Zip Pockets
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by greg the golfer from Los Angeles, CA on Monday, July 04, 2011
    I use it as an inner liner for my outer shell columbia shell. It's pretty lightweight and warm so it can be worn by itself in cold weather. Although it wouldn't be good for extreme cold conditions.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MonteZooma from Portland Or. on Wednesday, May 25, 2011
    I use the jacket for bike riding in Portland Or. where it just might rain almost any day. It works well in mist or light rain. It's also quite wind resistant which I also wanted for warmer days. I can also use it for a trek to 7/11 or plaid. all in all I actually like the jacket quite well and would recommend it.
    • Best Uses: Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: No hood
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Langful from Los Angeles, CA on Wednesday, May 04, 2011
    It's nice jacket. Warm and Lightweight and good jacket
    • Best Uses: Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oggieinc from fallbrook, ca on Thursday, April 14, 2011
    Great fit with long arms for climbing or belaying
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Climbing, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by luke from franklin, mi on Monday, April 11, 2011
    love it
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bibliophile from South Bend IN on Sunday, March 06, 2011
    Looking forward to using this jacket hiking with my dogs.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bro from Minnesota on Monday, February 14, 2011
    I wear this to class on spring and fall days in Minnesota. If it is a little colder, it works well with a hoodie underneath. The black softshell looks extremely sleek. LOVE IT.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, Pockets are very soft, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 37 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.