Columbia Sportswear Axel 68 Rolling Duffel Bag

Closeouts. Perfect for seasoned travelers who need luggage with extra durability and easy-to-clean fabrics, Columbia Sportswear's Axel 68 rolling duffel bag sports rugged tarmaq polyester construction with Omni-Shield® advanced repellency and a tarp-lined interior that easily wipes clean.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anke65 from Sonora, California on Saturday, November 15, 2014
    I needed a piece of luggage narrow enough for the hallways on European trains. This seems exactly what I was looking for, plus it's durable. I like the stretchier material along the zipper and the large compression straps.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sarah from San Francisco on Monday, September 08, 2014
    I am very pleased with this suitcase. It is light as a feather and a nice medium-size. I use it so my kid can tote his hockey gear to and from the rink by himself. It will not fit his gear as he gets bigger, but those big hockey-specific ones are outrageously priced. I feel it will be a good suitcase for travel for a weekend family trip. It's not enormous, but not carry-on size either. I am quite pleased.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tiger Mom from CT on Monday, September 01, 2014
    This is a nice, roomy, weatherproof luggage. However, I returned it since there are NO side pockets to store items. It's literally a large duffel bag where you throw in all your "stuff"....not a great organization scheme.
  • Reviewed by Lee from NJ on Friday, July 18, 2014
    I bought this for a trip to Seattle followed by cruise to Alaska. I wanted something that would fold flat and fit under the bed knowing the suite would not have a lot of room (we were 4 people) Good points, It made it through the trip, no rips, tears, zippers were fine as were the buckle straps, wheels seem durable and this piece appears sturdy with the handle - I'm sure it must be waterproof because I was in an area known for rain and nothing was wet - The bad, and this is partially me, so if you are like me this might not be the bag for you - There is no give, although the material seems durable and waterproof, it is not like most duffels which you can jam it full and stuff things in, the material doesn't allow it - If you don't overpack and pick up a few items on vacation, then you will probably love this bag, but for me it wasn't a good fit. I did love the Athalon bag I bought my husband, it was just a little too small for me, so I think I'll pick that up in a bigger rolling luggage.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by C from Vermont on Saturday, July 05, 2014
    A win!!! Good construction, durable fabric, and great maneuverability. Made it through it's first flight beautifully!!
  • Reviewed by D.Y. from Las Vegas, NV on Friday, November 29, 2013
    Haven't used it yet, but it seems just fine.
  • Reviewed by J.D. from WNC on Wednesday, August 14, 2013
    Large, rugged, overall very useful bag.
  • Reviewed by Sally Skell from Santa Cruz, CA on Tuesday, July 31, 2012
    This is not a durable material. I have this bag and it got big scuffs in the material on the first flight. It's made out of a soft, pliable rubber that rubs off if your packed items (books, toiletry bags, tampon boxes, charger) inside make the slightest corner or awkward bulge- it's like they'll poke right through it. I'm much more careful to pack clothes on the outer layer now (pain in the neck), but still every trip I make it gets more and more deep scuffs while in transit from normal airline handling.

    Also- even though most of the bag is made of waterproof material, the wide stretchy panels next to the zipper wick water in easily, soaking everything inside. At lease if you pack with the clothes under these to avoid getting holes in the luggage, your books might stay dry.

    Overall- this comes close on a lot of measures, but really misses the marks on some important ones. I expect it might last me a year at most of hard travel before it gets too many holes in it to bother duct taping.
    • Best Uses: Weekend Trips
    • Cons: Tears Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Outdoor Professional
    • Pros: Easy to Transport, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.