Customer Reviews Of:
Columbia Sportswear Omni-Heat® Base Layer Top - Midweight, Long Sleeve (For Men)

Closeouts. A terrific all-around base layer for aerobic activity, Columbia Sportswear's Midweight Omni-Heat® top offers lightweight warmth, ergonomic seaming, and sweat-wicking insets.

Average Rating based on 34 reviews 4.029411 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 00Riggs from North Dakota on Tuesday, October 27, 2015
    Nice quality I'm from North Dakota so I would rate this as lightweight rather then mid. But works great for spring and fall weather
  • Reviewed by Vano from UK on Thursday, September 10, 2015
    Good quality but sleeve is very long and size in not good
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carrie from Chicago on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    My son wears this for outdoor sports and camping. He loves the omniheat lining which keeps him warm. It is a nice light layer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scouter from Topeka KS on Monday, January 26, 2015
    Feels nice, but not as warm as I had hoped. Makes a nice nightshirt in a sleeping bag
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Daryl from Michigan on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
    Bought 1 womans and 1 mens for me and my wife to try. We live in northern MI, and have to wear polo style shirts for work, and only allowed to wear black under them. Have tried several brands and styles to keep warm in colder months, and we finally found a winner. I have since ordered 2 more each for us. These are great. Best base layer for colder climates and very well constructed. Size is true to fit.
  • Reviewed by Davey Crockett from Tennessee on Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    First, I'm generally a strong fan Columbia outdoor wear. And I've enjoyed a pair of Omni-Heat fleece pants (the real fuzzy type) for several years now. Those pants keep my legs warm without any base layer in temperatures even lower than 40°F. Thinking it was the reflective Omni-Heat substrate doing the warming job, I was enthusiastic to try Columbia's Omni-Heat base layers too.

    Now that I have tried several Columbia base layer top weights (light, mid-, heavyweight, and expedition), I must say I am not at all impressed with the warming characteristics. Like a few other reviewers have said, I actually feel colder—at least until I start moving again. I suppose that's where this kind of gear really shines—continuous and vigorous movement. But for me at least, as soon as I'm stationary again (like on a ski lift on the way to the summit), frankly this layer makes me feel cold. I much prefer a Merino wool blend (like Icebreaker) that not only breathes but keeps me warm even when I'm not moving as much.

    Therefore, I can only deduct that the old Columbia Omni-Heat fleece pants I've had keep me warm primarily because of the fleece itself. Not so much because of the Omni-Heat, I can't imagine being in sub-zero environments with these tops. They already make me feel cold in 50°F dry environments. I'll be returning the Columbia base layers today.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lake Michigan from Michigan on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    Bought a couple of these for a fall trip to Iceland they provide a perfect base layer at 8-10 Celsius.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shingolcm from China on Monday, August 11, 2014
    This product keeps my body warm and dry from physical activities. I gave it 4 stars because sleeves are rather long. They don't wrap on your arms like Under Armor compression.
  • Reviewed by toto from canada on Sunday, June 15, 2014
    I agree with snug but one size-up would be snugly comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Nick from Hawaii on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    Size: First, I would like to mention that this is a base layer. A base layer is SUPPOSED to fit snugly around the body as a type of second skin. The reviews I've read on this garment states that it runs small. In my opinion, it fits exactly as a base layer should, without having to purchase a size smaller to get the skin-like snugness needed in a base layer. I normally wear a medium shirt which gives room in the arms and is not clingy. I ordered this garment in medium and, as mentioned, it fits exactly how it should (in my opinion): snug.

    Size criticism: none

    Design: The length of the torso is long enough not to creep up and expose the mid-section while engaging in overhead activities. The sleeves, as well, are designed with full-coverage during activities in mind; they are longer to ensure your arms are covered while moving about. The seams are sewn intelligently and below the front shoulder. This is especially beneficial for people like me who wear a heavy pack for many long hours; it prevents chaffing and soreness from the weight driving the seam into the skin. The materials stretch nicely to accommodate the contours of the upper body; not baggy. Also, no annoying neck tags bothering you throughout the day.

    Design criticism: it is tight around the armpit where, in my opinion, it should be looser to prevent odor and bacteria from saturating this area of the shirt. Over time, if the garment doesn't have any anti-microbial treatment, it could get that perma-stench/stain that plagues most cotton t's after vigorous activity.

    Performance: I am impressed by how much this garment breaths. I wore it in my house on Oahu where the temperature is always above 75 F and I never got hot. In fact, I actually felt quite cool. Since I haven't worn it during athletic activities yet, I can't review its wicking ability. The materials, though, seem more than capable of doing the job well.

    Performance criticism: Although it is advertised as a mid-weight base layer, I think that assessment is a bit ambitious. I think light-weight is more accurate. I would be hesitant using this as my base when the temperature falls below freezing (Yes, even in Hawaii it freezes on the mountains).

    Overall: This seems to be a great 3 season base layer. I am sure to buy more of these in the future. Highly recommended for temperatures + 32 F

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4