Columbia Sportswear Base Layer Omni-Heat® Top - Midweight, Long Sleeve (For Men)

Closeouts. A terrific all-around base layer for aerobic activity, Columbia Sportswear's Midweight Omni-Heat® top offers lightweight warmth, ergonomic seaming, and sweat-wicking insets.

Average Rating based on 28 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 28 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lake Michigan from Michigan on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    Bought a couple of these for a fall trip to Iceland they provide a perfect base layer at 8-10 Celsius.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shingolcm from China on Monday, August 11, 2014
    This product keeps my body warm and dry from physical activities. I gave it 4 stars because sleeves are rather long. They don't wrap on your arms like Under Armor compression.
  • Reviewed by toto from canada on Sunday, June 15, 2014
    I agree with snug but one size-up would be snugly comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Nick from Hawaii on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    Size: First, I would like to mention that this is a base layer. A base layer is SUPPOSED to fit snugly around the body as a type of second skin. The reviews I've read on this garment states that it runs small. In my opinion, it fits exactly as a base layer should, without having to purchase a size smaller to get the skin-like snugness needed in a base layer. I normally wear a medium shirt which gives room in the arms and is not clingy. I ordered this garment in medium and, as mentioned, it fits exactly how it should (in my opinion): snug.

    Size criticism: none

    Design: The length of the torso is long enough not to creep up and expose the mid-section while engaging in overhead activities. The sleeves, as well, are designed with full-coverage during activities in mind; they are longer to ensure your arms are covered while moving about. The seams are sewn intelligently and below the front shoulder. This is especially beneficial for people like me who wear a heavy pack for many long hours; it prevents chaffing and soreness from the weight driving the seam into the skin. The materials stretch nicely to accommodate the contours of the upper body; not baggy. Also, no annoying neck tags bothering you throughout the day.

    Design criticism: it is tight around the armpit where, in my opinion, it should be looser to prevent odor and bacteria from saturating this area of the shirt. Over time, if the garment doesn't have any anti-microbial treatment, it could get that perma-stench/stain that plagues most cotton t's after vigorous activity.

    Performance: I am impressed by how much this garment breaths. I wore it in my house on Oahu where the temperature is always above 75 F and I never got hot. In fact, I actually felt quite cool. Since I haven't worn it during athletic activities yet, I can't review its wicking ability. The materials, though, seem more than capable of doing the job well.

    Performance criticism: Although it is advertised as a mid-weight base layer, I think that assessment is a bit ambitious. I think light-weight is more accurate. I would be hesitant using this as my base when the temperature falls below freezing (Yes, even in Hawaii it freezes on the mountains).

    Overall: This seems to be a great 3 season base layer. I am sure to buy more of these in the future. Highly recommended for temperatures + 32 F

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by schecky from maryland on Friday, May 02, 2014
    i've always been happy with columbia's omni-heat line and this is no exception. the top is light, comfortable, soft and warm. it's a perfect base-layer for colder seasons.
  • Reviewed by ChicagoRunner from Chicago on Monday, February 10, 2014
    Love the shirt, it is a great base layer for those cold Chiberia mornings. I like the fit it is tapered a bit towrds the bottom so it fits snug, not to tight, buit snug.
  • Reviewed by Ham123 from Houston on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    Bought for my son to replace some old base layers for skiing. He likes. I like the Omni heat products as they do seem to keep you extra warm. He is 6-1, about 160 lbs, and the Large fits him nice. Excellent quality. Packaged well.
  • Reviewed by K Man from Western NY and NC on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    Nice base layer with the Omni-Heat (I'm sold on that!) but the size is off.

    I normally wear a L on a quality dress shirt, and XL in a lower quality brand. I
    had to return the XL for in favor an 2XL in order to get any breathing room at all !!!!
    The XL was MOST uncomfortable and I looked like a sausage.
  • Reviewed by Bill G from Southern MD on Saturday, January 25, 2014
    If you are between sizes, order one size up. I'm not sure how well the "space blanket" lining works. I was cold walking through Washington DC on a 15 degree night with subzero wind chills, but to be fair, I only had a mid weight Columbia fleece and down vest on top of this shirt. I ordered a tan shirt with black side panels, which kind of looks like a uniform top from "Star-Trek-The Next Generation". I also ordered some Kenyon Polarskin fleece base layers, which were less expensive, and more comfortable. I would recommend them instead.
  • Reviewed by aunt e G from washingon on Thursday, January 02, 2014
    I would rate this a 5* except the sleeves come down to my fingertips. I am ok w that when walking as I don't need gloves! I walked at twilight,in fog, 36 degrees in this shirt w a polo and windbreaker and was warm! I trialed the silk,omniheat and merino wool all as baselayers. This was the warmest.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 28 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.