Columbia Sportswear Baseplate Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Stripped of weight but not performance, Columbia Sportswear's Baseplate jacket is an essential wind- and water-resistant stretch shell, perfect of those days when the weather can't make up its mind. Omni-Shield® advanced repellency and strategically positioned stretch panels provide a protective barrier for all your outdoor activities.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Albee from Connecticut on Monday, June 2, 2014
    The Baseplate jacket is just as advertised: a lightweight jacket that is equally at home in dry windy conditions or in light rain.

    In my brief experience with it , the jacket has performed admirably. I like the look and feel of jacket. It fit true to size .( I ordered an xl )

    Whats not to like?. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
  • Reviewed by AJ from Michigan on Monday, March 24, 2014
    The jacket fits nicely and is loose enough to fit over a light fleece shirt. The stretch panels help with ease of motion. The XXL size fits true to the chart. I have worn it in the wind and it does a fair job of blocking air passage. It does shed a light misting of rain without issue. I have not worn it in a downpour. The material is very thin and I would not expect to be very durable for the long-haul or rubbing on objects on tight trails. It does wrinkle substantially once packed. It takes a long time to unwrinkled with wear. It has no inside pockets. The exterior left chest pocket barely fits an iPhone. The dark gray and black color heats up quickly in the sun. Overall, it is a good lightweight windbreaker for the price.
  • Reviewed by Thundertoad from Omaha on Sunday, March 16, 2014
    I ordered this to replace a columbia windbreaker I have had for 6 years or so. Same size (2XL) and I couldn't even zip this one. Quality is also way below my original Columbia windbreaker. Sad - like so many manufacturers - send all the work to China and pocket the money from margins and US tax policy. Customer pays for it in taxes and product quality.
  • Reviewed by Glenn the Motorcyclist from Texas on Saturday, March 1, 2014
    Purchased as a wind-resistant layer to wear under a mesh motorcycle jacket - by itself on cool days (upper 50's-lower 70's) and over a fleece jacket on cold days (upper 30's-50's). Works perfectly - allows just enough wind through to move moisture and prevent overheating. The large size fits my 5'10" frame (average weight, not slender) with a fleece layer and light sweater underneath. Neck is open enough to fit over a scarf or neck gaiter. Also resistant to fog, mist, and very light rain at motorcycle speeds. Haven't tried it under light rain or worse, but that's what raingear is for. I appreciate the elastic cuffs (don't get snagged under the motorcycle jacket) and elastic waist. (Works great off the bike as well.) Motorcyclist recommended!
  • Reviewed by Iowa Biker from Des Moines, IA on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    Pleased with fit and comfort. Biked with jacket a couple rides at 40F with long sleeve jersey and it was just right. Good quality.
  • Reviewed by Jason from South Dakota on Monday, January 27, 2014
    This is a very lightweight jacket, but very comfortable. I haven't used it outside yet as it is -35 right now, but have worn it around the house and it fits great!
  • Reviewed by Bruce from New York on Monday, December 2, 2013
    Lightweight, durable, attractive. Good for outside and inside.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RedHappyPhoto from Lawrenceburg, Tn on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    I enjoy the jackets-perfect for my job
  • Reviewed by Cold weather runner from Cincinnati on Friday, December 21, 2012
    Most versatile and comfortable cool to cold weather (50's to 20's) running jacket I've ever had. Have tried softshells and ultralight hardshells. The softshells were too breathable and the hardshells not breathable enough.

    Baseplate jacket solved those problems for me. With the right baselayers and cap/hat, this jacket helps you stay comfortable in windy and below freezing temps to mild, drizzly conditions. The configuration of the hard and soft shell fabrics is perfect - and somehow the stretchy softshell areas breathe AND still don't allow too much cold air in - while also repelling light rain.

    Especially at STP prices, this is a no brainer!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by me from Ohio on Thursday, November 22, 2012
    Thought it was a warmer jacket . Returned it !
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.