Customer Reviews Of:
Columbia Sportswear Bug Shield Pants - Convertible, UPF 25, Quick Dry (For Boys)

Closeouts. Thanks to the Insect Blocker technology and UPF 25 sun protection of Columbia Sportswear's Bug Shield pants, he can run around with sweet abandon, and you can be worry-free, too.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews 4.000000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shopping Mom from Atlanta, GA on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    Just bought my son a pair of size 14 Levis that fit just fine. The size 14 in this product wouldn't even go over his thighs. Ugh.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike the Business Guy from Hinsdale, IL on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
    Seamless execution, on-time delivery
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Mom from Denver, CO on Tuesday, August 7, 2012
    Bought these for my 5 year old last year and this is the 2nd pair I'm purchasing for next year. Love the fact that they are convertible. He spends a lot of time with his dad fishing and plays in and around a creek/river often. They are lightweight and dry quickly and keeps bugs at bay. Durable too!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Pros: Allows Free Movement, Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Mom from Birmingham, AL on Monday, July 30, 2012
    My son is very slim and muscular (normally needs pants that run slim and have an adjustable waist), and these pants fit perfectly. Zippers glide easily. He is very pleased so far.
    • Best Uses: Sports
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yvonne The Deal Shopper from La Crescenta, Ca on Friday, July 6, 2012
    Since they didn't make them for girls, and the women's are to big. The only option I had was to get a boys. This was for a 5'2' 89# young lady my daughter. So purchased a size 12 boys. So they have no sizing chart for boys, so I just had to get the info and guess, they weren't even close to what I would of imagined. Quality was good finished nicely.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Gym, Running, Sports
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Reviewed by TMTwinCities from Minnesota on Thursday, July 5, 2012
    Bought for my two girls and one boy in size 6 (usually wears 5 or 5/6), size 8 (usually wears 8) and size 10 (usually wears 10 regular in pants). They fit will only my slimmest and taller-than-average child (10). She loves them and said they were great at overnight camp.

    For the other two children, the waist was too small, even at the largest possible waist size. I couldn't even get the zipper up/button to close. For one child (size 8 regular), it was also too tight in the seat; she could barely put them on. Legs were too long for the size 6 and 8 children (who are average height). It's a shame because the pants look great.
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Too Long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lovskiing from colorado on Tuesday, July 3, 2012
    These pants run very small. I bought size 14 for my 12-year old (average size) son and had to return them because they were too tight in waist/hips. Unless your child is a "stick"-shaped, buy a size or two bigger. Otherwise, the pants seem well constructed and durable.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking, Outdoor activity
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Durable, Good craftsmanship
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kreviewer from Minnesota on Monday, June 18, 2012
    This brand runs long and thin. I bought a pair of these for each of my girls 7 (size 7) and 11 (size 12). These pants are kind of spendy, even on sale, but the cinch waist makes buying big doable to make these pants last a few seasons. My 7 year old is small for her size, but I kept the size 7 anyway. She can use them without the legs this year and add them back on as she gets taller. My 11 year old is average size, so didn't need the cinch waist, but the length will allow here to use them again next year too.

    The fabric is great, the convertible pants versatile, and the insect blocker works great! My kids use these pants at the lake, hiking, camping, fishing, and anytime we are outside at the same time as the mosquitos.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Outdoors
    • Cons: Too Long
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Allows Free Movement, Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Functional, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by canoe141 from Horton, MI on Thursday, June 7, 2012
    Didn't have any girl's so I ordered the boy's pants. My 5 year old Granddaughter didn't want nothing to do with them until she figured out that the legs zip off. Now she loves wearing them. They fit nice and dry quickly, and they look good on her.
    • Best Uses: Canoe Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mommy Maria from Connecticut on Monday, May 21, 2012
    These pants have a great length to waist ratio! The adjustable waist is terrific so that my regular sized 11 year old can tighten the waist yet still have enough length on the legs.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Competitive Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Allows Free Movement, Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2