Columbia Sportswear Bug Shield Plaid Shirt - UPF 30, Long Sleeve (For Women)

Closeouts. You wouldn't know it by just looking at Columbia Sportswear's Bug Shield Plaid shirt that it's full of comfort and protective technologies. Cleverly hidden within lightweight plainweave is powerful bug repellent, sun blocker, mesh-lined ventilation and excellent moisture-wicking capabilities.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jann in Loomis from California on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    I liked the fabric and style, but it was a bit snug in the bust. I returned it. Usually a Small fits. If I'd have been a contour-hugging fashion lover, it would've been fine, but I like my shirts a bit roomier.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NYHiker from Chatham, New York on Tuesday, July 8, 2014
    Overall, this shirt worked well as a bug repellent. I used it to garden in the early morning and for hikes in some fairly buggy areas. It worked great. THe only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because: 1) the cuff is a bit on the loose side -- would be better if it had two buttons so you can make the cuffs tight or loose; and 2) the two pockets have a tiny velcro strip which is not great for keys and things like that, meaning if you bend over, your stuff can fall out. Would be better if it had a zipper or a more secure closure.
  • Reviewed by Love Summer from Wisconsin on Sunday, June 1, 2014
    I bought this shirt for our visit to Florida. The L, my usual size, was a bit small for my liking. If worn as a cover over a cami it would have been fine. I ordered the XL and while a little roomy it was perfect over my bathing suit while riding on a wave runner for 3 1/2 hours in the sun the entire time. It was cool and comfortable and protected me from the sun. I rolled the sleeves up and back down as I needed. Great shirt. Love the blue/yellow. Will test the insect blocking and report back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GSPmom from Upstate NY on Tuesday, May 6, 2014
    I got this shirt in the "Beacon" color scheme and I love its subdued pastel hues. The shirt is well-constructed with thoughtful detailing and a more fitted, feminine cut. Maybe the cut is a little more form-fitting than most would like--I am normally a US size 6-8 in tops, w/ somewhat wide shoulders and ended up getting a size large, which fit comfortably w/ room to move around. I suspect a medium would have been snug in the shoulders.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AnnaLaurie from Arizona on Monday, April 21, 2014
    This is a good looking shirt, though not soft and comfy. Indeed, it is rather (but not impossibly) stiff. It is well constructed. I got it strictly for the potential bug protection, though I've not yet had an opportunity to put that feature to the test, as southern Arizona is relatively free of flying bugs and tics.
  • Reviewed by AnnaLaurie from Arizona on Friday, April 11, 2014
    This is an attractive design and my only negatives are that the shirt is not proportioned for tall women (in order to get long enough sleeves, I had to order XL, which then meant the neck size and overall girth was a bit large). The fabric is a bit stiff, but not uncomfortable -- just different. No chance to check out the anti-bug aspects.
  • Reviewed by Indynana from Indianapolis on Sunday, March 9, 2014
    I can already see that this will be my "go to" camping shirt. Nice touches make it stand out as a cut above my other shirts. I bought it for the bug repellent but its other qualities make it even better. The sleeves are adjustable, there is a small zippered pocket & the darts in the back give it a feminine shape. The ventilation will be nice when kayaking and there is no odor from the bug repellent.
  • Reviewed by Pig Hunter from Louisiana on Tuesday, February 4, 2014
    The Columbia Bug Shield shirt is great. The only issue is that the sizes run on the small side. I first ordered a medium but had to return it for a large, and this is for a woman who wears a dress size from 4 to 6. Other than that, the shirt looks and fits great. The customer service at Sierra did a quick turn-around on this product replacement.
  • Reviewed by Whirledpeas55 from Springfield, MO on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    Nicely made and true to size in my case. Repels biters as I experienced from garden. Easily washed and dried on clothesline in less than an hour. Pleased with the lower right side seam zipper pocket. My husband was envious that his shirt didn't have that. For me, this is for lawn and garden work but it is nice enough to wear anywhere bug prevention, sun protection and coolness all in one is what you seek. The red plaid for me is lovely.
  • Reviewed by snow flower from Washington, DC on Monday, September 23, 2013
    Bought the blue one. It is beautiful. The fabric is very nice. I was not in the woods nor in my yard/garden, so there were no bugs. But I just love it.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.