Columbia Sportswear Commuter Pants - UPF 50 (For Men)

Closeouts. Two-wheel commuters rejoice! Columbia Sportswear Commuter pants can be worn on the trip to the office and the remainder of the day as well. They have a moisture-wicking waistband, reflective details and Omni-Shield® advanced repellency to protect you from road dirt and grit.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-20 of 20 reviews
  • Reviewed by pescondo hombre from Colorado on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    Size was right on.
  • Reviewed by Los Angeles commuter from Pasadena, CA on Thursday, October 17, 2013
    Good fit, quality construction. Not for jacket and tie, but more office casual.
  • Reviewed by skigirl from Colorado on Friday, June 21, 2013
    Pants are well made and true to size.
  • Reviewed by foldy-rider from NYC on Thursday, May 09, 2013
    I usually commute in jeans and switch to lightweight zip-offs when it gets hot. I was looking for something for in-between weather that also passed as office-wear. I think these actually look great. The cut is good and the fabric hangs well with a narrower look in the leg than I expected, though by no mean tight, and they don't look like "outdoor wear". The taupe color looks like any other pair of khakis, but IMO better that your typical cotton variety, and far more wrinkle resistant.

    I'm normally 32 or 33 waist, 30L; I ordered 32/30 and the fit is excellent. The comfort of these is hard to beat. I prefer thinner clothes and these meet that criteria for me, yet they still seem very durable even though they're quite soft, especially after a wash. They seem to dissipate heat pretty well, much better than jeans. Today I rode in a driving rain, maybe 60 deg. F witha a layer of gore-tex. With jeans I'd get sweaty an uncomfortable but these felt great. They do seem to be more or less water repellant, but rain will soak them like anything else. However they do seem to dry faster than cotton.

    As someone mentioned the rear pockets go quite low, so your wallet hangs just below your butt. I do notice this in a good way when I ride and I have to double-check that I in fact have my wallet, but it is the one thing that makes these look a little weird maybe at first, or maybe they're cut like hip-hop jeans, IDK, I like the roomy back pockets.

    Anyway I just picked up a second pair. Get'm while they last!
  • Reviewed by Marrs96 from Chicago on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    Comfortable, deep pockets, nice amount of stretch, fairly wrinkle free out of dryer.

    Wife likes the look.

    Now have 2 pairs of these...
  • Reviewed by Allen from Raleigh on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    The waist on these runs way too big. They were huge on me. Double belt loops in back middle look dorky
  • Reviewed by flyers0320 from New Jersey on Wednesday, March 06, 2013
    For the price and the comfort these can't be beat. They fit well and seem durable. Of course these were made pre-u lock holder. Not a problem. Could use a little more reflective material.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Urban Dog from Dallas, TX on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    These pants fit great, not to tight, and allow for me to use these for outside work. I might use them for cycling and travel too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rowing jack from North carolina on Monday, February 11, 2013
    Travel
  • Reviewed by Jason_ROK from Korea, Colorado, Hawaii on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    These are great pants. Wind resistant, but still breathable. Material has a high quality touch and feel. Great pants for casual workday, walking, casual bicycle riding or commuting. The only thing I don't like is the back pockets drop kind of low, and my wallet hits my thigh. Maybe I need a bigger butt to hold them up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave from Midwest on Thursday, February 07, 2013
    Bought them for cycling and wearing at work. Nice fabric. Seems well constructed. Nice details.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Climbforyourlife from Austin, TX on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    This is one of the only pairs of pants I've found that actually fit true to size. I am a weird 30x34 size and these are perfect.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bkhsms from Charleston, SC on Monday, January 28, 2013
    I am building up my bike commuting wear and found these pants to be the best lightweight pant yet. The cost is perfect compared to Rapha, Mission Workshop, Betabrand. The pants are not slim fit, but more straight leg chino type fit with enough room in the legs to easily accommodate big legs. Out of all my commuter pants these are the most comfortable to include Rapha and Betabrand.
    The only complaint I have is the reflective piping on the inside of the legs is way too high. So much so you have to pull the pant leg up practically to your knees.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
    I bought this pant for casual office, but the uneven dyeing/heathery appearance looks cheap.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BWelch from Fresno, CA on Sunday, December 16, 2012
    Love these pants!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Boxci. from MD on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    Material is ok but these are not hiking pants. Not enough pockets. Still not worth the reduced price
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Wanderer from West on Friday, November 23, 2012
    These were purchased to be used mainly as hiking and bike commuting pants, but they work well for just about anything. Anyone who regularly pedals to work knows the value of comfortable yet stylish AND practical clothing.

    Usually it's very hard to find that combination of attributes, but the "Commuter" pant has them all.

    The material is very soft and breathable, feeling almost like cotton, with the added benefit of being very water resistant.

    Also, they can be dressed up with a button down shirt, even a tie in a pinch. The styling is neutral and doesn't scream "HIKING PANTS!" Very versatile.
  • Reviewed by Brannon32 from Vallejo, CA. on Saturday, November 10, 2012
    These have become my new favorite pants. They're wonderful for those who have a job that requires casual attire, but lots of movement. Pants come with repellent feature that takes on light drizzles without a problem.

    My minor complaints are about the pockets. I wish there were something that zipped or had a velcro cover because I get nervous about losing my wallet on the ride to work. It hasn't happened, but it they don't feel as secure as I would like.
    • Best Uses: Riding, Walking, Work
    • Pros: Comfortable, Ease of care, Flexible, Light
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chili Pepper from Schererville, IN on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
    I use these casually, they great for adverse weather. They repel water and are wind resisitant. They also have a reflective stripe on the right leg, when you roll the pants up to ride your bike you have a built in rreflector. They are a bit large in the waist.
    • Best Uses: Bicycle Commuting Casual
    • Cons: Waist A Bit Large
    • Pros: Wind Blocking Water Resi
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Birding gal from Olympia, WA on Monday, October 29, 2012
    I bought these for my husband, as he likes to wear light-weight pants. The 32" waist fit him great and was comfortable. He likes the pockets, as they are deep enough for his "pocket gear." They look attractive enough for many uses, and washed and dried beautifully.
    • Best Uses: CASUAL WEAR, Travel
    • Pros: Light Weight, Nice fit
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-20 of 20 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.