Columbia Sportswear Harlow Parka - Waterproof, Insulated, Removable Liner (For Women)

Closeouts. Sleek mountain style meets superior performance in Columbia Sportswear's Harlow parka. It features a removable liner jacket that allows you to adjust to changing weather. Wear just the shell to fight moisture, just the liner in mild weather or combine them for maximum warmth.

Average Rating based on 47 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 47 reviews
  • Reviewed by Mary from Texas from Tennessee on Wednesday, January 15, 2014
    I got the medium coat to give me extra room to layer. I'm from the South and am going to Canada this January. Durring our "Polar Vortex" chill it worked better than any of my other coats- even my puffy feather Eddie Bauer coat. I am very happy with it.

    Only complaint- the sleeves are a bit too long, and I usualy have the opposite problem. I'm still happy though. It's better too long than too short.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grand Banana from Houston, Texas on Friday, February 15, 2013
    I have done business with Sierra for many years, with great satisfaction. As such, I must tell you that I was surprised, and certainly not happy about incurring a "processing fee" when I returned this jacket.It may deter me from any future purchases.
    This jacket was disproportionate and simply did not fit well. It would not be very practical for any type of recreational activity.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by San from Eureka,Ca on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    I truly love this jacket--It is two in one. So if you get to warm you just remove the inner; or if you want you can wear the small inner as a jacket on it's own! Love it!! My second one!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lovely lady from seattle,wa on Saturday, February 9, 2013
    Living in the Pacific NW this jacket gives me all that I need from style ( as I AM a fashionista!!)to practical function just love it....=o)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OlyCamasu from Olympia, WA on Monday, February 4, 2013
    This is the best-quality snow gear I've ever worn. The range of arm & shoulder motion is amazing, without exposing my belly to the cold snow. It seems like every detail is thought of. (Granted, I haven't shopped for a jacket like this in years, but I didn't see anything like this when I was doing it a lot.) Sad for me, I am not keeping it because I have to have a jacket that also is a rain parka, and the cut on this is too high in the front for that. But *perfect* for being active in the snow!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shoeing Silly from Portland, OR on Saturday, February 2, 2013
    Hands down my new favorite coat! Got a handful of compliments when I wore it whole and just the liner to the office. The layers and cut work great on the trails too though. Pretty trendy cut for a snow coat!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 143luckychar from Albuquerque, NM on Monday, January 28, 2013
    I was intrigued with this pinstripe jacket and after reading the reviews, decided to purchase. I am so happy I did! I bought this jacket as an addition to my ski wardrobe. The jacket itself is very stylish, but it performs as it should on the mountain. I have used twice since purchasing and am very happy with this jacket's performance. As another reviewer mentioned, the placement of the vents on this jacket and the angle of the zipper are spot on. I first used with the detachable shell and was surprised at how warm the jacket was without being terribly bulky or compromising the performance. I decided to try the next day without the shell and again was surprised at just how warm the jacket was without the shell too! There is also great pocket placement on this coat inside and out! I especially like the front removable "bib" that helped keep the coat in place while I skied. The sleeves are longer which is a bonus for me as they went over my gloves for added coverage and the adjustable velcro helped me keep the gloves in place. Overall, this is a great jacket and a steal for the price. I even received tons on compliments on its appearance! Another great purchase from Sierra Trading!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Little Boo from Drums, PA on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    Loved the fit of the liner, but the outer jacket sleeves were a little long.
  • Reviewed by 143luckychar from Albuquerque, NM on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
    I bought this coat as an addition to my ski gear. I used in Red River last weekend and was very impressed with the performance/fit of this coat. The overall fit is slim, so if you are in between sizes, recommend you size up. The snap in shell is also great for spring skiing. I used the coat without the shell and was very warm. I really like the removable waist "bib". It kept the jacket in place while I was on the mountain! Overall very impressed with my purchase. As a result, I purchased another Columbia coat to add to my ski collection. Such a unique coat. Received many compliments on the mountain!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lcg from Michigan on Saturday, January 19, 2013
    I do realize that many things are tight being a DDD, but my Columbia from 3 years ago fits just fine. This coat, couldn't even zip up! Returning it, but I loved the cut/color/fabric.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cautious consumer from Fox River Grove, Illinois on Monday, January 14, 2013
    not comfortable. not easy to use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snogirl from Reno, NV on Saturday, December 29, 2012
    Great fit; very nice! Has all the gear pockets, powder skirt, everything that goes with snow sports!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Heids from Plymouth, WI on Thursday, December 13, 2012
    This coat is toasty warm. Almost too warm for these mild Wisconsin early-Winter days. Love the neoprene sleeves on the inner liner. Wished the liner zipped into the outer shell instead of snaps. Sometimes makes the jacket separate and "fall apart" when hanging on a hook. Also, unless you unzip the snow-skirt, if you wear it without snowpants, that extra material covering your butt looks a bit goofy. (Minor)

    So far, I've worn the inner liner by itself, more than snapped into the outer shell. I love the convertable-ness and the fact that I can go from single layer warmth to double with 3 easy snaps.

    In general, the size is pretty true. Originally, I ordered a Medium after reading other reviews online, but being a bit bustier girl, I exchanged it for a Large and am much happier.

    Overall, one of the best winter coats, I've ever owned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Akfisherwoman from Soldotna alaska on Wednesday, December 12, 2012
    Only complaint is too many pockets, but awesome jacket!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pam the dog walker from Ann Arbor, Michigan. on Wednesday, November 21, 2012
    This combination coat is very slimming.. I have received complements. I have looked at Columbia coats and this is the one. The black coat has silver diagonal lines that are not overwhelming. The arm length is longer but is not a problem because of the Velcro tabs on the sleeves. I took off the "skirt" and the length is great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Not Uma from Oakland, CA on Tuesday, November 20, 2012
    This coat is perfect for a San Francisco/East Bay winter (and I get cold easily). The inner layer is surprisingly warm and the outer layer is heavy enough to block the cold on its own too. The brown color is rich and warm and the pin stripes are attractive.

    The main downsides are:

    1) I'm 5'4" and 125 lbs, with a short torso and long arms and this coat is very snug around the middle, too tight at the collar to be zipped completely, long at the sleeves AND the hood flops forward over half my face. It seems to have been designed with the slender nordic figure in mind, so small means tall and skinny. It fits okay enough that I still like wearing it, but probably would have chosen a different jacket had I known.

    2) The style is...really strange. Basically, it seems to be modelled after a tuxedo. The front is about 6-8 inches shorter than the back and has a "cummerbund"-esque waist flap. I think on a taller person, this could be attractive, but when I button the cummerbund I look a little weird. On the other hand, when it's unbuttoned, the front appears normal length and the jacket looks stylish. The unusualness of the design in and of itself appeals to my sense of style. (Think UgFab.)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sweetie from Maine on Friday, November 2, 2012
    All coats have too long sleeves for me.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Liz from Rural Alaska on Thursday, November 1, 2012
    Used in Alaska for cold weather, not made for -70 F. though, but works well with layering.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Doesn't Breathe
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Reviewed by Pooca the explorer from Glenmoore, PA on Thursday, September 6, 2012
    I usually wear XS - S (5'4" 120 athletic lbs) in Columbia Titanium and was shocked to find just large this jacket is all over. I had expected it to be fitted as the reviews had said but the sleeve length was huge and really wide. Perhaps an XS would have worked but unfortunately STP does not have that size. I like my jackets fitted because that's the best way to keep warm in really cold weather especially because I do lots of outdoor hiking. It's hard to find a medium to lighter weighted shell such as this; this is where the jacket succeeds. I looked liked a brown stay puff marshmallow man in this. The color is awesome. It's so large overall that it makes me wonder if the XS would have worked. If you're looking for a jacket with lots of extra space to move then this is for you but if you're looking for a more fitted look, forget it or try Mountain Hardware which did have a jacket that worked perfectly for me in my usual size.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Cons: Not As Fitted As Describe, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Pros: Durable, Nice Medium Weight Shell, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by K2 from Portland, OR on Wednesday, June 27, 2012
    I live in the home town of Columbia Sportswear and this is yet another one of their coats that surely will not dissapoint. It is one of the most stylish and functional ski coats I have had (far more fashionable than the Columbia parka I have worn for the past several years).

    Note on color; the pinstripes are silver and the liner is light gray (hard to tell in the pictures if they are gray or white).

    It is still summer so this parka has not been tested on the slopes but I know what features I find important. I am an agressive downhiller and biggest points go to the following: A full-sized removable hood to accomodate a ski helmet. This hood zips off, no snaps or velcro. Powder skirt that zips off and self-snaps out of the way when not in use but still attached. A pass/ski ticket hook that can be easily shown but is tucked underneath so it won't flap in the wind. The down liner zips up high on the neck to keep out the wind. Shell zips close up the front but also has big snaps; I was concerned this didn't have a two-way zipper but the shell can be unzipped and snapped at the chest so you can get airflow, when you want it, without your coat flapping in the wind. The pit zips are at an angle from lower front up to the back are meshed and designed to catch the wind. Much easier to open then one that goes straight up and down the arm. Velcroed sleeve for ease of tightening around your gloves.

    The shell fabric feels a bit stiff and very durable. Expect it will be windproof and rainproof just as Columbia's Omni-Tech rating supports.

    When the weather cools the shell would make for a sharp looking around-the-town coat. Sleeves are a little long, good for skiing, but may look bulky in town.

    I can't wait for ski season to put this beautiful coat through it's paces.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by mnbearguide from Floodwood, MN on Thursday, June 21, 2012
    I work outside in Minnesota. This is by far the best jacket I've ever owned. I love the velcro cuff. I have full range of motion. I also never get a back draft it doesn't ride up. It is also the perfect cut and super stylish I can wear it to church.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Extreme Conditions, Hiking and Camping, Skiing/Snowboarding, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Liner is a little thick
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nell from Queens, New York on Thursday, May 24, 2012
    The jacket looked stylish in the pictures, but it was so poorly fitting, that I looked like a dork in it. The hood was totally uncomfortable, there was no way it was going to fit and look acceptable. I don't know how it could pass inspection.
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Restricts Movement
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by andygut from Warwick, NY on Tuesday, April 3, 2012
    I always read customers' reviews first, and some of the negative comments do not seem to apply to this jacket. The quality is excellent and durable, the fit is perfect (I wear a Small, and this fits really well with a little room to spare for a sweater), and the jacket looks very stylish. The stripes are not as annoying as I thought they might be, and I love the removable liner, which makes the jacket usable in many different temperatures. It has zippers and pockets everywhere, allowing for lots of optional ventilation and storage. And what a great price!!!
    So if you're looking for something versatile and lasting, with an attractive look, this jacket is for you. Might consider next size if you want to wear a very heavy layer underneath, or if you enjoy more room.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Icy Conditions, Moderate weather, Powder, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: None
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, dog walking, Fall - spring weather, Hiking, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Attractive, Breathes Well, Durable, Good material, Great Quality, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MM from Iowa on Thursday, February 23, 2012
    Bought this as two separates because I couldn't find a decent waterproof jacket with lining. Using the shell and will use the liner as a warmer fall jacket. Love the cut, very flattering, hip length in front and covers in back. The black/brown combo also works well. Lots of pockets, a great all-around jacket.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Foothills runner from Fort Collins, CO on Wednesday, February 15, 2012
    The sleeve attachments of the liner to the shell are lightweight and ripped almost immediately.
    The liner has white sleeves, but the last 6 inches of the sleeves are purple, which makes it look weird if worn alone.
    The removable hood and powder skirt are exactly what I was looking for.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Forest fashionista from Nevada City, Ca on Saturday, February 4, 2012
    I find myself wearing the inner liner alone because of the weather lately. I love how the sleeves can go way long like fingerless gloves or tuck back in and stay put. The pattern on the outer part is a little disconcerting, not sure if I like it yet.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hunt for the Perfect Coat from New Mexico on Wednesday, February 1, 2012
    I plan to use this coat for snowboarding and snowy activities. I usually wear a small; I'm 5'6 and 130 lbs. In coats I often have problems with smalls having sleeve lengths that are too short and was concerned about this although other reviews said the sleeves seemed long. I wasn't sure what size to order so I got both the small and medium to see which fit better. The sleeve length on the medium is too long. The sleeve length in the small is perfect except the liner feels a bit tight under my arms. If I wear the small with a thin shirt underneath with the liner it doesn't feel tight or if I wear it without the liner it fits prefect. I will defiantly keep the coat but I'm not sure yet if I would rather deal with it being a bit too tight under my arms or sleeves that are a bit too long. The pit zips are what prompted me to buy the coat and I love that it seems very functional.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by kidakat from upstate, ny on Saturday, January 28, 2012
    i get lots of compliments on this jacket. i love it for everyday use. it is cut great for a woman with curves and really practical. good pockets, decent weight for wearing and feels warm. i love this product!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MT girl from Belgrade, MT on Saturday, January 14, 2012
    Very warm and blocks the wind well. I am tall, and often women's coats are too short in the torso and the arms. This coat fits me perfectly.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RMH from Charlotte, NC on Friday, January 13, 2012
    The versatility of the Coat. The removable liner is very light and warm. The extra length in back is nice. Did not expect this type of coat. Really like it!! Have used just the liner about every day since received. Has not been below 30 yet. Look forward to wearing the coat for many years!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Nice Color, Stylish, The removable Liner, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 47 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.