Customer Reviews Of:
Columbia Sportswear Lhotse Omni-Heat® Mountain Parka - Waterproof, 3-in-1 (For Men)

Closeouts. A tribute to the mighty Himalayan peak that shares its name, Columbia Sportswear's Lhotse mountain parka has a zip-out liner, an Omni-Tech® waterproof breathable membrane and Omni-Heat® reflective technology for protection and comfort in some of nature's toughest conditions.

Average Rating based on 86 reviews 4.441860 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 9
  • Reviewed by Putterman41 from Texas on Wednesday, January 1, 2014
    This ski/outdoor jacket is make of excellent quality materials. The workmanship is outstanding. Quality all around. Fit is true to size. The zip off hood is well designed. I would recommend this jacket to anyone spending much time outdoors in the cold winters.
  • Reviewed by A. Shaheen from BAH on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    I had bought this jacket for my father for his next winter trip to Europe. He wears 2xl for tall men. the fitting is perfect for both the shell and the inner jacket. Overall i can say that this is an excellent jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mac from San Diego, CA on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    Seemed like a nice ski coat but too small in the chest.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Astrotraveler from Sonoma County, CA on Friday, February 1, 2013
    Like many pieces of outerwear, this parka is designed to keep you warm during periods of moderate to high activity. High elevation astronomical observation is a different beast. It is a highly sedentary pursuit. Accordingly, a parka that would be adequate alone or with a medium weight mid-layer during active pursuits won't keep you warm enough during long periods of complete immobility.

    That is why I purchased one size up (XL instead of my regular L). When used as the outermost layer on a well-layered torso (baselayer, fleece, flannel or wool mid-layer then the parka) it will keep you warm in the cold even if you're staying put.

    I've also used the shell alone as rainware while kayaking, so it's a very versatile piece of gear. So much so that I'm thinking of picking up a second parka (the newer Lhotse II version) as a "guest coat" for my observatory. Guests often don't come prepared, and as a supplement to go over the usual sweatshirts or fleece jackets worn by visitors, this parka is perfect.
  • Reviewed by Texas Ski from Houston, TX on Monday, December 31, 2012
    Wife got me this jacket for our ski trip to Wyoming. The third day I wore it the zipper on the shell ripped out. I hadn't fallen or anything. I just noticed that i was feeling a breeze and when i checked at the bottom of the hill, I found that the zipper was coming lose. Thank God for the velcro.
    Also, the inner liner was too hot. We were out on a day when it was in the teens and I was overheating even with the vents open. I really liked the style of the jacket but was very disappointed in the performance. I had read other reviews about zippers ripping out of this jacket and hoped for the best.
    At least we got the jacket through Sierra Trading. They are a pleasure to work with and I will definitely be ordering another brand jacket when I send this one back. Thanks Sierra Trading for your return policy and your assistance!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Georgia Blue from Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, December 4, 2012
    I got this to replace a 10-year old Columbia parka that finally wore out. I always like the 3-in-1 Columbia parkas, as the weather in North Georgia requires a good deal of versatility from week to week during the winter months. I have already used the Omni-Heat liner, zipped out and worn under a different jacket, to officiate outdoor sports to great effect. The shell is a bit stiff, but I think it will break in nicely. With Sierra's great return policy, I will have a little time to work it out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dennis Photographer from Puyallup, WA on Monday, November 12, 2012
    I liked this parka more than a year before I found it offered by Sierra Trading Post. When I decided to buy a new parka this year I went looking for it but did not find it anywhere, I know, styles change. I was delighted to find it at Sierra Trading Post in my size and the color I wanted. I wore just the shell for work on a particularly cold and windy day and I was cold in the wind. The next day the weather was the same and I wore the liner without the shell and stayed very warm and could not feel the wind. The next day was only a few degrees warmer, less windy but it was the beginning of a rainy day. I wore the shell and the liner together and was very comfortable all day.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Nature Photography
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sudski from Burlington, CT on Monday, October 29, 2012
    Saved myself a small fortune buying through STP!
    • Best Uses: Hiking, Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Brian from Vegas on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
    Zippers blew out on both jackets that we ordered. Two different wearers. Thank goodness for STP's return policy.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not Durable
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zvika from Israel on Thursday, April 12, 2012
    Great for Ski
    • Best Uses: Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: No Pocket for ski pass
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 9