Customer Reviews Of:
Columbia Sportswear Modern Logger Pants - Waterproof, Recycled Materials (For Men)

Closeouts. With an Omni-Tech® waterproof breathable membrane and a fully seam-sealed construction, Columbia Sportswear's Modern Logger pants have a technical prowess second to none. Strategic venting allows for temperature control, and radial leg gussets and articulated knees provide unencumbered mobility.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews 3.727272 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rose from Oregon on Friday, September 25, 2015
    My daughter works for the Forest Service and spends most of her time in the forests. We bought these for her as most rain gear does not last long, gets ripped. She said these were very comfortable, does not constrict movement and kept her very dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 2nd Bass from Placerville, CA on Thursday, August 13, 2015
    Baggy and bulky; overkill for any weather I'm likely to encounter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gingi from CA on Wednesday, February 4, 2015
    Bought these for family member. He loves them, says they are very warm and likes the elastic around bottom when he's on his motorcycle.
  • Reviewed by AaronB from Portland, OR on Tuesday, November 12, 2013
    I grabbed a pair of these to help me (s)commute through the NW's winter rain...

    The Good:
    --Nice durable fabric keeps the wind out and I don't feel like I need to be careful around the kick-starter (tears).
    --The pants fit over my jeans but aren't too baggy.
    --Lots of fabric make up the gaiters so when I'm sitting on my Vespa and the pant legs ride up, my boots are still mostly protected.
    --pockets are easy enough for me to open when I'm wearing riding gloves or my snowboarding mittens so I can grab keys, etc.

    The Bad:
    --After two rides in moderate to heavy rain, my crotchal area still gets wet... Not "oh man, you totally wet your pants!" wet, but still... Cold and damp pants to start your day in the office is not cool.

    As much as I like these pants, I've got to go and rate them low. They were supposed to be waterproof and my pair simply is not.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Weekend adventurer from Seattle, WA on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    I got these to replace a REI pair of hiking pants because they were waterproof and advertise for hiking. After putting them on they are super warm already and you have to hike with the vents open all the time. I put these on and my thermal layer for snowshoeing and I was too hot. Granted the weather was nice on the mountain but still, I could have done it with just the logger pants in much colder weather. I wouldn't use these in the summer during a rainy hike unless for some reason I wanted to dehydrate myself quickly...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by panheadbo from cleveland ohio on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
    Postal carrier - these pants worked flawless in an all day rain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by snow shoer from Trinity Alps, CA on Wednesday, January 9, 2013
    These pants are great. Very durable, well built. I like the belt loops and front zip. They also have a velcro cinch at the sides to adjust the waist. There is extra tough fabric at the heel. The length is very long however. Probably 36". The extra length makes them extremely bulky. I chose to shorten the hem myself. Not an easy task with all the layers but it did make them much more functional.
  • Reviewed by Sid from Phx, AZ on Monday, December 31, 2012
    I bought these several years ago and just broke them out for sledding with the kids. I forget that they are not insulated but I was very warm while outside (15-30 degrees)even w/o thermals. I have enjoyed sitting around the fire with them also...warm and soft feeling agains the skin.
    They roll to the size of a pair of jean, and might be helpful for cold weather backpacking / hiking but not for summer months.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The City from San Francisco, CA on Monday, December 24, 2012
    I bought these pants for snowshoeing. I wanted something that had belt loops and fit more like regular pants and not ski pants. The fit was good, not too long or bulky in the legs. Belt loops are a nice touch so suspenders are not needed. The one big flaw was that the built in gaiters cannot be adjusted, so they are way too large for normal snow/hiking boots that you would wear while snowshoeing. Other pants have either velcro, snaps or even zippers to keep gaiters secure around your boot. These must be made primarily for large, snow boardings boots. Sadly, I had to return them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from Seattle, WA on Thursday, November 8, 2012
    These pants are wonderful! The fit is great and they are very comfortable - all the while breathable and waterproof.
    • Best Uses: Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2