Columbia Sportswear PFG Gale Warning Omni-Heat® Fleece Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. The thermal reflective lining and exterior nylon overlay of Columbia Sportswear's PFG Gale Warning Omni-Heat® fleece jacket trap body heat so you can stay out on the water longer.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by lifeseeker from chi on Thursday, January 02, 2014
    Keeps me warm and blocks out cold wind. its light weight, black, doesn't look all poofy. I wear a fleece with a flannel and undershirt in single digits and I'm all good. True to size 5'7" 155 size M. Great buy
  • Reviewed by dm from calif on Thursday, January 02, 2014
    would buy the product again
  • Reviewed by Karen from Colorado on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    Bought this for my son, however the coat was just too large. The bottom of the coat was a bit wide. Just didn't work for him.
  • Reviewed by Trout Stalker from Taos, NM on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    This jacket may have received a 5 star rating had I worn it more before receiving a request from STP to rate it. I normally wear a Medium, but the Large I purchased gives me plenty of layering room. The sleeves and shoulders are roomy allowing great range of motion. The inner lining is very warm without the weight or bulk of some of my others jackets (my Gortex shell offers little warmth). Also, the jacket loads pretty well into my fishing backpack if the weather turns foul.

    Finally, the weather here in Northern New Mexico is usually cold and dry during the winter, so the fact that it is not waterproof is not the factor here as in other parts of the country, though the outer layer is fairly tough This was a great buy on STP, having saved about 35%-40%.
  • Reviewed by Trout Stalker from Taos, NM on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    Well, we all have our reasons and expectations for purchasing fishing gear. This jacket, for me, was to provide warmth that would allow me to stay on the river longer in cold weather. I really wanted a size medium, but it was not available through STP, however, in retrospect the large I purchased is great when I'm already "layered". This jacket is my last line of defense against the elements, except when raining, it is not water proof.

    Here's what makes the jacket work for me, as mentioned above, the size large works great in cold weather with layers already in place. The Columbia jacket provides tremendous warmth without adding huge bulk and weight. It has very good range of movement in the shoulders for casting.

  • Reviewed by DanO from St. Louis on Monday, November 11, 2013
    Jacket is well made and the fit is good, The only complaint I can make is there is no lining in the pockets so my hands get cold. Overall a good jacket and can't beat the price.
  • Reviewed by Buywamic from Oregon on Monday, November 04, 2013
    I am a jacket-[...], so I speak from experience. This is not a run of the mill fleece.
    It is too warm for 50+ degrees.
    I can't wait for bitter steelhead weather with this.

    The front pockets are spacious but do not secure. The way the opening is angled and how deep they are makes a zipper needless.
    The chest pocket zips and easily holds phone/wallet/sm-med fly box.

    The upper material runs to mid back and seems bombproof.
    Since the lower is fleece, you wouldn't want to be in the rain with only this.
    I was surprised at the weight of the jacket and this is the reason I'm holding a star back for now,and the motion discussed below.
    Seems very durable but I haven't taken it fishing for a season yet.

    Sleeves are cuffed with straps. I have long arms but these accommodate and don't ride up.
    Good range of motion, but with the thickness and weight of material in the shoulders/arms it may be constricting for singlehanded casting all day. Haven't tried that yet though.

    Roomy for baselayers. I'm 6'1" 220 and the Xl is perfect.
    Length is good and depending on the length of your wading jacket, shouldn't hang under too much. It is part of the interchangeable system, but Columbia hasn't made a fishing jacket to pull me away from my G3.
    If this lives up to my expectations, it will be my winter go-to under my wading jacket.

  • Reviewed by BobbyG from Missouri on Sunday, October 13, 2013
    This was my first purchase of a Columbia product featuring the Omni-Heat technology but it won't be my last. I'm 6"-00" and 185' with an athletic build and purchased a medium which fits perfectly. So far, I've only had the opportunity to wear the jacket in non wet conditions, down into the mid thirties with only a cotton tee underneath and I've remained comfortably warm. The jacket's quality and the competitive price and quick shipping from Sierra Trading Post was first rate. I will be purchasing from this site again.
  • Reviewed by scubasteve from Cincinnati,OH Hell hole of the Midwest on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    Great looking jacket for the money. Hve had a chance to wear it yet because its still warm outside.
  • Reviewed by Pricetheory from Scranton on Saturday, June 15, 2013
    it is good for the price.
    but the real color is not like the ad.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.