Columbia Sportswear Powder Summit Omni-Heat® Beanie Hat (For Men)

Closeouts. Columbia Sportswear's Powder Summit beanie hat is a slim-profile design with soft-shell-inspired fabric and heat-reflecting Omni-Heat® technology.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Reviewed by Deer Guy from OH on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    Nice hat, but unless you are buying for a child, it won't fit. I tried a S/M which is what I usually wear and it was like a swim cap. Way too tight. Tried again with L/XL and it was still way too small. Had to send it back. Don't waste your time unless you are ordering for a child.
  • Reviewed by B.H.HAN from NJ on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    It is comfortable on the head
  • Reviewed by Joe cool ll from Wisconsin on Monday, May 27, 2013
    For an XL this is very small, it was disappointing.
  • Reviewed by gulfbreeze from FL on Friday, May 10, 2013
    I bought the L/XL size and when I first tried this on the hat was painfully tight.

    So why 4 stars?

    First, the snugness is mainly in the double layer of fleece that surrounds the bottom of the hat, covers your ears making them toasty warm, and provides an impermeable barrier to drafts. That fleece loosened up a bit after the first couple of wearings, one of which was sleeping in it on a night the furnace broke down. Yeah, it's still tight, but not "eyes bugging out of your head cartoon-style" tight, like it first was.

    Second, I figured out how to put it on correctly.. If you plop this on your noggin and pull it down like conventional beanies/watch caps, you'll shear your ears right off your head. Instead, you need to turn it inside out (invert it), center the top of the hat where you want it on your head, then roll sides of the hat down slowly over your skull, insuring that the hat is snug to your head as it rolls down.

    Third, the snug fit is there for a reason. Once you've got it down this thing is impervious to drafts, and you'll finally feel the benefits of a very lightweight, softshell material with breathable OmniHeat covering the crown of your head.

    Fourth, the Omni-Shield water repellent shell is far superior to most any beanie-style hat I've tried.

    This isn't the cap I'd grab for running around town when comfort is key and performance is secondary. But it is the cap I'd take for snow, wet and high altitude pursuits. It's called the "Powder Summit" for a reason, and in that regard, it's a great choice. I've got a stack of beanie-style hats, but at this point, the Powder Summit would be my first choice for a week-long trek in the mountains.

  • Reviewed by Katherine from NJ on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
    I bought it for my husband's dad. My husband tried it on, and he looked so funny. Perhaps due to his round face. I fits me better, though the size is XL. I have oval face.
  • Reviewed by Mr. fluffy from California's cement snow on Thursday, March 28, 2013
    bought this in a XL size, fit was tight. As mentioned,do not wear this alone...I think it was meant to be worn underneath a helmet or hat ,as a liner. 1star for fit and style with 5starts for omni heat.
  • Reviewed by CAPTAIN STUBING from CHICAGO on Thursday, March 28, 2013
    TOO SMALL FOR A MAN.
  • Reviewed by Drake from Princeton on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    Don't try wearing this without another hat over it or children will laugh at you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cappnormal from Minnesota on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    Perhaps its because I'm not used to wearing this style of hat but it seems tight. It's definitely warm. I think I'll get used to it. Bought it for wearing under a hood or some type of other winter protection.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Willie from LI from Commack, NY on Monday, February 11, 2013
    This might be useful if it fit. My hat size is 7 3/8 and an XL wasn't close to fitting.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.