Columbia Sportswear Transit Zone Omni-Tech® Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. With the Columbia Sportswear Transit Zone jacket you get highly technical weather protection in a length that covers suits and sports coats for a polished look. It combines sleek, refined style with the modern performance of an Omni-Tech® waterproof breathable membrane and Omni-Heat® thermal reflective technology that delivers generous warmth without the bulky insulation.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
  • Reviewed by The Omen from PDX on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    This is a very well made jacket. I read about peoples issues with the sleeves and bought a 2x. I'm 5'10" and 200 lbs and it fits fine. I have a fairly large chest and big arms and there are no issues with fit for me. I like the long length and the clean cut and style. My only complaint is that the front zipper would have been great if it was a two way zipper allowing the bottom to be zipped up a little bit when driving or sitting in a low chair as the front tends to puff up a little bit. I'm not going to vote it down for that because I was aware of that before I bought it. Got a fantastic deal from STP.
  • Reviewed by Rich from Sacramento on Friday, March 14, 2014
    Good product. Seems to be well made and provides the rain protect I wanted without the bulk and hood on other products.
  • Reviewed by No jacket Jack from Colorado on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    The jacket had a very, very, very tight fit
  • Reviewed by CapeCodMom from Cape Cod on Friday, January 31, 2014
    This jacket fit the bill in almost every way. It just doesn't fit my husband (or a few other reviewers). He's not a very muscular guy, just sort of average shaped. Once he put this jacket on he literally could not raise his arms because the armholes were so small. Everything else about it is very high quality. It seems to be well-made, durable and stylish. We both wanted it to fit! But it's going back. If you have thin arms/shoulders this could be a terrific jacket.
  • Reviewed by G Joseph from South Bend on Friday, December 27, 2013
    If you are tall and thin, this coat may work well.
  • Reviewed by Dave from Seattle on Thursday, November 28, 2013
    I wanted to like this one and had read the reviews about the somewhat odd fit. I'm just adding my confirmation that the fit is odd. I'm between medium and small, meaning sometimes the small fits best and sometimes the medium. Normally one or the other fits great. This particular garment was neither. The form used to size this one must have been based on a member of the ape family. The armpits are small and the sleeves are extremely long.

    Apart from the fit, I would have preferred a two-way zipper that opens from top or bottom. Given the long length of this coat, there's no option for opening the bottom a little.

    Otherwise, i think this would have been a great coat.
  • Reviewed by Lee Loves The Mountains from Idaho on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    I must admit that when Columbia bought Mountain Hardware, I was a little concerned. I have always been a fan of Columbia but let's face it, they are not Mountain Hardware. If MH is a 10, Columbia is a 7. I felt either MH's quality would dip or Columbia's would improve. The Transit Zone jacket confirms the latter. It has an excellent fit but it is truly designed for trimmer, more fit folks. This jacket provides excellent warmth and superior wet weather protection in an oh so lite weight package. I am a runner, backpacker, and a skier and although this jacket is stylish enough to fit into in corporate setting, I will be using it on the trails and slopes. I would buy this again in a heartbeat, no question.
  • Reviewed by deuce from LA on Friday, August 2, 2013
    Extremely pleased
  • Reviewed by Gingerman from RVA on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    I was looking for a lighter winter coat to go over my suit and this is it. Wool overcoats and Barbour jackets are just too thick to be comfortable in our mild Virginia winters so I hope someone at Goodwill gets to enjoy mine. Fit is good but I get what some other reviewers have said about the sleeves. They are long but an overcoat is supposed to make sure that your suit does not get wet. I don't think there is a chance of that with the sleeves on this jacket. Columbia is not a brand I would normally buy because they use proprietary technologies (aka: snake oil) instead of standards like Gore-tex and Polartec but this jacket is well make and generally well thought out. The Omniheat impressed me this morning on the way to the gym when I wore this jacket over a MH long sleeve baselayer and was plenty warm in 30F. Also had it in a 60F rain and it was still comfortable, not too hot and shed water with the best of them. We will see once the DWR wears off. One item is that the Omniheat layer, which is made of aluminum, lines the pockets and I am not going to risk putting nice sunglasses in there. Would love to learn the easy way whether that will scratch the lens. It should also have an interior pocket but no big deal.
    Overall, a solid, well made and well finished coat that works great with business wear. Got it for less but worth every bit of $250 in my opinion.
  • Reviewed by leer from new york city on Sunday, December 23, 2012
    I bought this to wear to/from work. Other reviews cautioned that fit of jacket is unique and I agree. It is a tapered/athletic fit and the arms are somewhat long. If that describes you, it's a great jacket.
    Been caught in the rain already and the jacket kept me dry. It kept me warm on a 35 degree day, though any lower and the coat would require layering.
    The lightweight design makes ideal to wear to/from work on the train and it looks great as well.
    It's a waterproof soft shell jacket with the design meant to wear to work. A great combination.
    Now my go-to favorite
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.