Columbia Sportswear Woolly Mammoth Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Columbia Sportswear's Woolly Mammoth jacket is a blend of nylon and wool that insulates, wicks moisture and dries quickly, so you can sport it out to dinner and then on a hike the next day.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
  • Reviewed by JustaGuy from Santa Fe, NM on Wednesday, January 9, 2013
    The Wooly Mammoth is a very versatile piece that features a lightweight 50/50 wool/poly blend, a soft hand with a brushed wicking interior, an OmniWick finish, zipper-less hand pockets, a chest pocket, a nice collar and no hem cords or elastic wrist cuffs. It can be worn in mild or cooler weather if you're hiking a slope or working because it wicks so well, or as a light mid under a shell. I'm tempted to say you could wear it as a base layer, but the wool might throw you. Great over base layer and under heavy mid in cold conditions. This also fits the bill in warmer weather on its own and has kept me from spending more money on one of those light soft shells that are all the rage. I think this is better: the wool insulates and it compliments any kind of poly or wool bottoms if you're into sets. (I wear it with SportHill Nomad bottoms when running.) It also works as well as my much more expensive midweight merino tops. My only rap, other than the boxy cut around the middle (I'm 6'1" 170 and find the medium fits pretty well, but I'm usually a large) is that it's not stretchy. They could've substituted 10% lycra for some of the poly, but that's nitpickin'. Oh, it also has weird hand pocket mesh liners (they're cut small and extend about halfway up the pocket) but I tuned it inside out and opened the side panel and they fit perfectly. Not sure why they call it "Mammoth"- it's definitely not a Woolrich piece or heavy boiled wool, but it's a winner!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cansnowplow from Canadian border /VT on Tuesday, October 9, 2012
    The chest and arms appear to fit me nicely. However, the stomach area appears to be designed for someone chubby. This shirt does not have a nice tappered waist.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Outdoor Activities, Wet Or Sweaty Conditions
    • Cons: 2 Of 3 Pockets Not Zipper, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by perbecc from West Lafayette, IN on Friday, December 9, 2011
    Sent back b/c it was too boxy and short for my husband who has a more athletic build.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Cons: Boxy shape arms too wide
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from Philly from Philadelphia, PA on Wednesday, December 7, 2011
    Based on the description, I was expecting something more sweater-like and a little thicker. The color is great (I got the pewter) but the fabric is thin and feels a little flimsy. The pockets and zippers make it not so great for a layer for running in cold weather though. The jacket also runs big. I wear a size 41 suit and I ordered the large. I feel like I'm swimming in it.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Cons: Feels flimsy
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Lightweight, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dolsey from Boston, MA on Friday, November 18, 2011
    After reading the reviews, I had an idea what to expect but after wearing this thin jacket, I found it to be warmer than expected. It's just a thin nylon outer layer with a thin wool inner layer, looks like a track/warmup jacket. Good for days down to lower 50's or so. For what I paid for it, I actually like it allot.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wlado from Doral. on Tuesday, November 15, 2011
    Very comfortable and warm clothing. I recommend
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by timyusuf from turkey on Tuesday, April 5, 2011
    i love it.. i wanna buy again...
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from SoCal on Sunday, January 30, 2011
    I bought this to use as a liner under a leather motorcycle jacket - wind & waterproof did not matter. What I was looking for was a non-bulky layer for some warmth - it works fine for that. I might wear it with a shell for hiking on a coolish day, but not a cold day.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: motorcycling
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bobo the stump-jumper from Chico, California on Friday, January 21, 2011
    This jacket looks good, feels good, wears well, altho this is not to be worn in COLD or WINDY climate. This is a good fair weather cover for mild climate. Not wind or water resistant.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not Warm, Not Waterproof, Not Windproof
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ultramax from tacoma wa on Friday, January 14, 2011
    Tried it on and put it back in the box. If you're a heavy weight with short arms, it would probably be an ok light jacket.
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.