• Cortland Reviews

Cortland fly fishing gear is designed to meet demands from anglers of every stripe. From catching brook trout in small spring creeks to game fish in open saltwater, Cortland fishing tackle is the premium choice for discerning fishermen. Whether you are fishing for cold-water trout, saltwater game fish or warm-water bass, Cortland has fly line, fly rods and fishing reels that help you land more fish. Fly anglers of all skill levels know Cortland fly lines, fly rods and fly reels are designed to make every fishing trip successful and fun. Cortland fly fishing tackle has been among the world’s ... Learn more about Cortland best for over 80 years; when you choose Cortland fly lines, rods and reels you are assured of products that draw upon those many years of experience. A passion for fly fishing dominates Cortland’s approach to gear design, sales and conservation of the natural resources upon which all fishermen depend, and that makes all the difference. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 22
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shadmaster from Bay area on Thursday, October 29, 2015
    who can cast this product! All I can do is cut off the 625 grains and add my own castable sink tip. Or I could
    just throw it away!

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Au Sable Trout Bum from Michigan on Saturday, April 4, 2015
    Sink tip but doesn't land on the water like an anchor chain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Au Sable Trout Bum from Michigan on Saturday, April 4, 2015
    I've not used this and won't for another month but my previous line of this model was excellent. Not top notch durability but expect 3 seasons of moderate use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kyle the Fisherman from Toledo, OH on Thursday, April 2, 2015
    Feels great and provides the perfect 4-weight for a beginner or expert looking for a versatile rod. I would set this outfit up with a 5-weight reel and line because it is on the stiffer side of a 4-weight but quite frankly I love it.
  • Reviewed by Reno Dan from Reno Nv on Sunday, March 22, 2015
    If you are looking for a fast action flyrod...steer clear of this one. I had snapped my Albright and Sierra trading post did not have any in (unfortunately). I usually fish 4 wt rods with my Galvan reel and have landed some really nice fish on the Truckee. The Cortland is so slow on response compared to the Albright and it feels like it has NO backbone comparatively. Ive caught some chunky browns and bows on my old rod. Fished this rod the last couple days on stockers, super slow action, unresponsive, and no backbone is how id describe this rod. 5wt might be better but I only use 4wts because i like goin light, fighting big fish. Steer clear of this rod if you like fast action rods and are not a novice. Just my 2cents. You have been for warned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Barry from SLC on Thursday, February 26, 2015
    A nice light rod for small streams.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Caltroutguy from California on Tuesday, February 3, 2015
    After doing some online research I added a Cortland Brook Series 8'6" 4 wt to my growing collection of fly rods. Sierra Trading Post had a great sale that couldn't be beat! The rod arrived just a few days later and the first time I cast with it I was amazed at how much "feel" it had compared to my other rods. The rod loaded very well and cast the line straight and true. The presentation was softer than any of my rods, even my old 4 wt. Its also quite light and feels very nice in the hand. I rated it only four stars because of three reasons: 1) the alignment dots on my rod are a little off, especially on the butt section Not a big deal for me, but it might be for others. 2) It comes with a nice cordura rod/reel case, but not with a separate rod sock. The case has built in separate cloth sleeves for the rod sections. This didn't bother me, but again it might be a negative for others. 3) Although I fished with it a couple of days ago, I didn't hook anything (my fault, not the rod's!) so I can't say how it handles fish. Other than that its a winner! I liked it so much I ordered the 5 wt to replace my current 5 wt TFO rod!
  • Reviewed by iamamultitasker from California on Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    I've read some nice things about these Pro-cast rods and wasn't disappointed. For a 4wt, the rod is a little on the stiffer side possibly closer to a 5wt, but it casts great and a benefit is that it will be able to chuck a heavier rig and won't take forever to land big fish. Just to be clear, the rod is light just that the taper is a bit on the heavy side for a 4wt.

    I haven't fished it yet, but can't see any problems.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MW from Florida on Wednesday, January 21, 2015
    The Cortland Brook and Big Sky series might be the most under rated rods out there. It's a shame they've discontinued them. But its also GOOD for us because they are being blown out at ridiculous bargains. I would rate this rod as more on the fast side of Med-Fast. Beautifully made and appointed. Crisp action with great feel. Highly recommended especially with STP's frequent and generous sales and coupons.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rewader from CA on Friday, December 5, 2014
    The line must have been stored improperly (not necessarily by Sierra Trading Post) as the backing end of the line is discolored and possibly stiffened. I will try it in the park before deciding whether to return it, so it may still be functionally worth it.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 22
;