Crown by Born Gilmore Boots - Leather (For Women)

Closeouts. Unique lacing detail and two-tone texture on the brushed leather upper elevates Crown by Born's Gilmore boots to a new stratosphere of style.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-20 of 20 reviews
  • Reviewed by NC Mom from North Carolina on Friday, February 28, 2014
    I love these boots. Put them on and wore them all day. Very comfortable. Couple of problems though.. They were a little long as other reviews stated. I went ahead and ordered my regular size as I am a 10 and my feet are a little on the wide side. Had about an inch in the toe but as it is a narrow toe I don't think the smaller size would work for me. After wearing them all day they had stretched and were a little loose feeling all over. Hope I didn't make a mistake with not ordering down. Another thing... the sole of this boot is narrow and with my wide feet it felt like my inner arch on one foot was over hanging the boot and had no support. Felt weird at first but I liked the look of these boots so much that I decided to give it a try and wear them. I guess I adjusted because they felt fine after a little while. I would have given these boots 5 stars but they aren't perfect.
  • Reviewed by Emma from Iowa on Thursday, January 02, 2014
    I agree with the other reviewers, the material does not feel like real leather, much thinner like cloth. The fit was tight in the calf, which is a problem for me as I have bigger calves, but wide in the foot as I have narrower feet. Also, the textured leather is VERY pronounced, and to me distracts from the overall look of the boot. I ended up returning these because they really didn't look like I expected. However, if the poor material quality wouldn't bother you, it seems like they would be comfortable boots and would loosen to fit better over time.
  • Reviewed by VTGrrl from Vermont on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    I was glad to have read the reviews regarding these boots. The leather material is indeed more cloth-like than traditional leather boots. The fit is definitely narrow, which is not a problem for me since I do have narrower feet. I ordered down 1/2 a size to the 9 1/2 which work very well for me. I work in retail on my feet all day, and these were pretty comfortable for 8 hours, right out of the box. Very satisfied.
  • Reviewed by meredith from california on Monday, November 25, 2013
    These are a greaaat pair of boots. The leather has a worn look to it which I love, it gives it a vintage not so polished feel. The boots fit beautiful and are true to size. They're a great pair of boots to walk around in all day and they go with so many outfits!
  • Reviewed by Costume Shop Manager from New PAltz on Friday, April 19, 2013
    These boots may have a strange looking surface but the fit was phenomenal (Born!!) and every time I wear them I get compliments!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rybro from Lafayette, CA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    These are really lovely boots and quite stylish- I really wanted to keep them but the toe box is awfully narrow. And I say this as someone with narrow feet to begin with. A half size up might have made all the difference (I took advice on reviews and ordered down) but then again the width of toe box would likely be same. And sometimes just can't be bothered with whole return and re-order process.

    The leather is nice quality and exactly what I was looking for style wise- really wanted to keep them but uncomfortably tight.

    I marked as would recommend because if you have the right foot (very narrow) these will likely be a nice fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by good shopper from Memphis, TN on Thursday, January 17, 2013
    Great boot from the first time I put them on! Very comfortable and works well with my casual lifestyle. Have worn with jeans or skirts. They do have a retro distressed look which not everyone will like. I think it makes them unique.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dengirl from Denver CO on Monday, December 03, 2012
    These are cute, but as a long time born shoe person, the fit was off on these - the 8's ran almost 1.5 inches longer than normal. Returned for a 7.5 and those work much better.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Active shopper from Portland, OR on Monday, November 12, 2012
    I was looking forward to getting these boots and was really disappointed with them. It said they were made of leather, but I could not tell what fabric the boots were made of. They seemed more like felt. They fid not seem durable at all. They were very uncomfortable too! Would not recommend at all!
    • Cons: Poor FIt, Poor Quality, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Reviewed by grianne from Charlottesville, Va on Sunday, November 04, 2012
    I would describe my style as vintage Eddie Bauer/ Renaissance. I loved the fit and feel, but the Textured Brown was a little too mottled-looking for me ( I like distressed!) Footbed ran very long, I am a true 7.5, and the 7 was about 1/2" too long for me, am considering going down to 6.5 despite the color because they are so beautiful and comfortable otherwise!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Stylish
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Cushioning, Sexy, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels full size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karolina from New York on Friday, October 26, 2012
    The boots are exactly what i expected and even more. They fit perfect and they are very comfortable. Great deal for that price. Oh, and it shipped right away.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Christina from Philadelphia, PA on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
    I returned the boots. The fabric upper of the boot is very soft, but it felt too thin and not likely to last the winter. If I worked in an office and spent most of my time wearing the boot in doors, I might have kept them. The antique look of the leather is much cuter in the picture. In person it looked cheap.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Not Durable Wears Easily, Poor Quality, Thin Fabric, Wear Out Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Stylish
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom of 2 teenage girls from Portland on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
    Great service and the boots are better than expected. Born comfort with great style.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Cushioning, Stable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sholly from Asheville, NC on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    Love these boots..... What you see is what you get, and I couldn't have ordered a better boot. Plenty of uses, ultra classic look.... Very happy about his purchase! I will wear these for many years to come.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Date Night, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Style, Comfort-oriented, Fun, Retro, Saavy, Tomboy
    • Pros: Classic Style, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Sexy, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Just June from Richmond, VA on Sunday, September 16, 2012
    I love these boots! They remind me of some kind of boot worn in WWII...an odd description, I know, but there are super-cool. Great calf fit and almost to the knee. The leather is very distressed, but super soft. I would say they are true to size, but maybe a bit narrow. I have rather normal to narrow-sized feet and the do feel like there is no wiggle-room. I will definitely have to wear with a thin tight or thin sock with these boots. I bought them at 30% off and free shipping, so it was really hard to pass the deal, and I am quite happy with them. I had tried the Frye boot sold at this site that was sort of similar, but they were definitely too tight in the calf area.
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Stylish
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by skier girl from cleveland, ohio on Friday, August 17, 2012
    love these boots! they pre-worn leather makes me wonder how they will hold up but they are comfy and different...so worth a shot!
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gardener from Redmond, WA on Saturday, August 11, 2012
    I usually wear a 9, but have returned them in exchange for an 8 1/2. They were not overall large, but, oddly, only very long. I'm hoping the 8 1/2 will not be too narrow. That said, these are an unusual and very attractive boot.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night, Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Stylish
    • Pros: Sexy, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Downton Abby from Glen Allen VA on Monday, May 21, 2012
    I'll wear these a lot, Fall through Spring with vintage dresses and jeans.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Date Night, Going Out, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Stylish
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Cushioning, Stable, Stylish, Very cool Edwardian look, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by H.W. from Santa Fe, NM on Wednesday, April 18, 2012
    Wonderful and comfortable! These boots are, however, constructed of a VERY distressed sort of leather that really is more like suede. My ONLY worry about the boots is that given the distressed look and resulting thin feel of the leather, I worry they aren't as durable as a top-grain leather boot. But then, suede never is as durable.
    They do sometimes feel a bit narrow, but I have feet that are starting to show signs of bunions. SO I guess if you have bunions, these might chafe a bit.
    All in all, beautiful, true to size boot.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Cushioning, Sexy, Stable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Robin from Denver, CO on Saturday, March 10, 2012
    love the stitch detail & front tie; classic Born comfort
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Date Night, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Stylish
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Stable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-20 of 20 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.