DaKine Over Under Rolling Suitcase - 49L

Closeouts. DaKine's Over-Under rolling suitcase features a split-level design with a large expandable main compartment, allowing you to pack all the stuff you need and access it with ease.

Average Rating based on 32 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 32 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PJ from Utah on Thursday, August 21, 2014
    This suitcase is perfect for my needs. It will fit in the overhead bin but is large enough to pack for longer trips. It is a beautiful piece of luggage. Very happy with my purchase and the price is right. Did much research before buying and could not be happier.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Band Mom from NC on Tuesday, August 12, 2014
    Large attractive carry-on. Good weight fabric, sturdy zippers and wheels, feels solid. Lots of space, good pockets, like the split level design. Much larger than our other wheeled carry-ons (that we do not use because they are so small and can't fit anything). Specs say it meets airline carry-on standards, hope they are correct. A previous reviewer had mentioned these Dakine bags are not waterproof - you can always spray with water repellant if that is a concern.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bella from Washington on Wednesday, August 06, 2014
    My daughter told me about these DaKine suitcases & I am so happy she did. There is nothing like them...I am looking forward to my next trip using it. Can't beat the price or the workmanship !
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jameson from Seattle on Monday, August 04, 2014
    This is exactly what I needed to go on many 2-4 day trips as of recently. It carries a couple pairs of shoes, toiletries, and enough clothes for me to be gone for 4 days with ease. Actually if one packed sensibly you could probably go for a week or more out of this bag. The split design is great for a little bit of packing organization too.

    I have not expanded it yet because I've been using this bag primarily as a carry on roller. It will not fit in a overhead if you expand it. It will fit just fine in the bins on the 737's that I've traveled on recently as long as it's not expanded. It will definitely get gate checked on the smaller regional planes but hey, at least you know your bag made it to the plane! It's built tough in true Dakine fashion and looks great too. I think this roller will have countless miles on it before I have to retire it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by World Traveler from Laguna Niguel on Monday, June 30, 2014
    Perfect size, affordable and stylish! We bought this for our college aged daughter, and I had to get one of my own!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by on mission from south carolina on Monday, June 16, 2014
    glad to find this case still available!! my first one has traveled all over the world through all kinds of first and third world adventures.

    after about 8 years its still going strong, except, i had to let someone borrow it and I'm getting ready for another trip.

    it is the largest carry on that i know of, and have never been stopped to check it.

    on return trips i often expand it to make room for treasures picked up on the journey. at that point i usually check it.

  • Reviewed by TrialSize from NY on Friday, May 09, 2014
    My job requires me to travel abroad several times a year and I needed something durable and carry on (hate waiting for bags). A friend had a similar bag in a larger version and really liked it so I went for it.

    Pro- If you do have to check your bag, you can definitely find it in the luggage check.
    - the dual compartments make it really easy to organize. It also allows you to sandwich more delicate items between the two compartments
    - the luggage is really durable, the outer fabric still doesn't show any wear after a ton of miles.

    Con- the telescope handle feels flimsy. It's never failed on me and doesn't look like it will, but I'm always careful when I expand it
    - outer fabric is not waterproof/resistant (Ok, this is really *my* issue I never checked before I bought). This may not be an issue for some and I didn't think it was for me until I had to check my bag in Frankfurt. In the rain they were loading the bags and I thought nothing of it until I got my bag and realized that the bag got wet almost damaging Christmas gifts. Once again, my issue, but if you have any important papers, etc and if there is even the slightest chance you might have to check in (and they might load in the rain), just wrap your items up.

    I would buy this bag again and I hope in the future they provide a stronger telescoping handle.
  • Reviewed by traveler 06 from Colorado on Friday, March 21, 2014
    Love the split level design, however the main luggage compartment was way to small for my needs. I would prefer it if the expandable portion was a part of the main luggage compartment rather than the top.
  • Reviewed by 3Leons from Pacific Northwest, WA on Sunday, February 09, 2014
    This case is great! Because of the soft side - it squishes in better than more rigid styles. Bonus, this little case holds a LOT! I used the Eagle Creek Packits to really stuff this and keep things organized. We also got the matching Valet Shoulder bag and small Split Roller Suitcase (which holds a ton) - all in the Highland plaid. It looks even better than the pictures and we got many compliments with this set! You will see your stuff first - no one else had this pattern :)
  • Reviewed by Jessi-Liz from Denver on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    Great size, great quality, great price. Super happy with our purchase.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 32 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.