DaKine Split Roller Suitcase - Large

Closeouts. When it's time to split for a little extended travel, DaKine's Split Roller suitcase is just what you need to transport your clothes and gear. Thanks to a wheeled design and split-level construction, this suitcase travels smooth and allows easy access to all contents.

Average Rating based on 45 reviews 4.622222 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5
  • 1-10 of 45 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NE Surfer from MA on Wednesday, July 1, 2015
    easy to pack... durable... compresses well... fits tons of stuff!!

    this is the second one I have purchased, family of 2 adults and 3 children packs all our gear in two of these for a vacation!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tomdabom from California on Monday, June 29, 2015
    Once again, this was a really nice bag and well worth the money. Did not give it a 5-star as it does not have the feel and quality of the higher-end bags. Not sure how well this would hold up to heavy duty use or travel, but most folks don't need that and this is quite adequate for general use. The fabric, color and overall design was quite attractive and served our purposes well... a three month stay abroad, so a lot had to be packed. Took this and another Dakine bag and everything fit will and was convenient for travel. Well worth the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aloha Darrell from Seattle, Washington on Wednesday, June 17, 2015
    Have only taken this bag on one trip so far - to Hawaii - but it sure packed away everything I needed with room to spare. After four different flights, the bag seems no worse for the wear and tear the airlines could throw at it. I especially like the height of the handle since I am a taller guy - and the wheels seem to have held up really well across sidewalks, parking lots, curbs, and cracks. I really appreciate all the handles around the bag - makes loading and handling a lot easier. The two straps around the entire bag add a sense of security that I appreciate. Pound for pound and dollar for dollar this is a great bag - I even just bought another one for our upcoming trips.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shawn John Mexico from Spokane on Wednesday, May 27, 2015
    Happy with everything thus far. The deal was top notch, shipping fast, Dakine really nicely made luggage. Homerun so far! We need to use it in order to find out durability but what a great deal by Sierra Trading Post!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from [...] on Saturday, May 23, 2015
    Bought this bag for a trip overseas.. plenty of room for a 3 month tour in Africa. I like the zippered sections to keep everything nice and organized.. time will tell how durable the bag is, but first impressions are that it is very sturdy..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J.C. Smith from Maryland on Thursday, October 23, 2014
    This rolling duffle goes right up to the dimensional limits that an airline will allow before they start charging extra for a checked bag. It's a monster that holds a ton of stuff. The wheels are very durable, and survived two weeks of frequent dragging across Italian cobbles and broken pavement. An especially nice feature is that the top an bottom halves are covered with zippered mesh, so you can organize stuff within the larger space. One half has a hard shell, so you can pack fragile things there. The bag is a big floppy when not full, but it's really not a problem.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Camp Trunk from Alpharetta, GA on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    We ordered this bag for camp for my daughter - the rolling feature is a lifesaver! We love all the compartments and it held all of her stuff for a week of camp perfectly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Huncamunca the Tumbler from Texas on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
    This back has lots of pockets and compartments. Was able to fit in a semester's worth of laundry, a skateboard, helmet and 40 pounds of electronics. Definitely not a carry-on, but if you need to check in a bag this was is really good. No problems with zippers etc., but have only used it once so far.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WyoWRiter from Wyoming on Monday, June 16, 2014
    The organization in this bag was wonderful - but once I got it packed it would have cost me in overweight bag fees, so sadly, it's going back. I didn't even measure it - but I'm almost sure that the dimensions of a full bag would also exceed the airlines' shrinking rules.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by vt gal from VT on Thursday, June 5, 2014
    I went on several websites and read reviews of this bag and similar ones. They all claimed to be well-made and had lots of features but the prices was what sold me in the end. I have another dakine bag -- double padded ski bag on wheels and it is made very well.

    The four star rating is due to the fact that I haven't used the bag yet to be able to rate its performance or durability. Like my other Dakine this bag seems well made and I particularly liked it because of the split space that allows items such as snorkel fins or heavy ski stuff to have a separate space on the bottom to keep things organized. The top section I hadn't realized is separated into three individual spaces and since I use pack-it bags and envelopes that should work well. There are two exterior pockets but I am not sure how much I will use those as I always feel it is too easy for airport staff to take things from those.

    I also liked the pattern choices and went with the striped Juno so that it will stand out on the luggage carrousel. Colors are more muted than I expected but perhaps that will help hide dirt.

    Previous bag I used was from Orvis - last time I will spend hundreds of dollars on a piece of luggage that really shows wear after 4 uses.

    I did wish that Sierra would have included more product details - I had to look on other sites for some of what I wanted to know. In particular there is no mention of the specific material it is made from, which is really critical in how well the bag will hold up. But as I said, I paid less than $90 for a $200 rolling duffel so I will be happy if I can get a few years out of this bag. They also called the bag a large but it is actually 32 inches long which most other sites consider extra large. I had assumed it was a 30inch as a result. Bottom line -- the bag is big.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5
  • 1-10 of 45 reviews