DaKine Rolling Duffel Bag - Large

Closeouts. Go large on your next world tour with the DaKine rolling duffel bag. Zip end pockets and a U-shaped opening provide easy and quick access to your gear, and the durable wheels make navigating airports a breeze.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-14 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KTMN from Minnepolis on Friday, October 31, 2014
    I am surprised at how much will fit in this bag and yet it is lighter than others I own that are smaller. Features that may be a plus, may be a minus for you: there is no shoulder strap (maybe kind of big for that anyway); there are no little side pockets for small items like chargers or the like. The end pockets impinge a bit into the internal space, but less than other similar bags I have owned. The handle and rollers are sturdy and it will stand up on its own if you have the bottom pocket filled. I would definitely get another if I thought I needed one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by markus from montana on Thursday, October 23, 2014
    Great side pockets and perfect size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by markus from montana on Thursday, October 23, 2014
    Great side pockets and perfect size
  • Reviewed by KTMN from Minneapolis on Tuesday, October 21, 2014
    I can't rate it a 5 yet since I haven't put it to the test, but I suspect it will be. It seems lighter than a slightly smaller rolling duffel I already own. It is really simple and clean in design, with large side pockets and what I hope is a durable wheel/handle system. There are no accessory pockets on the outside and no shoulder strap - just FYI.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fix It Mom from California on Wednesday, August 27, 2014
    I got this after purchasing a similar product at a local store. It fell apart after 2 uses. I have not used this yet, and to be honest, hate to as it's just too nicely made. However, it is very sturdy, the wheels look solid, and the bag has support, so while rolling down through the airport, it won't have the insides fall to the bottom, causing the fabric to drag on the ground (like the one now in the trash). The size is good. Another thing, with that other bag, it was so big, that there was no way one could fill it up and have it be less than 50 lbs (unless filled with popcorn or pillows). This size looks like it will accommodate the right amount of clothes in terms of quantity, volume, and weight. I will update my review once I've used this on a plane. I got the print, and it's really nice.
  • Reviewed by pa-beans from PA on Thursday, March 6, 2014
    We usually drive for ski trips, but this time we flew. We bought two bags, one for each child. Each bag held junior-size snow boots, ski boots, helmet, jacket&pants, long underwear, gloves, all their clothes, toiletries, and anything else they brought for a week of skiing. Even crammed in one adult ski boot in each bag. So the size was good. The bag weighs about 9 lbs, but even so, we didn't go over the weight limit.

    It rolls easily and quiety. The striped pattern is easily identifiable at the luggage carousel. The bag stands up on end without a problem. The zippers worked pretty easily. I wish the straps were an inch or so longer -- when fully packed, you have to pull hard to close the velcro around the straps.

    We've used the bags for just one trip, so I can't comment on durability. But having wheels was much easier than our old duffels, which do not. Not sure if we'll like the wheels as much when we're driving and not flying.
  • Reviewed by cloudsrest from NH on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    No doubt this bag is an excellent deal. Good quality at a good price.
    I have a problem with it though. Had I known , I would not have bought it (too expensive to return). This is a large duffel at 30 in. long. I expected to have this length for storage of items like trekking poles, tent, etc. Not so, the pockets at each end do not open from the inside and therefore take up valuable length need for storage of longer items. Even if one end storage compartment could open to the inside or wasn't there, this bag would be far more usable for the type of travel my wife and I do.
    Also, I will not be able to fit my backpack in it for travel backpacking trips. This is a big deal for us.
    I do not recommend this duffel if it is to be used for travel involving camping, hiking, backpacking.
  • Reviewed by Xavier from Australia on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    Weighing 7.5 pounds before putting anything in, I found this bag to be a bit of a challenge when travelling long distances. Also found the middle compartment to have less volume than I anticipated.

    None of the above are design flaws of the bag however, so I won't mark down the score just because it didn't suit certain scenarios. I will however list down the scenarios you would NOT use this for:

    - If you're a hoarder of souvenirs, this is not the right bag for you. I found lengthy items were a challenge to fit into this bag.
    - If you wear clothes that don't compress, this bag is not for you
    - If you are travelling in a less intrepid manner (i.e going to new york for shopping), this bag is not for you. The empty weight of it alone will stop you from considering shopping.


    So basically this bag is perfect for various scenarios - domestic ski trips, short holiday trips, backpacking. The material is extremely durable and waterproof.
  • Reviewed by Michelle from Kansas on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    I like to get my 50 pounds worth out of checked baggage. This bag allows me that opportunity. I stuffed it full and checked it with 46 lbs, and 48 lbs on our last trip. Great size and very sturdy.
  • Reviewed by Cindy in GA from Georgia on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    I bought this bag a year ago and have travelled with it through the airport three times. It meets airport regulations as far as size, and it seems to pack much more than a regular suitcase. Plus it has three compartments, two smaller ones on either end, so you can separate items if necessary (shoes, etc.). It is well constructed & attractive as well. I love my bag, would buy another one. As a matter of fact, my husband plans to get one as well.
  • Reviewed by Amy from TN on Monday, April 15, 2013
    This was a fantastic buy - loved it so much that I wanted to keep it myself, but alas it was a gift. Good quality and stylish!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Troy the golfer from Elko NV on Saturday, April 14, 2012
    this is a gift for high school gradualtion. I think it will be perfect to take to college and collapsable to help with storage
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jackhel from Arizona on Tuesday, April 10, 2012
    Haven't used bag yet, but seems to be well constructed & roomy enough for a trip of almost 2 months, combo camping/hotel, without exceeding airline baggage limit. We'll see, but looks promising. Also, nice looking. Plaid detailing should make it easy to identify on luggage carousel, yet still looks classy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LesAnne from Campbell, CA on Thursday, February 23, 2012
    DaKine Quality in a stylish Duffel. Large enough for a Grand Adventure! Easy to Wheel, and easy to find on the luggage carousel!
    • Best Uses: Adventures, Exploring, Worldwide
    • Pros: Easy, Efficient, Quality, Roomy, Stylish
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-14 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.