Dale of Norway Ibsen Pullover Sweater (For Men)

Closeouts. A tribute to Norway's famous author, Henrik Ibsen, this Dale of Norway sweater is a consummate piece of Nordic textile art, with reindeer-embroidered emblems on the sleeves and traditional pewter clasps and buttons.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dealhunter from washington, dc on Saturday, February 2, 2013
    Handsome modern sweater. Styling is toned down compared to many of Dale's patterns. The heft of the wool is *slightly* lighter "gauge" than my old Dales, but *quite* beefed up around the collar and sleeve ends, with sturdy lining.Certainly excellent quality though. Drawstring waist is a nice touch. Quite happy with the purchase. I've a 38" chest, and picked up the small (which is supposed to go up to 36" chest). The fit is traditional, and I prefer a more modern (slimmer) fit. Given that my old Dales are medium (which fits 38" thru 40"), and I now consider them too loose to be fashionable, I shot for the smaller size this time around, and I'm quite pleased, albeit the sleeves are indeed a touch short this way.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Darron the runner from Chicago, IL on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    Very stylish sweater and I get tons of compliments
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chic from Kettle Falls, WA on Friday, October 26, 2012
    I am really happy with the quality of this product. I was pretty sure that it would have some flaw or not be the proper size that it claimed. I feel like I received a killer deal on a product that I normally would not have bought due to the full price I would have had to pay without the great rebates from Sierra Trading post. The reviews that others wrote in really helped. All I can add is that I am 5'11,175lbs and a size large with an athletic build and this sweater just fits. If you are any taller or heavier definitly go to xl.
    • Best Uses: Formal Events, Going Out, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Catfish from Marion,NY on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    A nice med.to heavy weight sweater that fits nice with a turtle neck, warm and looks great for travling to europe. I have several Dale's in L and all fit nicely. These will last a life time if you take care of them.
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by North from Alaska on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
    This was a gift yet to be given, so I don't know how it will perform. Upon reciept, it looks very high quality and attractive and I believe the sizing is correct (a men's small would usually fit me, and this did - I have long arms for a "petite" female and the arms on this were perfect). Anyway, I think the Men's small is true to size, with no extra room.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andy the Great Laker from Michigan on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
    We lived in Norway for two years, so I'm very familiar with the Dale (pronounced DAH-la)name. This particular sweater is a beautifully crafted garment. Compared with other Dale sweaters, the design is a little more understated, something I prefer. Though I'm often a Large, I ordered an XL, and it fit perfectly. Unfortunately, I had to return it. The head opening was rather small (in itself, not a deal breaker) and the collar came up unusually high--something you can't see in the visual provided. I've had other Norwegian sweaters with collars like this but they weren't so high. It looked and felt strange. Also, the pewter clasps were bent, almost to the point of breaking in two! Very thin metal. True, replacement clasps were provided, but I think the original clasps on a new (and expensive) sweater like this should have reflected higher quality and attention to detail. In all, I would've liked to have kept this sweater for its looks but the high collar and other issues made me reconsider.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Twitchfinger from Rogue Valley,Oregon on Sunday, September 9, 2012
    This is a very nice garment.
    Two buttons on each cuff that actually work, not just decorations.
    Drawstring at the waist.
    Buy one size up as a XL size has a 461/2 inch chest.
    • Best Uses: Formal Events, Funerals, Going Out, Theater, Weddings
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Order One Size Larger
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, High-end shopper, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sweatershopper from Johns Creek, GA on Thursday, August 9, 2012
    I bought this for my husband to wear at informal gatherings. It's a lovely sweater especially with the pewter touches. However, I had to return it. The shoulders are wide and the body of the sweater is trimmer. It's for a more athletic build, so it just didn't work for him. Sierra customer service is exceptional.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Travel
    • Cons: For a more athletic fit
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Pros: Gorgeous Wool, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 46er from NJ on Sunday, June 24, 2012
    Can't beat the quality. Mine is red. I'll be wearing it Christmas Day.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.