Dale of Norway Storen Jacket - Virgin Wool (For Men)

Closeouts. The dual-tone design of Dale's Storen jacket is made of breathable, warm and comfortable virgin wool. Thumbhole cuffs make it easy to add layers without the sleeves bunching up. Dale of Norway has been making beautiful sweaters since 1879, inspired by breathtaking surroundings and authentic Norwegian patterns. Skilled craftsmen ensure every step of the sweater-making process is executed with precision.

Average Rating based on 29 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-29 of 29 reviews
  • Reviewed by mjll from cortlandt NY on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    I use this instead of a fleece or as a light weight jacket. I received one about a year ago and it ripped on the pockets and on one sleeve. Sierra took it back as they always do and I used the store credit to buy another. These run small. I usually wear a large but ordered an extra large.
  • Reviewed by Instructor Sean from Seattle, WA on Sunday, April 7, 2013
    Sleeves stain easily, which is whatever for a wool midlayer. Zippers on the pockets are difficult to pull and the stitching on the sleeves and zipper pulls leaves much to be desired. The fabric is also prone to pilling. The fit is a bit short, but not extremely so.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor Pete from Minnesota on Sunday, February 3, 2013
    I ordered a large and it fit perfectly except the sleeves. For the price I wasnt going to get by with an ok fit. Returned the large and got an extra large- gave up stylish fitted feel in the torso for added sleeve length. Very comfortable and is a perfect addition on extra cold days in MN.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dugie from Marietta, GA on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    Returned. Expected more from the company.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Peter from Colorado on Sunday, January 20, 2013
    Great winter mid-layer
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain girl from North Carolina on Monday, December 10, 2012
    Ordered jacket for my husband.... Different color that green/olive.... He liked it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gobsnobbler from austin, tx on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    I ordered the small. I've had several other products from Dale in this size that fit great. This one, on the other hand, was way too big. Fit about like a large. May have been a mix up at the factory when they were putting tags on. Or perhaps people are just getting bigger and bigger.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mjll from Cortlandt ,NY on Wednesday, June 13, 2012
    well made jacket and much better than any fleece which I am replacing. This is an excellent jacket for spring and fall and to layer in winter.The jacket like all Dale products is cut small. I am 6" and 200 pounds and generally wear a large but bought an extra large which fits well. Just wish it was a bit heavier since I am always cold
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Geisya loves Mt.FUJI from JPN on Monday, April 2, 2012
    It is the best wool zip sweater for me. It is warm, confortable and stylish design.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jammerhammer from vergas, mn on Thursday, March 1, 2012
    this is my new favorite sweatshirt that is not a sweatshirt. way more comfortable. keeps a person very warm without the bulk of a sweatshirt. i bought another once i found out that it has a great fit.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Beach Guy from Venice, CA on Saturday, January 7, 2012
    The fabric is amazing. From a distance, this looks like a jersey sweatshirt, but up-close, you can see that it is VERY finely woven wool, and it is a meticulously tailored garment. The design, colors and workmanship are all
    top notch. Because this is not a very heavy-weight sweater, by itself it is very usable in the California climate. Bottom line: Very sophisticated in a casual way.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Cons: none
    • Describe Yourself: Age appropriate, Classic, Comfort-oriented, Conservative, High-end shopper, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Very flattering design, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by quadz from Indy on Monday, December 26, 2011
    This is a great buy for the money and I will be using it all winter for layering its not too bulky to wear under jackets but its heavy enough to keep the chill off.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the most interesting man in the world from usa on Monday, October 31, 2011
    zippers on pockets seem like they want to hang up i can see them breaking if used heavily
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Stylish, Trendy
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OCULUS from Rensselaer, NY on Thursday, September 15, 2011
    Not much more for me to rave about this wool jersey sweatshirt--I love them (now have three). One added design feature worth mentioning is that the chevron [^] design around the waist visually reduces any little belly that you may have there; nice benefit.

    Otherwise, heavy usage indicates that light colored cuffs tend to get and look dirty, even though the entire piece washes beautifully. I bought my third one in brown so that it can be worn doing chores without fear of grungy cuffs.

    Highest recommendation.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Chevron design at waist, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm, Washes Well
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frank from Colorado Springs on Monday, June 27, 2011
    This is an extremely well made lightweight wool jacket that can be used either as a mid-layer or for cool weather wear. It isn't windproof but still provides warmth. Quite stylish with a nice color combination. It fits me exceptionally well but I am slim from daily mountain biking. The arm length is fine for me and I wear 34/35 length sleeves.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OCULUS from Rensselaer, NY on Friday, April 8, 2011
    This really is a great sweatshirt-weight jacket or sweater--so great that this is my second one after the first only a month ago. The design features--like the little hood at the top of the main zipper, that prevents the metal gripper from rubbing your chin and the thumb holes to keep sleeves down, are just great engineering. Teriffic smooth wool knit too; it washes beautifully, just dry it on a flat towel overnight. Even the bright yellow and brown are more complimentary to other clothes than you might first expect. I also just found and bought the matching Dale striped knit hat. Great combo for XC Skiing next year. Do not hesitate on this one: so far superior to cheesy plastic fleece that you'll wonder how wool slipped out of top spot in this layered-sportswear market.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Layering, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Expert on sportswear, High-end shopper, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, My Second One, Smooth NOT itchy, Stylish, Superior design features, Versatile, Warm, Washes Well
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OCULUS from Rensselaer,NY on Monday, February 14, 2011
    Everytime I put this on I wonder how wool allowed the market to slip away to plastic fleece. This thing is great, stretches, beathes and washes 1000% better than fleece sweaters. And it fits perfectly (XL for this 46 long guy is fine). Distinctive color combo is fun too. Highly recommended.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Sports warmup
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: High-end shopper
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BFS III from Washington, DC on Monday, November 15, 2010
    Weave seems a little thinner than the typical dense Dale fabric. It has a rubber logo instead of the embroidered one. The thumbholes are fun. I think this might work for a jacket on a cool day at best.
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Stylish, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by classy lady from calgary, alberta on Saturday, August 14, 2010
    I had bought this jacket as a gift for my husband & based on the described body length had felt confident it would fit him. Indeed the body was long enough, but the arms of the jacket were way too short - I measured & they are a mere 25 inches from the shoulder seam to the end of the cuff. The thumb hole meant to go over the thumb in cold weather was a good 8 inches! short of my husbands thumb - I will have to see if I can return this jacket for a refund. Too bad, because the color looked great on him but the jacket simply isn't his arm length (& if you have long arms, avoid this jacket).
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Headresearcher from Ann Arbor, MI on Friday, July 9, 2010
    This jacket is really lovely and well-made. It has cool features, such as thumb wholes in the sleeves, which enables one to keep almost one's whole hand covered from the cold. The back is a little longer to provide extra warmth, but it doesn't look out of proportion somehow. It is soft and very light.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by capt rock from st. augustine,fla. on Thursday, April 15, 2010
    wearing wool in the tropics was never a consideration,but Dale Norway has created a superior product for cold and hot applications!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm, Washes Well
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by demize! from new york on Saturday, April 10, 2010
    A high quality garment. The styling is unique in a "Retro-Modern" mode. It's perfect for a flight or chilly airport. People are constantly asking where I got it. It would be adequate for layering in a very cold enviroment as wool is quite warm.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rick from Providnece, RI on Tuesday, February 16, 2010
    This is a perfect layer of warmth that can be added too, built under, and in general provides the flexibility needed for cold, wet, and windy conditions.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mr_Sam_Man from Woodside, CA on Tuesday, January 5, 2010
    Great for cycling as it is warm but not overbearingly so, plus it breathes.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cycling, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Wrinkles
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm, Washes Well
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by stal from indiana on Thursday, December 24, 2009
    not worth it
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Itchy Material
    • Describe Yourself: Classic
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Reviewed by Rickskiandtravel from New England on Wednesday, December 16, 2009
    I bought this as a midlayer for skiing -- and it outperforms my old fleece hands down. It is soft (merino, I think), breathes well yet keeps me warm on the coldest days. I like it so much that I have started to use it for traveling; it is perfect for those cold transatlantic flights.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: High-end shopper, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Huang from Taiwan on Monday, December 14, 2009
    Yeh, it's made in Fiji and looks cheap. What's the point of spending [$] for a Fiji-made sweater, anyway?
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Itchy Material, Poor Construction
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sirt from Toronto, Canada on Friday, December 11, 2009
    I will wear this sweater/jacket anywhere, but it is a little casual for the office. It will become one of your favorites.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ROBERT from COLUMBUS, OH on Tuesday, December 1, 2009
    GREAT QUALITY, RUGGED STYLE, AWSOME FOR SKIING, CYCLING, RUNNING OR THE LIKE
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, RECREATIONAL
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: COLOR SELECTION
    • Describe Yourself: AVID OUTDOOR PERSON, High-end shopper
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-29 of 29 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.