Dale of Norway Vinje Sweater (For Men)

Closeouts. A weatherproof knit in a flattering masculine cut, Dale of Norway's Vinje sweater is designed to perform on the slopes in fine or inclement weather. The three-layer Knitshell combines Dale of Norway's proprietary water-resistant yarn and a new technology that allows the traditional Gore Windstopper® membrane to be adapted to wool.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
  • Reviewed by Mike from Ottawa, ON on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    Great quality. XXL fit perfectly. I'm 6'5" and 225lbs. Would be nice to have had a few more pockets but that's a small quibble. The price Sierra had on this when I purchased made the purchase even nicer but this is such a good jacket that even if I'd have paid more, I'd have been happy.
  • Reviewed by TRWILLIAMSON from MONTANA on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    Bought this "sweater", really an all mountain jacket, and ran it through its paces this week. It performed flawlessly in all conditions. One day, sun and temperate temps. Perfect. Next day, rain mixed with slush. Perfect. Next day, dumping giant fluff balls of snow. Perfect. This jacket stays warm and dry in ALL conditions. But be prepared to not wear a ton underneath this jacket as it is not needed. Personally I skied with a single, thin wool base layer and then the Vinje. No problems over heating at all. Hood works extremely well in inclement weather and is easily removed when the skies are clear. I am 6'3" and weigh 230 lbs. and bought a size up with the XXL. It is a perfect fit. My only complaint, and is really a personal preference, is that there is a lack of a Napoleon (chest) pocket on either the outside or the inside.
  • Reviewed by The Omen from PDX on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    This jacket is very nice. It is very well made with great attention to detail. There is a full lining including the hood and pockets. It offers great weather protection with the DWR/ nano treatment shedding water excellently, although the lining in the hood will get wet if worn down on the back while raining (duh). The jacket is fairly heavy but also very comfortable with an excellent cut. All of the hardware is top notch and obviously built to last. Looking forward to wearing this for a long time. Great deal from STP couldn't pass it up.
  • Reviewed by John from Greenville SC on Thursday, March 6, 2014
    This is probably the nicest piece of clothing It looks great and is extremely well made. I am 6'1", 185 lbs. and wear a size 16-35 dress shirt and the large is perfect. I think this is a category busting garment; part sweater, part jacket, part garment and part technical outer wear from a company that is distinguished as a supplier for the US and Norwegian Olympic Teams. I like that it accomplishes this without looking synthetic. I have found it to be very warm, water resistant and totally wind prof, but quite breathable and suited to cool as well as cold temperatures.
  • Reviewed by R from Virginia on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    This sweater is more like a wool lined jacket. VERY well made. Love the look and style. Craftsmanship is great. Not sure about the hood. I can't get it to snap and it has a string fastener system that I have yet to figure out. As near as I can tell the snaps on the hood don't snap to the sweater, but I am not a hood guy anyway. I love the jacket. I have a xl Dale zip up sweater and it fits fine. However, I needed an extra, extra large on this sweater. Love the sweater and the Dale quality. Love the subdued colors. Definitely would buy it again. I would but it in Navy with a white stripe. Dale designers usually have too much design and decorations. that is a turn off, however the quality is the best I have seen. I am a Dale fan.
  • Reviewed by Captain Dave from The State of Maine on Thursday, February 6, 2014
    This sweater is built with the usual Dale style and quality that I had come to expect. It is more of a sweater/jacket than a sweater. This is not some wimpy and stylish item to try to look "cool" in for the honeys and bunnies while sitting around the fireplace at the lodge sipping some cutesy named cocktail. You will want to be outside moving when you wear this. It is ruggedly designed and constructed. There is no foo-foo included. This thing means business, and just happens to look good while doing so. It is not cheap, but it is not made in Chine either, if you get my drift.

    The very functional and effective hood folds flat across the back when not in use or it can be removed completely.

    As stated in an earlier review, this sweater/jacket runs a bit small. Dale usually runs very6 true to size, but this is an exception. I am normally a size L, but that was a bit snug around the middle. The XL is perfect and the arm length on the sweater/jacket is right to the base of my thumb, thus allowing the cuff to stay over the top of my gloves even with my elbows bent.

    This sweater/jacket works extremely well layered over a close fitting medium or heavy weight synthetic turtle neck. I am thrilled to have gotten such a great deal on such a high quality functional piece of wearing apparel. "STP" really came through for me again with this deal.
  • Reviewed by Haflerman from Loveland, CO on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    Ended up ordering a XXL and sent the XL back. Due to the fact that this is really a Jacket and not a sweater. Always love the "Dale of Norway" quality and this one is no exception. The hood design is pretty cool and works wonderfully. Like the fact that you can remove it as well. Gore Windstopper works as it should. Performed great during a recent ski trip to Aspen.
    Again, this is a jacket and not a sweater! The full zip front and two zip side pockets should tell most detailed editors that fact!
  • Reviewed by KEPASA from Oklahoma on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    I have had lots of outdoor jackets and this Dale of Norway product is the very best and in a class of its' own! Great fit, functional, wind resistance is excellent! I must mention the staff @ Sierra Trading Post is knowledgeable, courteous and always go the extra proverbial mile!!
  • Reviewed by New Yorker in Town from Manhattan Beach California on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    This is a beautiful sweater. The quality and fit is absolutely superb. The price kind of scared me even though i bought on sale when i received the sweater i was so happy i did purchase it. The price of sweater is actually not expensive for the quality of the material the fit and the work that went into the sweater itself. I never wrote a review before but i had to express my love for this item. I have many of top designer sweaters & coats that were a lot more in price but the quality does not come close to this sweater. A great sweater a great price and a very pleased customer. You will love this sweater. True to size. EXTREMELY PLEASE.
  • Reviewed by OCULUS from Rensselaer, NY on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    I have been wearing Dale woolens for ages and think there is nothing better (forget plastic fleece…this is the real deal). All my zip sweatshirt sweaters are XL and fit my 46Long torso just right. So, I ordered this in XL. It arrived and is a beautiful jacket, and very trim in fit. Unfortunately, the length and fine-tooth zipper on this didn't go well with me in simple movement…getting in and out of my car would burst the zipper at the bottom. It would readily re-zip and would be fine again until I bent over, squatted, sat in the car again and (un) zzzzzip.

    Unsure if it was a faulty zipper or perhaps not a match for me, I called for a replacement and noticed the XXL was available; typical STP, shipped the XXL right away not even waiting for my return. It arrived and fits much better…and no unzzzziping.

    Though the XXL is listed as 50-52", I think this is a bad translation of Euro sizing. The XXL jacket is trim and very flattering and a 48 is US fit.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #