Danner Cloud Cap Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Climb to the clouds with the protection of Danner's Cloud Cap hiking boots. A Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable membrane is joined by a molded ESS plate for underfoot protection and stability.

Average Rating based on 26 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 26 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Biorunner from Casper, WY on Sunday, December 9, 2012
    This is a great pair of boots for long day hikes because they are not only lightweight, but they are extraordinarily durable. They, also, have the bonus of being waterproof.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fin from Ohio on Sunday, December 2, 2012
    Good boot just what I needed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Possum from Red River Gorge KY on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    Sure footed hiking boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by long day hiker from Tennessee on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    hiking and no break-in time, waterproof
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Doc from Soon to be Colorado on Thursday, November 1, 2012
    At first look I loved the boots. Semmed everything I needed in a light/midline hiking boot. I listened to everyone's suggestions and ordered up a half size. Not too bad but a little wide. As of now I can come up with 2 problems. 1) There is a flat ribbon/rope eyelet were a metal D-ring should be. 2) It is a VERY TIGHT fit in through the gusseted tongue and the tongue is alomost too short for the top set of laces. I find myself having to almost completely unlace my boot and then carefully slide my foot in or out as to not damage the Gore-Tex. Does make you think about whether you want to go through all of the trouble to wear them. But so far it has been worth it. I really like how they feel once they are on.
    • Best Uses: Short day hikes
    • Cons: Tight Fit Around Tongue, Tongue Almost To Short
    • Pros: Not too heavy, Solid boot, Waterproof
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jumper83 from Southern California on Saturday, October 27, 2012
    As always, prompt shipping from stp. Boot is well made and hardly any break-in period required. Still I wear my boots around the house and chores for a few days before trying them on hikes. No complains yet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bill from Helotes, TX on Sunday, August 26, 2012
    Very pleased--in fact, I have already ordered my second pair. With minimal break-in, I wore them on several dayhikes on a recent trip to Rocky Mountain National Park, Dinosaur National Monument, and Black Canyon of the Gunnison. They did great! I'd had some foot problems earlier in the year, so I was especially pleased that these boots helped me hike pain-free. I also really appreciate the grippy soles. I've worn some boots--otherwise excellent--that just don't have the grip when the ground gets wet, skree-ish, etc. Not a problem with these fine boots!
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Grippy Sole, Sturdy, Supportive
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Birdman from Aztec, NM on Monday, August 20, 2012
    I work on a tile over concrete floor all day. I need support and comfort. I kept wearing these boots thinking they might need a longer break-in time. They were so uncomfortable it felt like there was gravel caught in my boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ken from Burien, WA on Sunday, August 19, 2012
    As others have said, these boots are at least a half size too small. I used custom hiking insoles in both boots, and a heel cup for my shorter foot, but ended up with sore toes after the downhill portion of an 8-mile hike. This doesn't happen when I use the same inserts in other boots of the same size.

    The tongue is almost too short for the D-ring lacing system. You may need to pull up on the tongue before securing the laces, in order to make certain the laces don't go over the top of the tongue.

    Given these limitations, I still think they are worthy of a recommendation to a friend.
    • Best Uses: Day hikes on or off trail
    • Cons: Sized too small, Tongue is too short
    • Pros: Good lug soles, Lightweight
  • Reviewed by SecretAsianMan from South Carolina on Friday, August 10, 2012
    I ordered a pair that were my regular size, but they were just a bit too snug. Traded them in for a pair that were a half size larger and they fit perfectly. You don't have to break them in or anything of the sort. They are great right out of the box. I would suggest getting a different type of insole for them. The ones that are included aren't very good.
    • Cons: Insole is garbage
    • Pros: Excellent
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 26 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.