Danner Combat Hiker Gore-Tex® Military Boots - Waterproof, Leather (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Designed to take on the toughest terrain and conditions the U.S. Army encounters, Danner's Combat Hiker Gore-Tex® military boots are extremely durable and completely waterproof breathable.

Average Rating based on 79 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 79 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor laborer from Seattle, wa. on Saturday, April 5, 2014
    These boots are made in the USA & they are well built. A little narrow, although the 1st pair I ordered it stated that the size d in men's was equal to a narrow women's size. The size 3.5 men's was true to the size of a boys size 3.5 , only difference was the boot was of the quality of a men's work & not the cheap kids version that the look a likes usually are.
  • Reviewed by Maplecreekrods from Michigan on Friday, February 28, 2014
    The boot is made of quality materials but the design is very flawed. The boots have "D" rings all the way up, there is no good way to lace the boots, to get a tight fit, so your toes slam into the front of the boots on downhills. The insole in poor and the sole flexes way too much for my liking. The boot would be fine as an urban boot.
  • Reviewed by JtothaK from Denver, CO on Tuesday, November 19, 2013
    I hike a lot here in CO including 14ers, extended backpacking sessions and random day hikes. I also go through boots fairly quickly given the amount of hiking I do and the ruggedness of the terrain out here. That said, I've tried lots of different boots, from full grain leather old school hikers to ultralight Montrail trail runners to my current favorite pair of boots, Scarpa Mustangs and lots in between.

    I picked up a pair of the Combat Hikers since 1) they were a good deal (under $100) and 2) they are U.S. made for our military and 3) the boot is constructed of quality materials. Everything appeared to be in good order so I took them for a short day hike.

    Here's a list of problems:

    - No speed lace system. Apparently the design team failed hiking boot design 101. How are you supposed to tighten up the boot properly in order to prevent your toes from slamming in the end of the boot while hiking down something steep?! No matter how hard I pulled tight, no dice. The tops of my toes kept slamming the end of the boot.

    - Non-supportive sole. Outersole is flimsy as a sandal (literally) and provided no support WITHOUT a pack (i'm 6'2", 185lbs). I will never wear these backpacking for this reason alone.

    - The overall fit is sloppy. This appears to be due to a poor design (standard width boot for my standard width food). Namely, when the laces are max tightened, the tongue doesn't fit in place properly nor does the upper part of the boot join together properly. Second, due to the weak sole, the boot flex crease occurs directly over the top of my foot. It's as if the boot design consisted of simply joining a few pieces of leather and rubber together without any regard to anatomics or any other rational thought.

    - The insole is a joke. A flat piece of rubber with no arch support whatsoever. Why even bother?

    - Perhaps the worst part is that this is the best "combat hiker" that our government could provide our troops. They deserve the best, not second rate "one size fits all" garbage such as this. But how would we fund this you ask? How about we divert knowingly abused well-fare funds into some decent gear for our military?! How's that for "Change"?

    The only positives are that the materials appear to be good quality and these are made here in the States.

    If you don't really hike (be honest) and want a cool looking boot that our military uses for tooling around your yard, garage or the Walmart ammo isle, then you will probably like these however, there are many, many better options for a true hiking boot (or "tactical" hiking boot for that matter).

  • Reviewed by Xavier from Australia on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    This is a great boot for superficial travelling, but I won't use this in harsh outdoor conditions again. The key weakness of this shoe is how you can fold the whole boot very easily from front to back - therefore exposing how weak the sole is.

    I found walking in very sharp rocky areas to be unstable and generally useless when it grips or locks onto the ground.

    This is clearly a stock item that was poorly designed, and sold by the pound to shops like these.
  • Reviewed by Bigmtnluv from Colorado on Saturday, September 21, 2013
    Some of the best boots I have owned. Came in to buy a 2nd pair but they don't have my size.
    Got these December 2011. Still unsure if they are really Gore-Tex because nothing on the boot indicates this. I have not had any problems with water. I NickWaxed them. The leather has held up extremely well. I like having eyelets to the top rather than the quick lace that give. I have Hiked14ers with them and used them in the winter as well. Have held up great. Rand still welded on solidly. Put a higher arch insole in them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GEUB from Newark,Delaware on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    These boots appear to be well constructetd, heavy-duty boots -- exactly what I've been looking for.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Autumn from Logan, Utah on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    These boots appear to be well constructetd, heavy-duty boots -- exactly what I've been looking for. Hopefully they perform as well as they look. Sole material is not as grippy in snow as previous pairs of boots I've owned. The only reason I give the product four stars is because I need to see how it performs over time.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe from Wichita, Ks on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    I was glad to see a sturdy boot offered in a wide size, since my feet have widened as I have aged. Unfortunately, these are too narrow to wear comfortably and break in. unfortunately, I had already disposed of the packing materials so I could no longer return them. maybe with time they will improve.
  • Reviewed by Bill the Wanderer from WV on Saturday, January 19, 2013
    The Combat Hikers were purchased to replace my beloved but worn out pair of Danner Explorers, which went through one resoling and countless treks. I tried two other lighter boots, but was unsatisfied with the fit and feel on rough terrain. Might as well wear cross trainers, I thought. So it was a great surprise to find these Combat Hikers on STP, and I immediately saw the great value in them. For the price, it's impossible to find all the same features in a boot.

    The boots are on the heavy side, but are still comfortable and have a solid, sure-footed feel to them on rocky terrain. The soles seem to be made out of a harder rubber than other Vibram soles. Time will tell how durable they are. As others have pointed out, the boots do not come with a quick lacing system. The top has regular eyelets, but that hasn't been too much of a hassle so far. I can live with it.

    One negative: the boots will be hot for summer hikes.

    One important point I would pass along. I ordered a 1/2 size up and don't regret it, even though my previous Danners were actual size (11 Medium). I recommend you do the same.

    So, if you've read this far, then you really need to buy these boots. You won't find a better deal.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dirtworm from Great Falls, VA on Monday, December 17, 2012
    Would have preferred a quick lace grommet as opposed to permanent eyelets all the up the boot.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 79 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.