Customer Reviews Of:
DownTown Mattress Pad - Full, Merino Wool Fill, Anchor Bands

Closeouts. Naturally lofty, soft and moisture absorbent, the merino wool filling of DownTown's lofty Full mattress pad protects as it comforts with soft jersey cotton.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 4.222222 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by C from ringoes NJ on Tuesday, May 12, 2015
    ive never seen a matress cover like tihis one. Its stuffed with a thick layer of wool that turns my firm flat matress into a plush bed. the only negitive is it adds warmth in summer. will be wonderful in the winter time. This matress pad is so nice that Im thinking about getting a second for a blanet. It also would make a great floor covering for a baby to play on.
  • Reviewed by Steven from Georgia on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    I guess I'm one of the fortunate buyers that received one that doesn't smell like animal and I have a sensitive nose. However, it is a bit small for my queen mattress, but no big deal...I used bungee cords to secure the elastic straps on the corners underneath the mattress (criss-crossed two cords).

    It is very comfortable, warm in winter and cool in summer.
  • Reviewed by the wanderer from colorado on Monday, November 17, 2014
    If you don't like the smell of animals, then don't buy this -- it definitely has a sheep/lanolin smell.

    Also, the two I bought ran small -- I purchased both a queen and a full, and the queen fits our daughter's full-size bed (which means now I don't have anything for my queen).

    It does feel soft and comfortable, however.


  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by seattle shopper from seattle on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    This mattress pad is a bit over .5 inches of padding and is comfortable. It is not a major difference but it is noticable. The price is good for the all cotton & merino wool materials and the wool should help with temperature regulation/any sweating. It DOES come with a strange (as 1reviewer said) almost gasoline scent. It really does. I tossed it on low in the dryer with 2 scented dryer sheets and lightly sprayed vinegar on both sides before putting it in. It did not shrink and helped on the odor but did not eliminate it completely. This would be the only reason to consider returning. Once it is covered with a mattress pad/protector and then sheet it is more subtle & becomes a bit of animal smell instead. Otherwise, it is great for those wanting a wool mattress pad & no polyester. Most wool pads are no less than $150 & that would usually be a twin size so this is a good price.
  • Reviewed by Randy from Georgia on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    I have another wool mattress topper that is made of just the fur. I got this to put under it to add some extra cushion. This is nice and soft and has a good loft to it. Helps keep the bed warmer in cold weather and if its like my other one it should help keep it cool in the summer. This seems like it will breath really well too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by warm sleeper from Sonoma County, CA on Monday, January 28, 2013
    This is a fantastic mattress pad. The first night I had it on my bed, I slept long and never woke up with the middle of the night chill that I had the previous week or so. I don't heat the house during the night, and my bedroom gets into the 40's in the coldest nights of our admittedly mild winter.
    Will be interesting to see how it fares in the summer. But I wear wool year round, so I bet it's going to be wonderful!
    Best buy in ages. Thanks !!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Twirp from Northern Arkansas on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    The only drawback for me is drycleaning. Yuk! However the pro's outdo the con.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Judy from Downingtown, PA on Wednesday, December 12, 2012
    This pad replaces a "memory foam" pad that I had purchased (also from STP) a year ago. Both my husband and I have had back problems in the past, so a comfortable bed is important to us--not too hard, not too soft. Unfortunately, the memory foam "remembered" the center fold from its original packaging, so we slept with a big bump between us! This new pad is very flat on the bed, and it's cover is a very soft cotton knit. It feels perfect--just the right amount of support, soft yet firm. The only thing that would improve it would be how it attaches to the mattress. The elastic is wide and seems strong, but it doesn't reach very far under the mattress. Would be better if the jersey cover reached all the way under. But still, it's very very nice.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Natural product enthusiast from New York on Tuesday, October 9, 2012
    I used a similar product when I lived in Germany and loved it. I was happy to see that I could find one in the United States. In fact, I ended up buying two and may buy a twin size for my daughter's bed.
    • Best Uses: Mattress Cover For Winter
    • Pros: Soft warm thick
  • Sort by: