• Edelweiss Reviews

Located just a stone’s throw from the foot of the French Alps, the Edelweiss climbing gear company has been creating phenomenal equipment for dedicated alpinists, sport climbers and trad climbers for more than half a century. Known for producing extremely durable and reliable climbing ropes, harnesses, packs, hardware, helmets and other gear, Edelweiss is 100-percent devoted to providing athletes and adventurers with the most exceptional equipment possible. Tested and proven in demanding conditions, Edelweiss ropes and hardware are designed fo ... Learn more about Edelweissr maximum reliability, and Edelweiss harnesses are some of the best in the industry. Reach for the summit with Edelweiss gear. ... Less
Average Rating based on 4 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 26 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by newbie climber from Portland, OR on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    This is my first climbing rope but my experienced friends at the gym like it.
    It clips nice and runs thru belay devices smoothly.

    Plus - IT COMES WITH A ROPE BAG. A VERY WELL CONSTRUCTED BAG WITH FOLD OUT MAT - SWEET!
  • Reviewed by doug from boston on Friday, February 6, 2015
    my first rope so not a lot of experience but great price. rope does come with a rope bag which is nice. fold out tarp as well
  • Reviewed by Matt from Michigan on Friday, December 26, 2014
    I've used three of these things so far, and they all have held up very well. This is a great rope for all around use. It's not the lightest rope out there by any stretch but it's certainly durable.

    It wasn't mentioned in the description but this rope come with a rope bag. It's a nice rope bag too, heavy nylon fabric, zippered, shoulder strap, and integrated tarp with tie out points.

    Overall, this is a perfect choice for when you're more concerned with value and durability than high-performance characteristics.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Climbingbum from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
    Ok, it's not a dry treated rope, but for the price who cares?! Great hand feel, smooth rope, black halfway marker and of course, it's an Edelweiss. I've owned many ropes over the years and Edelweiss makes some very high quality, long lasting ropes. My last Edelweiss stilled looked great after hundreds of pitches and I only retired it due to age and what I know was a ton of use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ken Climber from UT on Wednesday, November 19, 2014
    This is a great workhorse rope, the 1 over 1 sheath pattern holds up to wear really well, and the rope handles nicely, the only problem is that it isn't ARC as advertised. I have contacted STP about this, but they still haven't changed the item description. Overall, a great value for the price, but don't expect it to be bi-pattern as advertised.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tantrikclimber from San Francisco on Wednesday, November 12, 2014
    While I normally prefer thinner / lighter ropes, got a sweet deal on this one and couldn't pass up. Used it last weekend on some long Yosemite multi-pitches to much satisfaction. The bi-color is a great bonus, invaluable for rappelling.
  • Reviewed by AJ from Colorado on Monday, April 15, 2013
    This harness is a simple harness, but it allows adjustment (with slide plates, so you don't have to double back) at the waist and legs - so it will fit a wide range of people, even kids. I like the raised attachment point, rather than the usual belay loop, as you could even wear it under shorts to protect it for abrasive sports like canyoneering. It's really lightweight too. If it only had a gear loop, I would have given it five stars.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by IA from PA on Sunday, February 17, 2013
    used once
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colinwalks from Perth WA on Tuesday, February 5, 2013
    Great for groups. No issues with buckle left undone!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by boiddude from Chandler, AZ on Saturday, January 12, 2013
    I use this with my tiny 5 yr old and her taller 8 yr old sister. It seems like a very solid harness so far.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 26 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;