• eGear Reviews

Essential Gear, a.k.a. "eGear," is a leading provider of state-of-the-art LED flashlights to the recreation, survival, emergency and tactical markets. Utilizing the latest technology, eGear LED flashlights, lanterns and headlamps are built tough to withstand years of hard use in the outdoors. LED technology uses less battery power than conventional flashlight bulbs, so you change batteries less, for green savings you and your wallet can appreciate. eGear flashlights are made with impact-resistance and o-ring seals to add weatherproof performance. eGear also makes LED flashing safety lights ... Learn more about eGearand dynamo hand-crank flashlights and radios that don't require batteries, instead utilizing power you generate yourself by turning the crank. Because the ability to make fire is critical during outdoor adventures, eGear also offers storm-proof butane lighters for hunters, hikers and other outdoor enthusiasts. Out on the trail or in the home, eGear headlamps, flashlights and lighters offer dependable light and heat anytime you're in need. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 88
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JDB from NC on Wednesday, February 18, 2015
    From what I can tell it does not look like t is liquid filled. It looks more like something from a Cracker jack box. I would not go deep in to the woods with it or trust my life with it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Josh the fishing guy from Maine on Saturday, February 7, 2015
    This shouldn't be confused for a Suunto or Brunton but it's a functional back up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Jer from Directly over center or earth! on Tuesday, February 3, 2015
    Loose it no problem!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Goose from Wisconsin on Tuesday, February 3, 2015
    Well, you get what you pay for; I needed a few extra dollars to bump an order to free shipping. I am not overall displeased with the compass - but it is also one that I wouldn't be devastated if I misplaced it in the backcountry... Luckily it has that neon orange cord! The needle does indeed point north if you give it time, but swiveling the compass rose jars the reading so you have to be patient for it to settle. The miniature magnifying glass is a plus for me as a naturalist to get close and personal with critters and vegetation :)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Jer from Directly over center of the earth on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    One on dog, one on my collar, run at nite after work. Haven't been hit yet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Jer from Directly over center of the earth on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    $5 Compass. teaches good compass discipline. Stay away from large metal, protect and care for your gear.
  • Reviewed by ghopper from Washington on Monday, January 26, 2015
    I was hopeful when I saw this item. Most of the major manufacturers had moved away from a truly basic design and as a result, it's hard to find a decent compass for under $10 (retail.) I wanted to find a compass design that one would loan to others and put in the hands of children without fear of loss or damage.

    This fits that bill, but only because of the price. The shortcomings come close to overwhelming the benefits.

    What's good:
    It points north **
    Has several scales on the edges of the body/base
    5 degree graduated marks on bezel
    Parallel lines on bezel
    Magnifying 'spot' for examination of map features.
    Orange lanyard

    What's not good:
    Compass base/bezel spins freely. Easy to move it out of its setting, even slightly, which can prove disastrous if you are route-finding based on a compass heading set from a map or triangulation. When I say 'freely' I mean it was so loose that a flick of the finger could make the bezel spin.
    No lines, parallel or otherwise on plastic base.
    Points 'north', but not exactly north.**
    Seemed very sensitive to leveling ***

    **I bought two. Placed on a wooden surface, 2' from each other, and not near any metal (I even took off my belt buckle) they did not point in the same direction, but they did point generally north. I had a tough time thinking of how to take a picture to show the issue. No luck in that since the parallax of any photo would make it hard to see the issue of the compass direction.

    *** One of the two that I bought was incredibly sensitive to being held level. If I didn't get it exactly right, the needle would drag and point well off of north. The other one seemed fine.

    This is a compass I'd give to a kid to play with, knowing that if the had any interest at all, I needed to get them a better one that the could actually use with a map and be reliable i
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maggie from Vermont on Monday, May 5, 2014
    A great item to have in your car.
  • Reviewed by yositune from Alexandria, VA on Friday, May 2, 2014
    I've not used it alot yet but had it out and it hasn't broken yet which is a good sign. Light and have packed with it.
  • Reviewed by Linda from WA on Sunday, March 23, 2014
    You have take a shovel to dig cat holes when you have a long hike back into those great trad climbs, but you don't want it to weigh much. It's pretty small, so you won't want to dig the latrine or anything very big with it. Considering the price vs. the weight, this is great. Only thing lighter is the Ipood, but you pay more for the cool name. Just get this eGear folding shovel and you'll be all set.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 88
;