Customer Reviews Of:
Equity by La Crosse Technology Hybrid Solar Alarm Clock

Closeouts. This unique alarm clock from Equity by La Crosse Technology is made with hybrid solar/battery power that extends battery life to over two years. This clock also monitors indoor temperature.

Average Rating based on 30 reviews 3.333333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Reviewed by Tribulation Exodus from Babylon, CA on Friday, March 27, 2015
    I have never written a one star review on STP before. I usually love the products I buy, but this one, the STP STRATEGIC SOURCING DEPARTMENT should have never offered on the STP website. One, you must push a button to illuminate the display at night,,,, BUT, wait for it, there is no Button. Yes the functionality is NOT there. Yes, the directions say its there, but not there. But who wants a clock you can't see at night??? Its cheap, its worse than cheap, its utter garbage. Don't waist your time. I'd return it, but why, it costs as much as the return shipping fee. $6.95. Better to go to "other" websites to buy this where there is not such a steep return penalty. Last time I buy electronics on STP. Love their gear, their clothes, but never again will I buy electronics on STP.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fred from MASSACHUSETTS on Monday, January 26, 2015
    Great clock at a great price. Only wish the backlight were able to be left on! Even as is, I may purchase another!
  • Reviewed by Preston from Wisconsin on Wednesday, January 21, 2015
    The clock/temp work fine and have large digits. However, the backlight function does not work on this unit, so I can only read time/temp in a bright room. Also, the alarm is so quiet that I can't use it as a timer, let along as an alarm clock. It would never wake me.

    It's a surprising disappointment, because I have a La Crosse Weather Station that has been working perfectly for over 4 years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BriMcP from Vermont on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
    I like the alarm clock but the light function doesn't work. Ordered a replacement and the light doesn't work on that one either. Got a great price though, so I'll keep them.
  • Reviewed by Joey from Colorado on Friday, November 28, 2014
    I have had this clock since 2010. I have never replace the batteries. I checked the batteries with a volt meter they were stronger than new after 4 years! I live in a basement so the clock doesn't get strong light to charge the batteries. Keeps good time, and temp.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by George from Kansas on Monday, September 29, 2014
    good value
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by minkhills from Northern New England on Saturday, September 13, 2014
    I have tried a few times, but I can't get this alarm clock to work. It's nice and small
    for my grandson, but I still have hope.
  • Reviewed by REF from Georgia on Wednesday, July 9, 2014
    Conveniently small, inconveniently not worth the lowest sales price. How disappointing - not displaying accurately - keeping this clock in a fully lighted area and 2 fresh batteries -- no green background plus inaccurately keeping time and date, a minute or a day off. I've owned since April '14.

    Good to mention that the temperature is nearly exact with my room thermostat - a great quality of the LaCrosse Technology name.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sam from NYC on Friday, June 27, 2014
    This inexpensive little digital alarm clock works fine. Just remember it runs on i AA battery. Apparently you can recharge the battery by letting the clock sit in sunlight so that the battery lasts one year, but who puts their clock in the sun? You couldn't see the LCD numerals in sunlight. By the way you're supposed to be able to push on the top of the clock to illuminate the numerals. This feature doesn't work. Other than that it was anice little clock considering the low price.
  • Reviewed by Sleepy Pete from Colorado on Thursday, February 6, 2014
    I received the first clock and the screen illumination feature didn't work (minus one star for quality). Sierra happily exchanged it for one that worked. For the price, the clock seems like good value. I haven't had it long enough to tell if the solar feature has a real measurable benefit however. One gripe is that on the clock I have, the LCD is barely visible from a low viewing angle (especially when the screen is illuminated) - like a bed if your lying at eye level or lower relative to the clock, so you have to tilt the end up to see the time (minus another star). If your bedside tables, or wherever you place it, is below eye level, than this problem won't be an issue for you. Other than that, it's a bargain for the trivial amount of money that I paid for it.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3