Customer Reviews Of:
Evolv Optimus Climbing Shoes (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Designed by legendary climber Chris Sharma, Evolv's Optimus climbing shoes offer the utmost in grip, lightweight performance and comfort. They're designed on a unique down-cambered last and feature an oval grid pattern rand for added protection and improved toe hooking.

  • From the Sharma Signature Series
  • Designed on a down-cambered last
  • Symmetric toe box
  • Perforated, elastic Synthratek synthetic upper
  • 4.2mm Trax USA┬« XT-5 high-friction rubber outsole
  • Weight: 1 lb. pr.
  • Made in USA
  • Women order 1 size smaller
  • Climbing and other related activities are inherently dangerous; anyone purchasing or using equipment for this purpose is personally responsible for getting proper instruction on its correct and safe use
  • Visit our Climbing Gear Guide

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 3.888888 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fojj from SoCal on Friday, August 12, 2011
    Got these to replace my old pair and since I am only climbing indoors now wanted a pair of slip-ons. Original order was too small. Exchanged for half size bigger (normal shoe size). Still a bit jammed but hope they will break in after a few more sessions. Otherwise happy with them!
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Sprint Climbs
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by B mon from Ohio on Tuesday, February 8, 2011
    I love them. I got them a size smaller than normal and they feel like they're supposed to. The rubber sticks to everything and makes it easier to use foot chips and small crevices to complete routes. They'll feel better once my toe stops hurting too. If you want to be aggressive, they're a great start!
    • Best Uses: All
    • Cons: Not Adjustable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by waterboy from Knoxville, TN on Saturday, January 29, 2011
    I got this pair of shoes for my wife. She just tried in on on the gym today and she loved it. I bought this 1 full size smaller than her street shoes and so she is just now breaking them in.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Climbgirl from Santa Fe, NM on Friday, December 24, 2010
    They are still in the breaking-in stage. I love the way my feet stick to small things and I can put my toe into almost anywhere on an over hang. But I find my heel slipping. I hope they will hold on a heel hook
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AAA_Massage from St. Paul, MN on Friday, December 24, 2010
    This shoe is extreme and super uncomfortable. I had to order a size bigger and it was still to small. [...] This review is solely based on trying on a size that was to small. If you like super tight and don't mind pain than these shoes are for you.
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by jr20 from Elmwood Park, IL on Friday, December 24, 2010
    This is my first pair of Evolvs ever. I ordered size 9, which is ½ size bigger than my Scarpas or LaSportivas, just in case. However, I couldn't slide my foot in. These shoes are 3 sizes too small. According to the tag, they should be 27cm long but I measured those 23.5 cm only! Evolv quality control: shame on you! I gave the shoes to my daughter.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Outdoor
    • Cons: Toooo small
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: I don't know yet
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by K3dao8118 from Rochester, NY on Tuesday, December 21, 2010
    Great shoe. I bought them for my boyfriend... but they were too small for him. So I tried them on and they fit- so I will be using them. It is not a comfortable shoe, but it'll do the job for climbing. These shoes seem to run a little small, so stay true to your normal shoe size when ordering.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Good design, Lightweight, Rugged, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sinister_Dane from Socorro, NM on Monday, November 29, 2010
    I haven't broken the shows in yet, but I must say that for my first set of slippers, I'm impressed. I usually prefer tie ins but these are quite nice. I wear a 10.5 US street shoe and these fir well at a 9.5
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Steep sport
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SharmaFan from Santa Cruz, CA on Monday, November 22, 2010
    I usually climb 5-6 days per week at my local climbing gym--bouldering, sport, and lead climbing. These shoes have a secure fit and are great for edging and heel/toe hooking. I ordered them 1/2 a size bigger than my previous pair of evolvs (I wore a size 7 in the defy shoe and got a 7 1/2 in the optimus because I read that they were sized smaller) and they fit very well. Definitely a high performance shoe designed to increase your skill level.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor
    • Cons: Not Adjustable
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by: