ExOfficio Roughian Hooded Sweater - Wool Blend (For Men)

Closeouts. Hit the reset button and slow things down in ExOfficio's Roughian hooded sweater. This lightweight sweater is crafted in a pieced construction of a cozy wool blend with an ultrasoft, brushed interior.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews 3.800000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Reviewed by Jimmy from Portland on Wednesday, October 28, 2015
    "Dry Clean Only"
    Seams are too pink
    Zipper tents easily
    Fabric feels cheap on outside
    Hood is too tight to be used
    Slit pockets are tiny, and can't reliably hold anything important.

    I buy ExOfficio stuff because it is easy to use. This item goes against their philosophy; probably why its on Closeout.

    2/10 do not buy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ShoreMarg from Virginia on Tuesday, March 10, 2015
    I love it. Soft on the inside with lots of extra pockets. Goes great with a t-shirt or an Oxford. Excellent deal!
  • Reviewed by Canyon Man from Eldo Co on Monday, March 24, 2014
    Hoodie, but a little small
  • Reviewed by s.whiteplace from Foothills of the Green Mountains, VT on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    If you are looking for a high-maintenance, medium weight wool-blend zip-up shell, this sweater looks strongly masculine and comfortably casual, and could make an attractive-looking addition to an urban cool-weather wardrobe. Just please do make sure you have an affordable drycleaner nearby, because this sweater is, in truth, a visibly fragile, DRY CLEAN ONLY, loose-weave, scratchy mesh, wool knit hoodie, that is lined for insulated softness on the inside with a wispy fleece-fluff blend that resembles the kind of stuff you pull out of your dryer's lint trap when it's full! It is definitely different from the dense rugged wool blend "Roughian" man-sweater the name seems to imply, and is in fact so delicate it looks like it will entirely disintegrate if ever accidentally run through a regular washing machine cycle. I was very disappointed after ordering this as a gift for my active and outdoorsy husband, but admittedly, realize it was my fault for not checking the the "specs" tab on the second page before ordering. In all fairness, I would give it 3-4 stars, because it is warm and it looks good, but too high-maintenance for my taste.
  • Reviewed by Steve from Kansas on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    As mentioned in the other reviews the material is thin but it still keeps you warm. The quality is very good. The fit is slightly loose but not baggy. I purchased black which looks like it does in the photo. The length goes past the waist.
  • Reviewed by COFlyingFish from Denver on Saturday, January 25, 2014
    Pros:
    -Great length in the torso and sleeves. (I am 6'1" 190lbs with long arms and the L fits great)
    -Wool but not scratchy at all...inside is soft and could be worn against skin if you wanted
    -hidden zipper pocket is a great addition

    Cons:
    -Thin
    -DRY CLEAN ONLY! Overall more delicate than I expected...
    -Front pockets shaped in a way that retains contents poorly.

    Overall I am still weighing out how this will hold up when I try to use it in the mountains or as an everyday hoodie...
  • Reviewed by hk from salem.or on Monday, January 20, 2014
    very pleased with the item and have worn it frequently
  • Reviewed by Hiker5525 from Burlington, VT on Tuesday, December 24, 2013
    This sweater offers the warmth and comfort of soft wool while still able to be form fitting thanks to the poly/spandex blend that makes up the remainder. Incredibly lightweight and works great for a mid-layer when going out for a day-hike or just to take the chill off while lounging around the house.

    I had been looking for some time for a non-cotton/poly blended sweater that I could take in the outdoors with me and not worry about it loosing insulating properties if it happened to get a little wet. I found it in the ExOfficio Roughian Hooded Sweater.

    As with any wool sweater I worry about pilling. Although I am hoping that with the poly/spandex blend this will not be a major issue.
  • Reviewed by QZ from Idaho on Monday, December 9, 2013
    I saw this in the STP store but didn't have the size I needed. Ordered this from the STP on-line site and purchased at a real bargain for a Exofficio product.
    I ordered my size XL and it fits perfectly. I wear this sweater over a tee shirt in a office environment and don't feel overly warm or cold. If you are looking for a casual sweater that looks nice and isn't excessively warm I would recommend this.
  • Reviewed by NSA from FA on Wednesday, March 6, 2013
    1. The hoodie is seen through when held up to light. Not nearly as heavy as one might expect from the picture. But this does not mean it is not warm. Except the side panels, the hoodie is lined with wool front and back. Would be a good midlayer even in winter. But doubt would block any wind.

    2. I got black. But the color is adulterated with an unsavory red. So it is a kind of a reddish black, very much like the result of washing black and red together and the color ran.

    3. The size definitely runs small. Make sure you size up. I usually wear XL hoodies (6'3 210lbs) with ample room. This one however wraps around body with virtually no room in between. I think even an XXL of this hoodie would not be very roomy.

    4. The length is good though. Probably the longest of I've ever had, and to me it is a good thing.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews