Filson Dry Finish Shelter Cloth Windbreaker Jacket - Waxed Cotton (For Women)

Closeouts. Soaked in a paraffin-based wax for water and wind resistance, Filson's dry finish Shelter Cloth windbreaker is pliable for comfort.

  • Stand-up collar
  • Inner storm flap
  • Durable, YKK® self-healing brass zipper
  • Gusseted flap pockets with side zip pockets
  • Rib-knit cuffs
  • Elastic drawcord hem
  • Length: 27" (based on medium)
  • Fabric: Cotton
  • Weight: 1 lb. 11 oz.
  • Care: Machine wash, hang dry
  • Relaxed Fit
  • Made in USA, fabric imported

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Reviewed by Sawtooth from Bellingham, Wa on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    I ride my bike to get around in the Pacific Northwest, and was looking for something waterproof, reasonably nice-looking and not made in a sweat shop. I don't think this is actually waterproof, but I wasn't expecting that. So far it's kept me dry in a light drizzle, and it otherwise completely fits the bill (which is not an easy one to fill. My plan is to waterproof this further with home-made beeswax/oil mix). Well made, not the most stylish ever, but I actually like how it looks on me more than the I was expecting from the picture. I'm 5'4'' 145 lbs and the medium fits fine with plenty of room for layers underneath.

    The creases (mentioned in someone else's review) are not an issue for me. Went away. I wouldn't consider myself a slob, but not a neat-freak either. This is a functional, attractive outerwear garment that I expect to wear well. I just wish it had a hood.
  • Reviewed by Horse from Berkshires on Thursday, November 07, 2013
    Filson. Plain, durable, old-fashioned, no bells or whistles. Will be handed down to the next generation. Filson goods, at full retail, are on the pricey side, so Sierra provides a great deal.
  • Reviewed by Northwest trekker from Northwest on Saturday, March 02, 2013
    Very nicely made with great detail. Looks nice on and is comfortable to wear. No lining so would have to layer if very cold outside.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LW from Northern VA on Monday, April 09, 2012
    will use for outdoor activities.
    • Best Uses: Fishing, Hiking, Wet Weather
    • Cons: Not crazy about the cuff
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Stylish, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by greydog from Spokane, WA on Thursday, February 23, 2012
    Comment on previous reviewer's experience with fold lines. She doesn't own a hair dryer?
    This fabric is proofed, which means that over time it gets both a characteristic patina and use wrinkles appear. It is readily re-proofed using Filson supplied wax. U-tube has examples from other waxed garmets.
    I have a Filson shelter cloth hunting jacket (and several tin verions) and wear it around town sometimes.
    My wife has a waxed coat that I asked her to retire after many (factory) patchings and rebuilds and 20 years of service.
    Wish Filson made this in a men's version.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Outdoor Activities, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
  • Reviewed by funky funky but chic from new york, new york on Friday, February 17, 2012
    A very cool rugged windbreaker, and IT'S MADE IN THE U.S.A.! I was looking for alternative to a Barbour, and this fits the bill. It's a very basic design. No liner, no inside pockets. Filson make's hunting clothes, so if you are looking for luxury, try Barbour, or Belstaff. Think of this as more of an alternative to a denim trucker jacket...
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Outdoor Activities
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sally Alleyseed from Denver, CO on Monday, February 06, 2012
    This is a well-made jacket, but it came folded and the wrinkles have not hung out. It is paraffin-soaked cotton and CANNOT BE IRONED! (I checked with STP and they checked with the mfr.) This is going back. Otherwise it was just what I wanted. So sad.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Goshengirl from Goshen, CT on Monday, January 30, 2012
    Not as long as it looked in photo for some reason. Lighter weight than I expected. Returned.
    • Cons: Unflattering Shape
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.