Five Ten 2012 Blackwing Climbing Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Boasting an aggressive, downturned toe that excels on steep edges, pockets and overhanging rock, Five Ten Blackwing climbing shoes are precision slippers that are easy to get on and off.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by Eug from Sierras on Tuesday, July 01, 2014
    They stick to everything. Aggressive downward toe gives the right edge for almost any chip. Doesn't expand. Been using them for about two months and they still hurt like new. Buying your street size is a very aggressive fit.
  • Reviewed by S_Muppet from North Carolina on Monday, March 03, 2014
    It's been over 15 year since my last pair of 5.10 climbing shoes. I tried these because the price was just too good, and I've been pleasantly surprised at their fit and performance. I have a wide toe box but pretty narrow everywhere else, and they fit comfortably without any pain on my pinkie toe. They are downturned, the heel fits me perfectly, and 5.10 rubber is as good as advertised. My foot size measures 8.5, and I wear a size 8.5 in 5.10's Camp 4 approach shoe, and a size 9 in the Blackwing fits perfectly. I wouldn't want to go any smaller, but I could probably do a 9.5 for even more comfort, although size 9 is my first choice.
  • Reviewed by ramzi from Oregon on Friday, November 08, 2013
    i wear 11.5 in evolve, 11 in madrock, and i got 11.5 of these and they were too small. returned them, got a pair of 12s. we'll see. can't say too much about them yet. rubber seems pretty sticky, also seems like it would wear out quick because of how sticky.
  • Reviewed by Peter in Maine from Maine on Friday, May 17, 2013
    I just bought a second pair of these shoes to keep in storage. I have tried many steep terrain shoes and these are among the best. The sizing is odd ( I went a half size over my street size and I wear my shoes tight) but once I got the correct shoe, they fit very well. There is a snug toe box that is not as wide as the Jet 7 but still ample. The heel is snug with barely any dead space anywhere. The shoe has a pretty aggressive downturn and grabs nicely on the steeps. The rubber is sticky and places the edge in perfect alignment with my inside and outside edges of my foot. they are a bit stiff initially..not clunky like the Edelrid Raven..but certainly not super soft sensitive like the 5.10 project.
    All in all, I would put this shoe high on my list of steep terrain shoes. I loved the Jet 7 (no longer made) and I really like the fit of the Evolv Predator G2 (a a bit deeper heel and a bit more aggressive) but the blackwing seems to have stickier rubber and a bit more sensitivity.
    Nice easy entry with secure velcro in well positioned spots to lock you in nicely.
  • Reviewed by Dunk from PA on Wednesday, May 08, 2013
    Aggressive, but I am forced to wear my normal shoe size. No downsizing on this one.
  • Reviewed by Sport climber from Texas on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    Have worn these shoes for 2 weeks now, and while initially they were ridiculously tight, they broke in nicely and I can wear them up to 20 minutes without taking them off.

    Quick note: these shoes are sized ridiculously small, I ordered them a half size above my shoe size and 1.5 sizes above what I had in the 5.10 spires. This was too small, so I was forced to exchange for a whole size above my street shoe size and it was still a pretty tight fit but feel great now.

    An absolute steal for the price!
  • Reviewed by alwaystimetoclimb from Oregon on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    Great edging and hooking shoe. Unlike most aggressively downturned shoes, it is comfortable enough to wear on reasonably long sport routes. Definitely size up at least a full size above your street shoe. For reference, I wear a size 9.5 steet shoe, 9 in anasazis, and a tight 10.5 in the Blackwings.
  • Reviewed by Walshie from Flagstaff on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
    The description does not lie, aggressive down turned they are (not quite as vicious as the Dragon). Sized same as street shoe and plenty snug. Great value for an advanced climber or someone looking to feel the difference an aggressive shoe can make on steep overhanging routes.
  • Reviewed by born-and-raised by joe from Utah on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
    Fit perfectly, best price I could find. The exact shoe I've been looking for.
  • Reviewed by Climbingbum from San Jose, CA on Tuesday, March 26, 2013
    What else can be said, other than another great product from 5.10. These shoes are aggressive, so they do run small. Make sure to order 1/2 size or more up from your street shoe if you expect to get them on. They seem like they will be too tight at first, but once you slip them on they immediately conform to the shape of your foot and you can really start to pull on those hard boulder problems. I would find something less aggressive if you plan on long sport or all day trad climbs.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.