Five Ten 2012 Hornet Climbing Shoes (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Five Ten Hornet climbing shoes are a high-performance shoe for the demanding climber. Built on a soft, low-volume last with a downturned toe, they feature a Stealth Mystique sticky rubber outsole for unparalleled precision and grip.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Reviewed by Terminated from Northeast on Sunday, September 22, 2013
    The Hornets are way too small for my normal 11.5 climbing shoe size. I could not even get my foot inside. It appears any maker of down turned toed climbing shoes has a different fit size. I would need to go 1.5 to 2x larger to fit properly. I bought the 5 10 Quantums from another website in 1.5x larger and they fit great. The Quantums are almost identical to the Hornets; down turned toe design. What is worse is this website hosed me another shipping charge to return instead of realizing that these shoes run very small from the manufacturer and it was not my mistake. Not accommodating at all. Real great that this website doesn't even know the products they sell. Lost me as a customer.
  • Reviewed by climber from usa on Saturday, July 27, 2013
    I don't know what planet these come from, but the 11.5 I ordered would fit perfectly if I cut off all of my toes
  • Reviewed by matty flat lander from chicago on Monday, July 22, 2013
    I found these shoes to nail it. I can stick to any little thing with them. Gives a lot of confidence in the climb. Would recommend for challenging climbs but not so much indoor practice as the rubber wore pretty quick (but I used them ALOT). Awesome shoe.
  • Reviewed by Dapper dresser from SF Bay on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
    Any shoes that has to taken off between pitches is poorly made for outdoor use. These shoes are designed to inflict maximal pain with minimal rubber protection from the elements. If you step on a pebble, you will feel it. If this is what you want go for it but if you want to climb without the hassle of taking shoes off between pitches, get something else.
  • Reviewed by mark from fargo ND on Sunday, September 23, 2012
    About sizing My street is a 10.5/11, I have long toes and my left foot is a 1/2 size larger than my Right. The 10.5 was really tight, the 11 seemed tight but doable. The heel is crazy narrow and will need to be stretched out by stuffing it with something. I used a tennis ball. Once I got the shoe to fit my heel I started climbing in it at the local gym. They are tight but are breaking in nicely. they are slowly turning into tough rubber coated socks. Great for Bouldering. I don't suggest even trying to use them as a Trad shoe, they have 0 support and are very thin, not a smearing shoe, nor a crisp edging shoe. but for overhangs and roofs they rule. The break-in is painful but worth it if you need highly sensitive climbing shoe, they are awesome.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by John of Ark from Arkansas on Wednesday, August 29, 2012
    Worst climbing shoes I've ever had in twenty years. First and last pair of 5.10's. Performance is pathetic, rubber is not sticky, wears twice as fast as Sportiva's, fit was ridiculously tight. No good for crack climbing or anything else.
    • Best Uses: Trash
    • Cons: Flimsy, Not sticky, Rubber too thin
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Yositune from Alexandria, VA on Sunday, August 5, 2012
    Others have commented on this but these are sized way small. I ordered two pairs 11 and 11.5 but the 12's were out. I wear an 11.5 street and they were unbearably too small with no chance of stretch on these all synthetic shoes. I've reorderded and will try the 12's as they are very responsive supporting shoes.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Outdoor
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight, Versatile, Very Technical
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Goat from Woodlake,Ca on Wednesday, July 25, 2012
    I had to order two sizes bigger than my regular size
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Long Climbs
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Pros: Great traction
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by spaz from Centennial, CO on Friday, July 20, 2012
    Like others have mentioned, the sizing for this shoe is woefully off. I wear size 9 Men's and need to get size 11 to fit properly. A word of advice since these shoes may be in women sizes.
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Zach from vermaine on Sunday, May 13, 2012
    these are great shoes but as i've been learned, and after asking around, five ten has been weird with their sizing recently.

    i own two other pairs of five tens, and both of them are in the 9.5 - 10 range. after ordering the hornets in a size ten, they are incredibly small. my toes are literally curled up mashed. definitely at least a size smaller than pair of gambits which are size 10s as well. weird...
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Sticky and sensitive
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.