Five Ten 2012 Newton Climbing Shoes - Lace-Ups (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Super stiff and comfortable, Five Ten's Newton climbing shoes are designed to defy the law of gravity all day long. The supportive midsole and outsole offer the edging power and support you need for long routes.

Average Rating based on 21 reviews 4.285714 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scott from Colorado on Sunday, February 8, 2015
    Fantastic shoe. True to regular shoe size. I normally wear a size smaller in climbing shoe, however this was exactly my size. I ordered a 9 and needed a 10. Sierra Tradinding Post's superior customer service took care of me right away. Great job!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scott from NY on Sunday, January 18, 2015
    Thanks to many other reviewers comments, i bought larger than i normally would have, but even then, when i received them, they were too small. So i ordered next full size up, and they fit great. The normal sizing rules do not apply to these shoes. I needed to go with a full 2 sizes up from my normal shoe size to get a fit. I know many climbers like the shoes to fit with toes curled, but that is not for me - these shoes are snug, but my toes are flat, the way i like them to be, and i can climb for hours w/o having pain from a too tight fit, yet they are tight enough for efficient climbing toeholds. Would go for 5 stars, but i have limited experience with other climbing shoes, so i am not qualified to rate them against others.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by James from Wisconsin on Wednesday, November 12, 2014
    I love these things, I've owned four or five pairs over the years, and they cannot be be beat when it comes to all-day comfort. The extra layer of leather at the laces allows for incredibly comfortable jamming, and helps the shoes hold up over time.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Allen from mn on Wednesday, July 2, 2014
    nice shoe if you like lace ups seemed good on edges
    and smearing
  • Reviewed by NLP from VT on Friday, January 31, 2014
    My son wears a 9.5 so I ordered a 12 cause they run small. Returned for a size 11
  • Reviewed by Hec from Chihuahua, Mexico on Wednesday, January 1, 2014
    Seem like great shoes, and the laces system is great, allowing for infinite adjustment. However, they do run SMALL. In running shoes, I wear 11 in most brands. I ordered these in 11.5 and they are still way too small to wear!! (I passed them on to someone else). I will order 12.5 nextt ime!
  • Reviewed by experienced climber from New Jersey on Friday, November 15, 2013
    I previously reviewed this shoe and only gave it three stars owing to its odd fit. I recently tried them again in a still larger size, and I found them extremely nice. I wear a 9.5 street shoe, a 10.5 Scarpa climbing shoe, and got these to fit well with a size 12. They are very stiff, but still comfortable, and the lacing is more appropriate for my wide feet than is velcro straps. They are VERY comfortable and both edge and smear well. I've only tried them on slab, but was very happy with them.
  • Reviewed by experienced climber from New Jersey on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    This seems like a really good shoe, but I couldn't actually use it. My street size is 9.5, and based on the posted reviews, I ordered a size 11. Couldn't get my foot in the shoe! I let my 13 year-old son try them (he wears a street 8.5), and he could get the shoe on, but thought that it was a little too snug. If you want this shoe, you should order 2.5-3 sizes up.
  • Reviewed by Corey from Ft. Hood, TX on Saturday, October 26, 2013
    Not a beginner shoe..this shoe has a place of smearing and edging on MICRO surfaces. Especially on 90 degree surfaces. Not for overhanging and slab climbs....Works very well on quartzite...I bought this shoe for one place and that is for Devil's Lake, WI quartzite. I went with my shoe size, 8 1/2 us mens, and although I realize I will have to break them in...this shoe is so stiff that I'll go with a size 9 the next time....that is if they do not discontinue the "Newton." With the size I have chosen, is not a all day shoe. Probably would have to go a full size up to 9 1/2 to wear comfortably all day for multi-pitch.
    I climb with 5.10 and 5.10 only...they have the best rubber. Why only 4 stars? They put this shoe out with ONYX rubber instead of C-4.....my first and subsequent resole will be STEALTH C-4.
  • Reviewed by Hutash from CA on Friday, October 18, 2013
    Haven't used them yet, but these are nice stiff shoes, and look like a good trad shoe for long days. Not something you want, or need, to take off between pitches. Size up at least half if not a full size.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews