Five Ten 2012 Newton Climbing Shoes - Lace-Ups (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Super stiff and comfortable, Five Ten's Newton climbing shoes are designed to defy the law of gravity all day long. The supportive midsole and outsole offer the edging power and support you need for long routes.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by run climb sleep from mn on Wednesday, July 2, 2014
    nice shoe if you like lace ups seemed good on edges
    and smearing
  • Reviewed by NLP from VT on Friday, January 31, 2014
    My son wears a 9.5 so I ordered a 12 cause they run small. Returned for a size 11
  • Reviewed by Hec from Chihuahua, Mexico on Wednesday, January 1, 2014
    Seem like great shoes, and the laces system is great, allowing for infinite adjustment. However, they do run SMALL. In running shoes, I wear 11 in most brands. I ordered these in 11.5 and they are still way too small to wear!! (I passed them on to someone else). I will order 12.5 nextt ime!
  • Reviewed by experienced climber from New Jersey on Friday, November 15, 2013
    I previously reviewed this shoe and only gave it three stars owing to its odd fit. I recently tried them again in a still larger size, and I found them extremely nice. I wear a 9.5 street shoe, a 10.5 Scarpa climbing shoe, and got these to fit well with a size 12. They are very stiff, but still comfortable, and the lacing is more appropriate for my wide feet than is velcro straps. They are VERY comfortable and both edge and smear well. I've only tried them on slab, but was very happy with them.
  • Reviewed by experienced climber from New Jersey on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    This seems like a really good shoe, but I couldn't actually use it. My street size is 9.5, and based on the posted reviews, I ordered a size 11. Couldn't get my foot in the shoe! I let my 13 year-old son try them (he wears a street 8.5), and he could get the shoe on, but thought that it was a little too snug. If you want this shoe, you should order 2.5-3 sizes up.
  • Reviewed by Corey from Ft. Hood, TX on Saturday, October 26, 2013
    Not a beginner shoe..this shoe has a place of smearing and edging on MICRO surfaces. Especially on 90 degree surfaces. Not for overhanging and slab climbs....Works very well on quartzite...I bought this shoe for one place and that is for Devil's Lake, WI quartzite. I went with my shoe size, 8 1/2 us mens, and although I realize I will have to break them in...this shoe is so stiff that I'll go with a size 9 the next time....that is if they do not discontinue the "Newton." With the size I have chosen, is not a all day shoe. Probably would have to go a full size up to 9 1/2 to wear comfortably all day for multi-pitch.
    I climb with 5.10 and 5.10 only...they have the best rubber. Why only 4 stars? They put this shoe out with ONYX rubber instead of C-4.....my first and subsequent resole will be STEALTH C-4.
  • Reviewed by Hutash from CA on Friday, October 18, 2013
    Haven't used them yet, but these are nice stiff shoes, and look like a good trad shoe for long days. Not something you want, or need, to take off between pitches. Size up at least half if not a full size.
  • Reviewed by Craig from Alabama on Thursday, October 3, 2013
    Got these a couple of weeks ago, and got the opportunity to try them out today. I have narrow feet, usual size 9.5 or 10, I first ordered size 11.5. They felt just right, but manufacturer stated that they would stretch up to 1/3 size bigger, so I returned them for size 11. Felt a little tight at first, but felt good after a few routes, and stuck well. I like the full lace-up, since my feet are narrow. Now that I have the right size, I'm pleased with this purchase.
  • Reviewed by Carlosralph from Corning, NY on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    Shoes seem to be quality materials. Haven't been able to use them yet due to sizing. I normally take a 10 in shoes. I ordered an 11 and my toes were bent in half. No problem returning them and my 12s are on the way.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunday Climber from Southern California on Wednesday, November 7, 2012
    I have used these shoes on both slabs and cracks in Idyllwild and Joshua Tree and they feel great. They are better for slabs because of the shape of the toe and the rand. When my foot was inside the crack the material on the top of the shoe was rubbing against the side of the crack and not the toe rand.
    • Best Uses: Trad climbing
    • Pros: Adjustable Fit, Comfortable
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.