Customer Reviews Of:
Five Ten 2011 Project Climbing Shoes (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Conquer difficult routes and overhanging rock with Five Ten's Project climbing shoes, featuring a downturned last and innovative Prehensile Technology that allows you to use your feet like an extra pair of hands.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews 3.833333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by Chris Glagolich from Florida on Saturday, May 4, 2013
    These are now my go to Bouldering shoes. Very thin, very sticky mystique rubber lets you feel every little hold. Maintains good down-turned shape even after lots of use. The break in, however, was very painful but worth the pain and effort. I have narrow feet and usually size down for most shoes. I wear a size 10 in street shoes. I tried sizing down to a 9 but had to return them for a size 10. After a month or so break-in period. the Projects stretched to fit like a glove. Absolutely love these shoes! I would highly recommend the Projects to anyone as long as they fit correctly.
  • Reviewed by Nic from Australia on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    Probably not the best fit for my foot shape, however the unlined leather and thinner rubber construction of these means they are stretching in to fit me better. Single velcro strap makes it easier to put these on or remove. The thinner rubber on the sole means you can really feel the footholds through the shoe, although this will be uncomfortable with cracks, jams, sharp holds etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Peter from Maine on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    This shoe is not for everyone. It is thin soled and very sensitive. I would suggest that this is for advanced climbers only. the thin sole won't last if your foot work isn't precise. The lack of support means that you need power in your feet and toes that takes time to develop. If you are a serious climber looking for extreme sensitivity and feel out of the box, this is the shoe for you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old climber from Morristown, NJ on Sunday, February 3, 2013
    I know the shoes are to be very tight... Based on other reviews these were bought 1 full size larger than my reg street size. They are still too small even after I've been walking around my house in them multible times - still cannot keep them on for more than 15 min at a time. Will keep them as spares as I cannot return them now for a larger size. Otherwise they seem to be excellent for bouldering and indoor climbing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bantry from Michigan on Monday, January 7, 2013
    I went to my local climbing center and tried on a few pairs of Five Tens to get a feel for the shoe. I normally wear a 10.5 for my regular shoes, and the best fit (including the guy at the stores recomendation) after trying them on, was to go with the 10.5 for the climbing shoe as well. These shoes were very painful, even for climbing shoes when I first put them on. I should have gone up a full size, but I am going to see if they truely do stretch out a bit as I have been told they will over the first 3-5 uses since they are suade.
  • Reviewed by Jonathan from Springfield, MO on Friday, December 21, 2012
    These are a very decent shoe if you can get them an extra discount. They aren't the most durable, and the heel fits a little wonky, but for a cheap aggressive shoe these are treating me well. I climb twice a week, and while these are not great for smearing or slab climbing, they have kept me going while my Mythos are getting resoled. I wear 10.5US street shoes, and I can squeeze into the size 10 in these. They stretched out a bit after a half a dozen climbing sessions but still fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dbmemphis from Vancouver, BC on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    2nd pair - enough said. Good shoes at excellent price. great for sport climbing and gym, but also pleasantly surprised me while crack climbing in Squamish.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Sport climbing
    • Cons: thin
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight, Sensitive
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by climb from SLC on Wednesday, August 8, 2012
    I climb probably 3-4 days a week all outside. I loved the fit of the shoe and loved that you could feel every little bump. Not bad while breaking in. Biggest problem is they are not by any means durable. Take this with a grain of salt (My footwork is not anything really to speak of). The toe blew out in a little over a month and got a hole in one the other one about the same time. Loved the shoe. really sad they didn't last a bit longer.
    • Best Uses: Outdoor
    • Cons: Flimsy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dbmemphis from Vancouver, BC on Tuesday, June 12, 2012
    Appears to be a well-built shoe, but as previous reviewers noted, the soles are quite thin. I do a lot of climbing and they definitely won't last long. For the price though - its not a bad buy.
    my regular show size is 10.5, and 10 in these is quite tight.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Reviewed by G from Moline, Illinois on Monday, April 9, 2012
    I ordered, paying attention to reviews that said the shoes fit tight. So I bought them a half size small (9 instead of 9.5). The 9s fit my heals and across the broadest part of my foot perfectly. The toes are a different issue, however. I could not really even walk because the bind was so tight. I really need the extra half size in my toes. So don't do what I did. Don't order a half size too small (unless you have short toes). Now, I ordered a 9.5 and a 10, and I'll send back the one that does not fit, probably the 10 (if the 9.5 has a 9 heal, which I hope it does). I think you will find the shoe fits tight/ultra snug when you buy true to size. Beyond that, the shoe seems like a great buy. The thin rubber is not a big problem unless you are into doing a lot of climbing.
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Outdoor
    • Cons: Tight in toes
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2