Footprints by Birkenstock Elmira Shoes - Leather (For Women)

Closeouts. One look at the Elmira shoes from Footprints by Birkenstock and you'll fall in love. Put them on and fall in love again: the rich leather, brogued detailing and thick instep strap is just a precursor to the legendary Birkenstock cork footbed.

Average Rating based on 28 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-28 of 28 reviews
  • Reviewed by Art Teacher from Florida on Sunday, December 15, 2013
    I am on my feet all day and need a quality shoe with good support. I usually wear Birkenstock but wanted something a little more dressy. I loved the high quality and support these shoes gave but the color was not right. It looked as though I were not wearing shoes because the color is so close to skin tone. I couldn't imagine wearing them often enough to warrant having them.
  • Reviewed by anita from oakland on Monday, April 22, 2013
    They look lovely but the biggest problem is the hard, too flat, toe box and presses down on my big toe.. The strap across the top is too tight, especially since I have a high instep. I was so looking forward to wearing them. If they don't feel perfect when I put them on, there's no point in buying them.
  • Reviewed by STP Shopper from Ohio on Tuesday, April 2, 2013
    After trying four pairs of shoes, I finally found a pair that fit. I wear 5.5 B and the 36's work well. I tried a pair of 37's, but they were too large. The leather is soft--inside and out and the front of the shoe is 'tough," giving support and protection. The pair I received seemed a bit used--scuffed somewhat--but I'm not going to worry. Just glad they work well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wilderness gal from central oregon on Wednesday, February 6, 2013
    Love Birkenstock comfort and thought these would be cute & comfy shoes for work. After trying them on, seemed they're too narrowly shaped for the style & detailing: they look more like granny's orthotics than cute, nice shoes. Maybe especially so in the tan color.

    As others stated, order up. Not sure why the product description instructs half sizes to order down. These run small. (Usually a 40 in Birk and ordered 41. Fit fine.)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SissyMyDear from Savannah, Ga on Thursday, January 10, 2013
    I am almost always a 9 however I have a fairly narrow foot. These shoes didn't have one uncomfortable pressure point. The arch support was a little strange at first but after two hours it molded to my foot. I typically wear stylish low heels by Biviel, Seychelles, or Fluevog and these are a bit bulkier than I am use to, but overall very happy because they feel sooooo great on my feet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mom2aj from BR, LA on Wednesday, November 7, 2012
    This is a cute mary jane. However, the leather is so soft the first pair I ordered looked damaged just from people trying them on/returning them, etc. They seem as if they will stain easily because the leather is so light in color (both the brown colors are fairly light). They are very comfortable and have good arch support but the run SMALL. I normally wear a size 6.5 shoe. In classic birkenstock shoes, I wear a 36N. I had to return the 37N in this shoe for a 38N. I went up a whole shoe size and the shoe was still too short. Not sure if there was a defect in the 37N I received but it was very tight on my foot.
    • Cons: Stains Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Good Arch Support, Great with Jeans
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maitland from Victoria, Australia on Wednesday, October 31, 2012
    I take a size 38 in Birkies and so bought a 38 in these. It was a full size too small. No more in bigger size so sent them back and waiting on a refund. Also a bit clumpier than I had imagined from the photos.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunny in Seattle from Seattle on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
    As mentioned by other reviewers, the sizing on these shoes is off. I ordered three different styles of narrow size 37 Footprints, and these were significantly smaller than the other two. I want to say thay may be two full sizes too small, but since I couldn't even put my foot in them, I'm not sure.
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by powerrail from Celina, TN on Monday, October 22, 2012
    Too short, as other reviews said. I have worn Birks for years and thought I knew their fit.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ramblin Redhead from Norfolk, VA on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    This is the first thing I have had to return to STP. The reviews said these run big, but I am a true size 10, and they didn't have the next size down. Narrrow shoes are not easy to find, especially healthy ones.

    These were huge and wide, my feet just swam in them. I doubt the next size down would have fitr, either, and definitely would have been too wide, even if the length was okay.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Travel, Work
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable, Good Arch Support, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels full size too big
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shoe Shopper from Upper Midwest on Thursday, May 17, 2012
    I had to go up a size, and they are still a little narrow, but will work with thin socks. I love Birkenstock Footprints. They are the best made and most supportive, comfortable shoes with really good arch support. I never want them to wear out. I wish these came in a R and not just N and that STP carried more R Birkenstocks generally. The style is cuter than some of the other Birkenstock styles.
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • View On Shoes: I'm Into Shoes
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Work Shoes from MN on Sunday, April 15, 2012
    These are great work shoes
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • View On Shoes: I'm Into Shoes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Short and Sweet from Tokyo on Tuesday, April 10, 2012
    These shoes were said to be on the.narrow side. I take that to be on the narrow side for a Birkie but not for the average shoe. I ordered a size down and it fits perfectly though my foot is on the wide size of normal. It's a very comfortable shoe and stylish, too. I highly recommend it.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Walking
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • View On Shoes: I'm Into Shoes
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Melba from Melbourne on Friday, April 6, 2012
    These shoes have very comfortable thick cork insoles; and an appearance of being quality shoes.The detailing on them is cute without being overdone or tacky. Some barely noticeable stitching flaws that in no way would effect the performance; or detract from the appearance of the shoes. I had to trim some knotted, lumpy thread from the inside of one shoe [near the strap], because it was chafing. I have not worn these shoes out yet because the weather has been too warm. They seem very comfortable around the house.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Every day wear, Going Out, Travel, work
    • Cons: Cosmetic stitching flaws
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cork insole, Elastic on the strap, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • View On Shoes: Shoes are for Wearing
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carolina Girl from Wilmington, NC on Tuesday, March 6, 2012
    Okay I bought these and the Beverly Mary Janes, both came in a Narrow only. I went a size up on both and it worked fine with the Beverly but these were much too large. I needed to go with my normal size and I am sure they would have fit fine. They were not a narrow shoe. I hope this helps everyone. They are really, really cute and very sad they didn't work.
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KEE from NW Chicago on Sunday, February 26, 2012
    Love these shoes, just checked to see if they were in another color, I may get a second pair to have for later. They were a bit thight, I wear a lot of birkenstocks, but these are the first "shoes" that dont look like birks. I do a lot of air travel and must look nice. These will be great! Great Value
    • Best Uses: Nice casual
    • Cons: Needs Break-in
    • Describe Yourself: Casual
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cute, Stylish
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jewell from Las Vegas, NV on Tuesday, January 3, 2012
    Since these shoes are narrow, I ordered them a size bigger and they are fine. This is a really good buy. I usually buy from the store in town and the are half of the price. Love them!!!!!!!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable, Good Arch Support, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by funkymama from New England, USA on Tuesday, December 27, 2011
    It's a somewhat funky style, and I wanted a comfortable mary jane that was different from the sea of sporty ones or girly flats with widdle bows out there. Too bad the sizing on this shoe is off; it would have fit the bill. As other reviewers have mentioned, the strap is not adjustable, and it's just too loose. Add insoles, and the front gets too tight. Back they went.
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eylagirl from GA on Saturday, November 12, 2011
    I have bought many Birkenstock shoes from Sierra Tading Post and loved them all. I have a narrow foot and Sierra Trading Post always has the narrow Birkenstocks. But the last two pair of Birkenstocks I bought had to be returned because they were NOT narrow. This is not Sierra Trading Post's fault, but a disappointment none the same. I returned the shoes and bought two different styles to replace them. I know I will be happy with the replacements - if not Sierra Trading Post will gladly accept them as returns - Great company to work with!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Work
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Good Arch Support, Great with Jeans, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jenn from Sacramento, CA on Tuesday, October 25, 2011
    I was very disappointed that they were too small when they arrived. They are so cute! I sent them back for a refund & just ordered a new pair in a larger size, since my order qualified for free shipping. The larger size nearly fit perfectly. The strap is too loose & not adjustable, just has a little elastic. Since the strap is loose, I need to get heel grips to stop my heels from slipping. They are very comfortable, have great arch support, & appear to be very well made. They look nice enough for office wear or to church, but also look great with jeans & cute, colorful socks. I almost wear Birkenstocks exclusively because they pretty much cured my painful plantar fasciitis. They work better for me than custom orthodics & night splints did.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Good Arch Support, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scout729 from NH on Thursday, September 22, 2011
    I was a little concerned about sizing. Went with the suggestion of ordering 1/2 size up and they fit perfectly. I'm on my feet all day for work and these shoes are comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Love to Shop from Montana on Monday, September 5, 2011
    My podiatrist recommended I dump my shoes -- but I could wear an orthotic in certain types of shoes or I could wear Birkenstocks. I already have several pairs of Birkie sandals and needed closed shoes. These look and feel great.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Suthunaccent from Asheville NC on Sunday, September 4, 2011
    Some 30 years ago I owned a pair of Bass Maryjanes in the same "sand" color that were almost identical to these. I adored those shoes, wore them for almost 8 years and mourned the day I had to trash them (but they looked awful and it was time). I've spent the last 20 years looking for their replacement and here they are!! The strap on these is twice as wide, but I got used to it. They were a little snug at first (they were 39N and I wear an 8.5 M) but I used a shoe-stretcher in each for about a day and now they feel fantastic. I love them so much I was afraid not to get another pair because I might not have another 20 years to find their replacement. So I ordered another pair as a backup. They feel great and look good with jeans and casual skirts. I'm so glad I found these shoes . . . at last.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable, Good Arch Support, Great with Jeans, Stable, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wizard from upstate, NY on Monday, May 16, 2011
    I love the shoe, but for folks like me with flat feet, it is much too tight on the top of the foot. Reluctantly, these were returned for a different style shoe.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, School, Travel
    • Cons: For people with high arch
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Pros: Cushions Impact, Durable, Great with Jeans, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Peppers on Tuesday, April 5, 2011
    They go well with jeans, dress slacks, and even a skirt and blouse.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable, Good Arch Support, Great with Jeans, Stable, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Having Fun from East Peoria, IL on Thursday, March 3, 2011
    This would be a perfect shoe, if only the strap could be adjusted. It is secured permanently with elastic, but stretches for the foot to slide in and out of shoe. I have a narrow foot so this shoe is not tight.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, School, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable, Good Arch Support, Great with Jeans, Stable, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bargain shopper from NM on Tuesday, January 18, 2011
    Needs velcro strap instead of the elasticized one it has.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Great with Jeans, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by BigSky from Sunbury, Ohio on Monday, January 3, 2011
    Say you are B width 8.5,sometimes 9. In Birks order 40N or 39R. STP says order down in this, probably not. Due to the footbed/rocker motion, my toes hit in 39N. Exchanged for 40N. Wear w/thick socks for cute winter look w/jeans, otherwise 40N is somewhat large for 8.5M, but worse 39N much too short. I hit paydirt by putting an insole under the Birk footbed for sockless summer with shorts. N=A/B width & R=C/D width in all Birk styles (Footprints, Birkie, etc.) I ordered a 39R in a clog from another company & utilized a Dr. Scholl type insert to size tighter according to sock or sockless. If you are a 8-8.5M I would get the 39N. Hope this helps make your choice more informed!!!!
    • Best Uses: All of Life
    • Cons: Tricky Sizing See My Tip
    • Describe Yourself: Style Driven
    • Pros: All of It
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-28 of 28 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.