Frye Nolan Low Lace Shoes - Leather (For Men)

Closeouts. The hand-antiqued leather upper of Frye's Nolan low lace shoes is accented by rawhide cording and a raised moc toe -- both features similar to ones you'd find on a classic boat shoe, but made distinctly rugged in the hands of the designers at Frye.

Average Rating based on 31 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 31 reviews
  • Reviewed by Boone from Tn on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    Top notch quality shoe. Well built and built to last. This is what Timberlands used to be like over 30 years ago. Agree with other reviewers that the shoe is a little narrow. A suitable break-in period should work for most people. Got a great deal (extra 40% off ) on these as well. Thanks STP !!
  • Reviewed by H - avid outdoorsman from NYC on Friday, January 24, 2014
    I had no trouble with fit, despite all contrary reviews.

    hard rubber sole came unglued from gum rubber midsole. on both shoes. almost immediately. shoe repair guy removed the heels, smoothed out the surfaces, reglued the heels. they began to separate almost immedately again.

    those are facts.

    I'll express my layman's opinion here: the gum rubber midsole is much more flexible than the hard rubber heel. as the boot flexes, the two very different materials want to pull away from one another. to connect them properly, they should be stitched perhaps? before returning the shoes for a refund (from another retailer) I called Frye. Frye admitted that the shoes had problems.

    I don't recommend these boots.
  • Reviewed by Sharky de Chef from Annapolis,MD on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    I have worn Frye`s for a while, and the Nolan Lace shoes would have being a good fit for me. The shoes were well constructed and stylish, but after wearing them for two day, my insteps were screaming with pain. The insoles did not break-in and they were very heavy. Thanks Sierra TP for selling a good looking product, but I`m sending them back.
  • Reviewed by Thorsten from Iowa on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    Those are shoes of awesome quality. Thick full grain leather and tons of padding. But be aware that they have a very narrow cut. I have a wider foot and wear a 9.5 EE in business shoes but normally a 9.5 D fits just fine for casual shoes. Not with these. I struggled to get my feet into the shoes at all when I first tried. Part of it is because of the thick - stiff - leather and will improve once you break them in. So, if you have normal to narrow feet and are willing to accept a break in period - this is a sweet deal.
  • Reviewed by Marie from Virginia Beach, VA on Thursday, January 9, 2014
    My husband loves these shoes. He works in a corporate job and wears them there although they are rugged style the leather is so beautiful they can pass for any occasion. He said they were tight, but he wears a 7.5 which is a small size. I have found for myself that when ordering Frye boots getting a 1/2 size larger is best. Rated a 4 because they are tight around his instep which is exactly where Frye boots are tight on my feet.
  • Reviewed by SurplusApe from Nevada City on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    Based on other reviews, I was looking forward to a shoe that was narrow enough for my extremely narrow, low volume foot. When the shoes arrived and I tried them on, I simply couldn't believe that they were so narrow they pinched the arch of my feet. I still can't believe it. Also, the shoes are crazy heavy. If my wife pulled one off my foot and threw it at my head, she'd knock me out. Too dangerous.

    Leather is really high-quality though, and the sole looks awesome. I may keep them for home defense.
  • Reviewed by Julius from Missouri on Thursday, November 21, 2013
    I am sad to report that this classic style just did not work out for me. Looks great, obviously well built, and I have no doubt these shoes would have lasted for years if I could suffer through the break-in period. They we not just stiff - but rigid, heavy, and had some internal projections/contact points that made them absolutely intolerable to wear for the day.
  • Reviewed by john from Alabama on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
    I ordered these shoes based on appearance and reviews but had to return then as 9 and1/2 medium was much larger than is the case with other shoes I have ordered and 9 was not available. The shoes appeared very well constructed and I liked the styling however they run quite large
  • Reviewed by HeSheep from Florida on Monday, May 20, 2013
    I am thoroughly delighted with the fit and quality of these shoes! A few points should be noted however.
    My measured, ideal size is '13B' and I normally have to use insoles to take up the extra space. These shoes in size '13 medium' fit perfectly just as they come, without added insoles. I you are an honest 'medium' width, these will be too narrow.
    The 'charcoal' color has no gray or black involved, thankfully. They are a pleasant dark brown.
  • Reviewed by fsvwbug@yahoo.com from fsvwbug@yahoo.com on Monday, May 20, 2013
    This is a good looking, well-made shoe that runs fairly narrow - about a full width less. I liked the look and the build, but had to return them. Too bad.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 31 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.