In business since 1863, Frye is the oldest, continuously operating shoe company in the United States. Frye boots were once the footwear of choice of soldiers fighting in the Civil War, not to mention Teddy Roosevelt and his rough-riders. The company's famous harness boots are actually displayed in the Smithsonian as a cultural icon of the 60's, when their bulky toes and chunky heels marched across campuses and into the heart of American culture. Frye boots are still very much on the scene, with classic styles that go to work, play, and all over town. Some even ... Learn more about Frye grace the toes of small Frye! ... Less
Average Rating based on 848 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 85 »
  • 1-10 of 848 reviews
  • Reviewed by Michael from Haddonfield, NJ on Monday, August 11, 2014
    The Arkansas boots are beautifully made. This is my second pair of Frye Arkansas shoes. The first was a pair of the saddle shoes. I loved the feel of them so much, I had to have another pair. Some style conscious folks may think that the added details are a little busy, including the Frye logo on the side above the heel. But I love the extra zing, especially the brown soles and stacked heals. No break in required. The definitely feel like a lifetime purchase. I also suggest going down a half size. The only negative about these boots is that I want to wear theme every day.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Merny from CA on Monday, August 11, 2014
    Love the fit and feel. Thought that the zipper on the outside of the boot was weird, but got used to it. Did not like the scuff marks on the heel and sole, but realized it is part of the design...I can live with that for the great price and otherwise awesome boot!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor Guy from High Desert on Sunday, August 10, 2014
    I mis-typed in my last review. These boots run about 1/2 size large in my opinion (not small as originally written).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor Guy from High Desert on Sunday, August 10, 2014
    Outstanding boots! High quality leather, perfect stitching, and comfortable out of the box. Worth every penny! Runs about 1/2 size small in my opinion.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Thorsten from Iowa on Thursday, August 07, 2014
    I love these shoes. The craftsmanship is superb, they are very comfortable and I like the style very much. True to the size.
  • Reviewed by mavorneen from Southern Kettle Moraine, WI on Tuesday, August 05, 2014
    These shouldn't be so comfortable! They don't have arch support, nor very much of a heel. But they ARE comfortable. Maybe they facilitate your basic barefoot walking stride. Whatever it is, I can walk all day without my feet getting tired. They have a rugged look, which suits me well. These look as if they will last a long time, nice for a shoe that you love.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark Arthur from Wisconsin on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
    ...we returned the purse. My wife was impressed, but not for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandra from Maryland on Tuesday, July 29, 2014
    My only negative, is that I wear an 8 or 81/2 for length and these might have fit a bit better in a size 9, instead of an 8 1/2.
  • Reviewed by Lindsay from Denver on Saturday, July 26, 2014
    These boots run long and are hard to get on ...so it makes sizing a little tricky. Going up a half a size seem to work. The leather and quality is superb. All said, a true Frye experience and quite the great buy on STP !!!
  • Reviewed by Mark from Virginia on Friday, July 25, 2014
    These boots are nice, and they are my first pair of Frye's. I haven't had a decent pair of boots since I bought my Dr. Martens in the late 90's, and while I still have them, the soles aren't great anymore, so I needed something I could wear often. This was my second attempt at a nice pair of boots on Sierra Trading Post, and I'm overall much happier than the pair I returned before this.

    First, the construction is top notch. It's a Goodyear welted boot, so it can be resoled- which was a requirement for me. It has a nice full grain smooth leather exterior, and a nice soft suede leather lining. They are somewhat dressy, and a little chunky- so they might be hard to pull off with a suit- although I did wear them a few times with one. They definitely get a lot of looks- which I hope is a good thing! Plus they look great in jeans, which is what I normally wear.

    Ok, what about the sizing. These run a bit large, like it seems most nicer boots do. I can wear an 12 in sneakers, and an 11D in dress shoes, so I decided to get an 11.5D. It is probably a half a size too large, but it's nothing I can't live with. A pair of heavy socks makes them snug.

    So why didn't they get 5 stars? Well I know Sierra Trading Post often deals in seconds, and I have no real evidence to support the claim these are seconds, but the leather did have a slightly larger-than-thumbnail blemish on the exterior near the top. The finish was kind of worn away, like a chemical had been spilled on it. Since no one but me would ever see it, and it's covered up by whatever pants I'm wearing- I let it slide. I was not about to return a second set of boots. Also the stitching on the bottom isn't recessed, so it begins to wear quickly. I know that the soles are glued and stitched, so it's not really a big deal, but it would have been nice if they had a small recessed channel to keep that from happening so fast. Oh and the black leather doesn't seem to hide scratches well. You'll definitely need polish for these because even slight scratches reveal a light brown leather underneath. Some black dress shoes I own, seem to have leather dyed all the way through, but not these.

    Ok, so other than that I really like these boots. They're comfortable, although some people who aren't accustomed to a leather foot bed may want a light insole. I wanted something durable and American made, and these fit the bill. I can't say I'd pay the 250-300 they normally retail for, but I am happy with the discount I got on these.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 85 »
  • 1-10 of 848 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;