• Full Speed Ahead Reviews

Full Speed Ahead bike components have a well-earned reputation as some of the best in the cycling industry. From incredibly light, carbon-molded FSA cranks and handlebars to rock-solid headsets and bike stems, Full Speed Ahead has been both a trailblazer and a trend setter in premium cycling components for nearly two decades. Whether you choose an FSA crankset, headset, brakeset, handlebars or seatpost, you can be sure you’re getting a product that has been thoroughly tested and perfected by riders who demand the absolute crea ... Learn more about Full Speed Aheadm of the crop. Go Full Speed Ahead and take your riding to the next level. ... Less
Average Rating based on 18 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
  • Reviewed by Rene from Houston on Wednesday, March 16, 2011
    Bought these as a low-cost replacement to some carbon bars I had, and they are working great. I've used them for about 3 months and they are comfortable and sturdy.
    • Best Uses: Road Bikes
    • Describe Yourself: Collegiate/Pro
    • Pros: Nice ergonomics, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by FS'd in the A from dever CO on Friday, December 10, 2010
    Non drive side threaded insert chronically separates from the carbon arm, rendering the set worthless. FSA is not great about owning up to this problem. Weight is typically under reported. Switched back to ultegra cranks.
    • Cons: Cost, Weak, Weight
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Daniel from NYC on Friday, July 16, 2010
    I installed this on a Titus Titanium road fame in place of campy record 10 speed (aluminum) cranks.

    PROS
    - Shifts as good as the Campy Crankset
    - Light weight
    - Looks great

    CONS
    - Chronic loosening of crank arm
    - If tightened enough to avoid loosening, the crank will not spin freely.

    Conclusion - I can't recommend these cranks as when they are tightened enough to avoid having the left crank arm loosen on every ride the crank will not spin freely (tons of extra friction). Also, the installation system is pretty backwards, requiring ridiculous amounts of torque and lots of Loctite.
    • Best Uses: Road Bikes
    • Cons: Tough to Install
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Pros: Lightweight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by none from san diego on Thursday, June 24, 2010
    great compact crank. I wasn't aware it came with Italian threaded bottom bracket and not the standard English threaded bottom bracket my GIANT TCR1 road bike needed
    • Best Uses: Long Rides, Road Bikes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Pros: Durable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Opti Bob from Rapid City, SD on Monday, April 26, 2010
    Looking forward to the mountains in Colorado this summer.
    • Best Uses: Long Rides, Road Bikes
    • Cons: Italian threads
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Pros: Compact gearing, Exceptional quality, Lightweight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by grademan from Sonoma, CA on Wednesday, January 20, 2010
    I'm a fan of FSA cranks...have them on all of my road bikes.........I'm a light 140 lb. rider who does a lot of climbing and I never have any issues with flex or malfunction with these products........plus, they are easily serviceable ( i.e. availability of parts ) bottom brackets, chainrings, etc...........
    • Best Uses: Road Bikes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Lightweight
  • Reviewed by Joseph from Seattle, WA. on Monday, December 01, 2008
    I have had a pair of these for 12,000 miles now and have only had to true them twice. They have been on my commuter and race bike and served both purposes well. Extremely quiet, solid, and have a good weight.
    • Best Uses: Commuting/City, Road Biking
    • Cons: Internal nipples
    • Describe Yourself: Competitive Cyclist
    • Pros: Crisp, Fast rolling, Quiet, Well Built
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Outdoor Enthusiast from Akron, OH on Monday, September 01, 2008
    I have had great luck with these cranks. They were easy to install and have been a great upgrade. Very stiff and smooth. Look very cool too!!
    • Best Uses: Road Biking, Upgrade
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Easy To Install, Lightweight
  • Reviewed by smoothy from reading pa on Sunday, July 27, 2008
    not a high end wheel but a decent replacement for a mid level bike. bad part is if you damage the set it will not take long for them to cost more to fix them than replacing them. a little heavy at 1900 grams but this is a mid level wheel.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ryan from New Mexico on Monday, June 30, 2008
    I used this crankset as part of a complete drivetrain upgrade on my old road bike. It was worth every penny.
    • Best Uses: Road Biking, Upgrade
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
    • Pros: Easy To Install
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;