Garmont 9.81 Escape Trail Running Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Designed to provide stable footing on any surface, Garmont's 9.81 Escape trail running shoes keep feet cool with a breathable 3D mesh upper. A dual-density EVA midsole offers extra cushioning and stability.

Average Rating based on 48 reviews 4.020833 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 5
  • 11-20 of 48 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lucy from Illinois on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    The shoes were a gift to my son. He is pleased with them, they are bit tight but he has been able take care of the width.
  • Reviewed by Larry from CA on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    What I truly like about these Garmonts are the fact that they were comfortable right out of the box. You might actually want to get a half-size smaller because they do break in and they might loosen up on you. Otherwise, just use a thicker pair of socks when they get a little worn out. They're not the toughest pair of shoes, but they hold up well. I used a pair for about three years and just about destroyed them. I used them for hiking, mountain biking, some mountaineering, etc.. I ended up buying two more pairs from STP and I'm thinking about stocking up on some more because I'm close to going on my third pair. These are just about my favorite shoes ever.
  • Reviewed by KyBasser from Providence Ky. on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    I havent had a chance to put many miles on this shoe but im quite impressed with it. The silver/white and black color scheme looks nice with blue jeans and should not be as prone to show dust from walking on gravel roads. The shoe material is light weight and breathes easily and shouldnt take long to dry out once it gets wet.
    I wear an 11.5 and ordered up half a size to a 12.0 and the 12.0 size was perfect.
    The boa lacing system stays secure and the lacing pressure is evenly distributed (not binding at certain points) and in the event the lacing breaks the eyes are large enough to allow for replacement with standard diameter or thicker shoe laces.
    Rocks are not overtly noticeable under the sole so this is a good shoe for walking gravel roads and off road fire lanes. The sole doesnt have the most aggressive of treads and looks prone to wear down quickly but any tread that does not wear down evenly could be shaved down flat resulting in a large evenly matched surface area. The soles feel slick in wet conditions but after a couple hours of wear the factory slick finish is worn off and the sole has good grip.
    The factory insole appear to be of higher quality than i expected and exceed expectations of what one would normally find in a trail running shoe. The insole feels a bit spongy for my liking (i am a heavy weight) and i suspect it is designed more for someone who weighs in at under 200 lbs. Im thinking there is a possibility if i were to replace it with a higher doller insole i could rate this shoe at 5 stars. I sent one other brand of shoe back for a refund and requested an additional pair of these shoes so now i have an extra pair to fall back on.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brent the builder from South Jordan, Utah on Thursday, December 27, 2012
    We couldn't find these shoes at any store around any more, so we are glad that we found you on line.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Esteban from Athens, GA on Monday, December 10, 2012
    These shoes are small. Even when shoes "run small" I usually wear a 9. These were too short and too narrow. Unfortunately I had already thrown out the box, so I had to keep the shoes. The good news - my brother got what looks like a good pair of shoes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mojoyuman from AzYuma on Wednesday, December 5, 2012
    extreemly good value
  • Reviewed by JMICH from MI on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    I've had these shoes for about a year now and they've held up pretty well. As others mentioned, I ordered a 1/2 size up from my norm and they fit great. Love the laces, but unfortunately the company does not sell incase your break, get caught on something, etc just a heads up. I do like the lace feature, and these are nice lightweight shoes with a large enough sole to adapt pretty well to mountain bike pedals. I don't run, so cannot judge trail use while running but they are good hiking shoes and grip okay.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Boggs from White bear Lk, MN on Tuesday, November 6, 2012
    Can't believe the price of these shoes! Great feel & can be used for so many things. As other reviews said they did run small, I went with a 1/2 size bigger and it works for me.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Evryday, Walking, Working Out
    • Cons: none
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Athletic, Functional, Good Traction, Lightweight, Price, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WCS from Juneau, AK on Tuesday, November 6, 2012
    Bought these for my large 10 year old who beats shoes to death quickly. Due to great value ~$50 bought 2 pair one a half size up. He likes the no tie shoe strings, though I think that does nothing for his manual dexterity. We live in SE AK where the rain & snow are hard on foot gear. He can wear these to the bus, in class and on the play ground til the snow gets too deep.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: All Weather Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jra from dubois, pa on Monday, November 5, 2012
    light weight, comfortable, great value, should buy a second pair!
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 5
  • 11-20 of 48 reviews