Customer Reviews Of:
Garmont Montello II Trail Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Stylish enough for urban adventures and rugged enough for the rocky backcountry, Garmont's Montello II trail shoes have a stylish nubuck upper and a VibramĀ® rubber outsole that's well-suited to walk on the wild side.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews 4.000000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by Nick in the Wasatch Mountains from Wasatch Mountains on Sunday, May 4, 2014
    A great looking shoe with a technical look. I actually bought these for work for a comfortable indoor on your feet all day job. These would be a terrific hiking shoe with a wide Vibram sole offering good grip over a variable terrain. For the real rocky, steep, off trail and mountaineering stuff I usually do, I'd prefer an over the ankle boot. This would be great for most on trail stuff though. This also may be OK for an approach shoe but is a bit wide and doesn't edge very well and lacks a bit in smearing ability with the lack of solid rubber in the toe area. I'll confirm this does runs smaller than other Garmont shoes and boots that already run a bit small. I'd order a full size smaller than most Asolo or Vasque, 1/2 size larger than most Garmont. Overall nice looking shoe great for everyday, moderate hikes and most everything indoors or out. Would have given 5 stars but the lower tongue on both wrinkles a bit, really a non-issue though.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor from CC on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    Garmont looks and quality. Good fit and looks good. Tough enough for outside work conditions.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Northwoods Hiker from Wisconsin on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    This is my second pair of Garmont shoes. I also own a pair of Garmont Eclipse XCR. I like that the shoes are supportive and well constructed. I agree with the other reviews that indicate that the sizes run small. The soles on this pair of Garmonts is similar to my other pair in that they are stiff and rigid. I like that, but some people might not because it is a trait you typically find more in boots than in shoes.

    I like the versatile performance and the outdoor-casual look. I wear these to the office a lot and they look just fine in our business-casual(ish) environment.

    Overall this a great pear of shoes.
  • Reviewed by Michael from North of Boston on Saturday, March 8, 2014
    I purchased a size larger than I normally wear after reading other reviews on these shoes and they fit well. They are a little narrow but are very comfortable. I have only had one chance to use them on a trail and they were fine. They are a good looking shoe and I have worn them out for dinner etc.
  • Reviewed by Looking for a fit from Noth Dakota on Wednesday, March 5, 2014
    I took the advice of the many of the other reviews I read hear and ordered these shoe an extra 1/2 size larger. While the left shoe is snug in the toe, the right shoe isn't even close. I don't dare try the full size larger because I afraid the heel will then slip. I'd suggest purchasing this shoe only if you can try them on at the store prior to purchase.
  • Reviewed by psmcd from Wasatch on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    At $76 this shoe seems a great deal. Ordered 1/2 size larger (11 vs usual 10.5) per recommendation and fit is good. This shoe conforms to the shape of my foot (high instep) nicely and fits securely without having to over-tighten laces. There's a bit more cushion than I'm accustomed to (Lowa Tempest Lows, I've worn through at least 5 pairs) and the sole flares a bit that might make them less secure on ledges. The leather seems a bit thinner and this shoe appears less beefy where the upper meets the sole than the Lowas but the uppers should last as long as the tread. The Vibram soles have a more open tread pattern than those on the Lowas but feel like the same tacky, long wearing compound. Haven't had them on the steep yet but the forward lacing on the toes should help with snugging for descents. By the time I've given them a thorough test they'll probably be sold out so get them while you can.
  • Reviewed by STPcustomer from Indiana on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
    I normally wear a US size 9 men's shoe, normal width. Per the notes for this shoe, I ordered a half size larger, i.e. 9 1/2. Even the upsized shoes were barely long enough. But, the width around the toes is way too narrow. I could tell instantly that these shoes would not fit a normal width foot in the toe area. My advice is only buy these if you have narrow feet.
  • Reviewed by UPS guy from Georgia on Monday, February 10, 2014
    The shoe looks great, but they are a full size too small on me. I had to send them back because I wasn't sure a bigger size would have helped the narrow front. I have had the same issues with my other Garmont's. I do not have a wide foot either.
  • Reviewed by CC Bethlehem from Bethlehem, PA on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    This is my fourth pair of Garmont shoes. I find this brand to be of very good quality, comfort and style. They run a little small, order a half size larger.
  • Reviewed by Grand Canyon Bushwhacker from Flagstaff, AZ on Wednesday, January 1, 2014
    I've bought several pairs of pricey shoes in hopes they would be well constructed enough to hold up to a lot of rough miles in Grand Canyon. Aside from high topped manly leather boots, most of them have been destroyed after a handful of hikes. This is the only pair of hiking shoes (not boots) I've bought that have been able to withstand rough hiking. They're built to last. They do seem to run about a half size small.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2