Garmont Shaman Freeride AT Ski Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. The Garmont Shaman Freeride AT ski boot is designed for advanced and expert level skiers who thrive on the steepest, most challenging terrain.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jg from CO on Wednesday, August 22, 2012
    First off ... these are not really and AT boot. They were not designed to be. Look at the radium or similar if you want something for lots of touring. No walk mode, no tech fittings, and stiff alpine boot construction. They are an all mountain boot with a burlier sole and garmont comfort. They are big and stiff and made to rip inbounds with some hiking and slackcountry stuff. They are way more comfortable than most alpine boots though. Haven't skied them yet, but I plan to use them with some Fatypus and duke bindings.
    • Best Uses: Moguls, Powder
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Pros: Buckles Easily, Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Highly Adjustable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by A man who skis from Ogden, utah on Wednesday, July 25, 2012
    I'm a Wasatch pro ski patroller and I swear by these boots! They are the highest performing "AT" boots I've ever owned. They are pretty heavy and there are few touring specific features on these but if you're going to ski the resort steeps and drive big skis like megawatts or S7s, these are warm and comfy from 1st chair to sweep. They are the best of both worlds if youre not going on epic tours but wanna go full tilt in the slack-country etc... True 130 flex index. They gave me a discount to write this-
    • Best Uses: Icy Conditions, Moguls, Powder, Racing
    • Cons: Fairly heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Pros: Bulletproof, Burley, Comfortable, Full tilt, Highly Adjustable, Quality Construction, Ultra stiff
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backcountry boy from Sandy, Utah on Thursday, April 14, 2011
    The boots are pretty nice, but they aren't really AT boots. They weigh 12 lbs and have no walk mode.
    • Best Uses: Icy Conditions, Moguls, Park
    • Cons: No walk mode, Too heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Pros: Buckles Easily, Comfortable
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by SR from Denver, CO on Tuesday, March 22, 2011
    The shoe size is way off. I ordered the 10 which is a 337mm / 29 mondo.
    Therefore, keep this in mind when ordering.
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Sizing: Feels full size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bullet from Durango,Co on Friday, March 04, 2011
    Ok, so I only have one day in these boots, but; I sought out the steepest headwalls at D.M.R., skied in the trees, and skied some bumps. The boots feel snug out of the box; tight around the ankles. This wasn't a problem while skiing. They did what I bought them for which is quicker response and for muscling big skis. B.T.W. I'm using these with the alpine soles
    • Best Uses: Icy Conditions, Powder
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Highly Adjustable, Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bilbo from Reno, Nevada on Monday, December 06, 2010
    I have been trying to adjust my new Shamans to fit my foot so have not skied them yet. I like what i see and feel but will probably need a 1/2 size smaller for the optimal fit and maybe a little widening of the shell at the ball of the foot
    • Cons: Difficult Entry & Exit
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Buckles Easily, Comfortable, Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Reviewed by Flash from PA on Wednesday, March 03, 2010
    This product does the job it was meant to do. It doesn't have adjustable lean angles like other boots but it listed as a "Performance Alpine" ski boot and not a "Freeride" or "Light Backcountry" ski boot.

    Boot comes with two soles and one of them is a slightly softer rubber that provides traction on hardwood, tile, and other floors rather than the hard plastic sole commonly found on ski boots.

    The boot feels about 1/2 size too small overall and a bit narrow in the ankle/heel area. I bought these in US 10-1/2 (MP 28.5) but the boots were labeled from the Mfg as MP 29.0. These were about 1/2 to 1 size too small so I ended up returning them and purchasing the Garmont Mega-Ride in US 11-1/2 (MP 29.5) and were labeled from the Mfg as MP 29.5.
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Good Traction, Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Hans2vt from Williston, VT on Thursday, January 21, 2010
    I wear a US 9 mens and I got a UK 7.5
    I think STP sizing listed is a little off

    I love the stiff, high cuff boot. after trying to go with other AT boots at the resort, I was happy to get a beefy boot like this to haul through crud and all sorts of conditions. match them with some big boards and you'll be happy.

    It's not very warm

    It's also kinda tight width at the ball of my foot, I had to have the shell stretched to fit my foot, and I sorta have a narrow foot.
    • Best Uses: All Mountain, Freeriding, Powder, Speed
    • Cons: Not very warm
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Beefy, Comfortable, Quality Construction, Stiff
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Reviewed by Cowman from Yakama, WA on Sunday, November 08, 2009
    Says right on the side of the shell it has a flex index of 130. This is soft race
    for comparison World Cup flex is 150+, intermedate flex 80 to 90, most expert flex 110 to 120. Has a 98mm forefoot width, which is on the narrow side. Should be sized down at least 1/2 to one full size for optimum performance.
    This is a good boot for strong and/or heavy, athletic skiers.
    Has a unique interchangeable sole system, also the calf/forward lean is ajustable via the spoiler and and screw on hardware.
    • Best Uses: All Mountain, Racing
    • Describe Yourself: Collegiate/Pro
    • Pros: Adjustability, Look Cool, Quality Construction, Very powerfull
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by East Coaster from Annapolis, MD on Monday, October 26, 2009
    My first pair of Garmonts and they ended up being to tight right at the calf. Foot bed felt fine, but with the upper calf pinching they had to go. Ended up back with Salomon and their latest XC-10's.
    • Best Uses: All Mountain, Downhill
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.